Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite Trade it in. Fund the next. Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno
I have speaker wire already in my walls. Is it okay to use these wires or do I have to use what comes with it.
asked by Kevin K. on December 31, 2012
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 10 answers
A
I install for a living... there is nothing wrong with either way, wire that comes with is rated CMR which is fine for in wall use. Though at 100W 16/2 is the best option.
Dano answered on January 3, 2013
Comment | 1 of 1 found this helpful. Do you?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
I use my existing in wall wire setup. Wires provided are not graded for in wall use, FYI.
Lopez answered on December 31, 2012
Comment | Do you find this helpful?  Yes No | Report abuse

A
You can use the wires in the walls. I did not use the wires that came with the speakers. I purchased mine and installed when finishing my basement.
Mr. Fescue answered on December 31, 2012

A
My wiring is not in the walls, but we did have existing wire to the speakers we were replacing and we did use that.
Amazon Customer answered on December 31, 2012

A
Yea its compleatly ohk to use the speaker wire you already have. But I would pay attention to the gage wire the onkyo system can handle. Because if you have to thick of speaker wire it won't fit. Plus this is a 7.1 surround sound system if you don't have the 7 speaker wires in you walls your not getting full listing experience.
jimmy farkas answered on December 31, 2012

A