Industrial Deals Prime Book Box Our favorite denim: shop women's jeans nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry modern furniture and decor Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo All-new Show Mode Charging Dock Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now STL18_GNO



on April 14, 2018
Need to check compatibility other than that no issues
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 2, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My only experience with VR is NYTimes VR, which is compatible with the Google cardboard viewer. I found the experience lacking, since the viewer was uncomfortable, and the video quality was low. As a Vines reviewer, I ordered the Zeiss VR ONE (I doubt there will be a VR TWO!) and agreed to pay the tax value of the item (so it wasn’t free). This is a refurbished unit and it looked quite good. I think the straps were new, and there were no scratches or blemishes on the unit. There were no instructions included, but a small card that directed you to a website, to download the PDF manual. The manual is basic and tells you how not to install the phone into the viewer. Alignment is critical. There is an indent on the viewer which helps with horizontal alignment. You’re on your own for the vertical alignment and tilt. If you don’t get this right, you’ll be experiencing a headache from the results. The manual indicates there are two apps to download. I could only find one in the Apple App Store. So I downloaded VR One Cinema app. This app will situate you in a virtual movie theater that presumably will let you view VR movies that you have downloaded to your device....by using iTunes on your computer to transfer the files to your phone (ugh! Already I have my doubts). Just by using your head you can point and select different menu items in the theater, which is a neat concept. However, when I finally found the area where some movies were located, they would not load and display, no matter how many times I tried. Frustrated, I decided to try the device using VR movies from the NYTimes VR app. Here I had more luck. Yes, I could view the short movies, turn my head off 360 degrees (Linda Blair eat your heart out), to see what was in front and behind me, and realize that this was not an enjoyable experience. With VR content issues set aside, I found the Zeiss VR One to be a deluxe Google cardboard, but with padding and better lenses. The unit did a poor job of holding my wife’s iPhone 6; it would slip out of alignment easily. It would not hold my iPhone SE at all. They claim you can wear your glasses, but I found it uncomfortable since it was a tight fit and I had to adjust my glasses to see the movie, as well as keep the iPhone carefully aligned...not entertainment in the least for me.
If you are a diehard VR fan, then your experience with this viewer may differ from mine. For me, I’d rather watch a good feature on my HD TV with surround sound, than fuss and fidget with this device that claims a lot, but delivers little.
7 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 7, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Not ready for prime time product! First of all, comes with no instructions. Looking on the web and shaking the box resulted in a small business card sized card stuffed under the flap with a QR Code and a link to the URL for the manual. The link was a long hard to type URL. The manual, once downloaded is virtually worthless. It give instructions on how NOT to install the phone and that's about it. It also suggests downloading Google Cardboard.

Another minus. You must remove any case you have on the phone.

I downloaded Google Cardboard. The first problem was that it refused to recognize the QR code but allowed for manual setup. However manual setup required using a button that does not exist on this headset. I tried some the apps. They were either boring or they froze. I wanted to try some other apps but they aren't available for IOS 11.

Here is the only plus I see. This thing has potential. Even without optimization what visuals I could see were really good with the iPhone X. I am nearsighted and I could easily see without my glasses. I could imagine watching a movie on it if the kinks are ever worked out. After messing with it a couple of hours I gave up.

EDIT: Subsequently I learned that you really need a button to interact with this headset. This is crazy because it doesn't come with one and even says to use the Google Cardboard App which requires one. There is something called a Magnet controller that will supply a button, but they don't sell it on Amazon anymore and I'm not even sure it is available anywhere. Unless and until there is a button, this product is worthless.
2 people found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 16, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I’m not sure what I was expecting, but VR is not an experience I will be trying again soon.

First let me say that this unit is great. It is a nice size, came looking new, the adjustable bands worked well and it seems to fit a number of different sized heads. The phone space was a little tight, but my phone is a thicker size than some. Also, I had to remove my phone case to get it in there, so I won’t be using it very often if at all.

The problem is the VR software and games that are out there for apps. They are hard to use, make you dizzy, and aren’t very user friendly. Also, if you need to switch the game out or go to settings, you have to take the phone completely out of the unit to make changes.

As far as trying out VR, this headset would be fine. So while the unit itself is fine… VR has a long way to go before it’s as we imagine, a truly 3D experience.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 22, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is my second VR headset, and I like it a lot better than my other one, for a few reasons. Other one is ETVR 3D VR Headset With Remote Controller-More Comfortable Virtual Reality Headset VR Glasses For Movies and Games, Fit For 4.7"-6.2" iPhone 7s/7/6/ 6s plus, Samsung Series and Other Smartphone Device

First, my other one has a depth of field view and a focus, and I am constantly adjusting. This has neither, and the picture is better. Not sure how it works, but the picture has always been clear and crisp, first try.

Second, this is way more comfortable. My ETVR headset hurts my nose and puts pressure on my sinuses, even after I loosened the straps. This one is very comfortable.

Third, this one allows less light bleed around the edges, improving the experience.

Wish I had gotten this one the first time.
One person found this helpful
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon May 28, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
If you've seen videos of these awesome Virtual Reality experiences, where participants are playing games and running around in virtual environments, you might have begun to understand the hype of VR. Zeiss is attempting to provide an affordable option for the "everyperson" to own a VR headset. Unfortunately, because the hype is so high, Zeiss is unable to deliver anything but a subpar VR experience.

Before even getting into the functionality, setup is incredibly frustrating. There is no manual that physically comes with the product; instead there is a link to a website that houses the "manual." Manual is a bit of a generous term, as it doesn't do much in helping you setup the product. In fact, it was hard to find any information about this product online. The Zeiss site itself is sparse and there aren't many how-to videos including this particular headset. All of this combined led to setup being entirely too frustrating.

Once I finally began to understand how to set up the device, how to take my phone out of the case and put it into the headset, how to download Cardboard for VR use, and how I should be able to use the headset...I realized that it didn't function properly. Cardboard, and many other VR apps, require a magnetized accessory that selects menu options when placed next to the headset. This headset, or at least the refurbished one, did not come with a magnet. I was able to improvise with a household refrigerator magnet, but it didn't work very well.

While the headset most definitely works with my phone (Motorola Droid Turbo 2), there isn't much that the Zeiss headset (minus the magnet) can actually support. Very few apps are usable with only the material provided in the box. I tried to sync up my phone/headset to my PC using the Trinus VR app so that I could play Steam games with the headset, but achieving positive results is beyond my tech knowledge and capabilities.

The headset itself is fairly comfortable. It fits well over my head, whether I'm wearing glasses or not. If worn for a long time, it is heavy enough that it gives me a headache, but that it to be expected with anything heavy that is put on one's head. The portion around the face is cushioned and comfortable.

While I appreciate Zeiss's attempt to get a VR headset on the market that is affordable and accessible, I have to also be honest in my assessment of their failure. Its confusing setup and lack of usability prevent it from being accessible to the very target market they are attempting to reach. After hours of trying to figure out how it works and how to use it for a variety of VR experiences, this headset doesn't do much these days apart from serve as a paperweight...except for once a month when I play VR Pac-Man.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 23, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I'd always wanted a VR headset and was very excited to give this a try. First I must say check the compatibility of your phone before you order this. Everyone in my family has different types and sizes of phones so I assumed one of ours would fit. The headset was refurbished with a new strap included. There was no manual or instructions only a slip of paper directing you to a website for a downloadable manual. After reading through the manual we tried first my phone (too large) and then my daughter's (too thin) and finally my husband's (it fit just barely). Even if the phone fits you have to work and work to get it aligned properly vertically and horizontally. The phone is installed by placing it in a little tray that slides out of the headset. The tray itself is flimsy and comes with little sticky pads that you install to help position your phone correctly. There were about 8 of the pads overall. We never were able to get the phone aligned exactly right and that threw off the whole viewing experience. It was so frustrating. I have seen other VR headsets and so I know it doesn't have to be this difficult. The end result that we could come up with just wasn't worth all the hassle. I was disappointed and would not recommend this product for anyone. If you want a VR headset don't go for the cheap stuff like this. Spend a little more and get something you will actually enjoy.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon April 10, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
These are great goggles for VR applications. Your smartphone inserts into a cradle that then slides into the side of the goggles where it's held securely. The fit was great and extremely comfortable. A heavy phone will weigh on the goggles so they might slide a bit if you make rapid head movements, but they are fine for normal use. The inside is oversized and did well while I was wearing my glasses, although it was more comfortable without them.

They had some grime on them out of the box. The included straps were brand new though. The packaging wasn't as nice as I'd expect something new to come in. I don't think these are big issues for a cheaper price on this type of product. They cleaned up easily and who cares about the box? But just fyi in case it matters to you.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon March 13, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is an interesting experience. It gives a pretty nice VR experience, but the lack of ANY paper instructions makes it frustrating. A basic one page "how to set this up" would have been helpful, versus having to read a longer pdf on my phone.

My Samsung S7 fit pretty well in the phone tray, but my daughter's IPod barely fit. Yes, it's small and not technically a phone, but there have to be phones that size out there. So if you have a really small phone, be aware that it may not fit.

I did notice the front of mine was cracked a little. It doesn't impact the VR experience, but I'm not sure how that made it passed the people in charge of refurbishing it.

Overall, it's not a bad experience, but just not great.
|0Comment|Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 9, 2018
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I’ve only tried one other VR headset besides this one and I have to say this one is so much better. I like the fact that this headset actually comes with a slot/cradle that you slide your smartphone into on the side instead of placing the smartphone in the front. Doing it this way prevents the phone from sliding around and it lines up better! It’s not the best quality but it’s definitely worth the cheap price. Overall I thought it worked really well with your standard VR apps. It’s also quite comfortable to wear. I only gave it four stars to due to the awful packaging and lack of instructions for first time users. I’m not a first time user but for someone new to VR, they would be clueless as to what to do.
|0Comment|Report abuse