Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 474 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 617 reviews
on September 20, 2015
DO NOT PURCHASE THIS EDITION. Every page is FULL of grammatical errors, it's impossible to read.There is no publisher name ANYWHERE in this edition other than it was printed in Kentucky. This is very likely an illegal edition printed without permission from the author. Not to mention it is not book size, it's printed on huge paper so it's extremely inconvenient as well.
review image
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2016
I was wondering how would have been to read this book in the original language. It has been tough but indeed worth it to read.

Marquez crate a chain of events that make the reader willing to read a little more so that you don't feel the pages flow under your fingers but it makes you feel the story like we were watching a movie printed on pages.

Even without knowing all of the immense numbers of adjectives (Spanish is not my first language) which enrich every single pages, Marquez style of writing makes you understand anyway the profound essence of his sentences.

The author dedicate profound description even to the characters that don't play a main role, making them part of the whole picture, without whom it would not look so great.

Pages are pregnant of symbolisms and hidden meanings. Colors, characters, animals, objects are there for a reason, not just as embellishment.

This is a remarkable master piece, as few in the modern literature. Make your self a favor and read it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2016
If there were more stars, I would give this book more. Garcia Marquez's writing is just exquisite -- just study the opening paragraphs of this book.
He captures the atmosphere of this Caribbean part of Colombia masterfully using his magic realism style. It did help that I have a wonderful Spanish teacher who explained the connections and allusions to me. A visit to the region only intensified my love for this novel. I have a hard time though deciding whether I like Cien Años better or Love in the Times of Cholera. they are my two favorite books and I have read both several times in Spanish and English. It's even better in Spanish.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
Un libro sumamente entretenido, fácil de leer y de involucrarse en la historia, no es fácil seguir a tantos personajes con nombres similares, pero quizá eso sea parte del encanto de la narrativa que nos obliga a prestar más atención, un final inesperado que envuelve a tantas historias paralelas en una verdadera representación del realismo mágico.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2017
it was a gift for Mom. in her opinion the book is difficult to understand but she reads it every now and then.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2017
The book I received was not the version I wanted. I don't think they should show a picture of a book cover is that is not the one they will send. I was better off buying one within the States. Book was small...font is hard to read
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
Complex story; fun to read with a partner. Cathedra (this edition) is always nice because it has notes in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2016
The shipping took longer than I expected, but the quality of the book was great!
Make sure to order ASAP if you need the book for school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
¡Qué más decir de esta obra literaria! Nada.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
Great read and way to increase my Spanish vocabulary.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse