BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Wonderstruck $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on May 17, 2016
This is one of the best satyrical works I've ever read on the subject! Belly laughs guaranteed! It also offers a very healthy look at the North American evangelical reality. Whether you are "churched", "de-churched", "unchurched", or "never-ever-going-to-church", you should enjoy this read. Especially if you have encountered the species that has tried to convert you! A perfect gift for your pastor, rabbi or priest!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 17, 2016
This book should be required reading for all believers sitting on the fence over the issues of Evangelical religion and its meaning. All brought to you in a painfully hilarious version of Evangelical life. I was an Evangelical for 45 years and this book is a retrospective journey of literally every aspect of Evangelical life. This book will make you both laugh and cry, it's a must read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
this is one of the most hilarious books i've read. i am an evangelical myself and this guy has to be to be able to write like he does. it is not a book that condems but one that takes our little quirks and pokes fun at them. it is all so true. it is very easy to read and truly entertaining. i recomend it to anyone wether christian or not who has a sense of humor. get ready to laff out loud.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 10, 2006
Yup, stunned and a little confused, that's what we are these days, although Joel Kilpatrick, one of my favorite satirists, did not have the benefit of either of those newsbites when putting together his Guide. Joel is a Christian most famous for his Lark News web page (google it) which also is a not-too-searing satire of the evangelical life. I first discovered Mr. Kilpatrick, in fact, when Christianity Today announced he was getting flack for publishing an article therein in which Bob the Tomato (of VeggieTales fame) claimed he was bigger than God (evangelicals apparently don't have memories going back 38 years, and although they do listen to Beatles music...I have hard evidence of this....they think of them as "soft rock oldies" fellows who never were controversial. And they don't listen to the words. Imagine if they knew the words to "Imagine!")

But enough about the talented author. A Field Guide to Evangelicals will be helpful to you if you know someone who has just converted and is trying to get you to convert, if you have just joined a church and they seem to use language you are not used to, such as "laying on of hands", "the rapture", "I could tell God was telling me not to go to Michigan because I was accepted at Michigan State", etc. It will be helpful if you are in a situation where you must encounter evangelicals regularly (for example, if you are a waitress who notices that on Sunday, hordes of people come into your restaurant well dressed, eat lots of food, keep you running for hours, and don't leave a tip, but instead leave a little booklet titled, "Do You Know Where You're Going If You Die Tonight?") and want to understand them better....or at least want to keep from going to federal prison by gunning them all down next Sunday. And it will be the funniest thing you've read in a long while if you are an evangelical who doesn't take him or herself too seriously.

Some of the contents: Who and who's not going to heaven (after all, we evangelicals know for sure. Hint: the ACLU's fate doesn't look good); Evangelical Sex (it's racier than you might think....in fact, evangelicals are probably having more fun than you're having!); the real skinny on the rapture.

Why not five stars? Four signifies there is room to grow: now that "Lark" has done well for several years and this book is out, perhaps Joel can tackle one subject and come out with a satirical treatise or novel on a sacred Christian cow (forgive the mixed metaphor) in the tradition of Erasmus. Or as Paul would say, Joel, "Do not think of yourself more highly than you ought, but rather think of yourself with sober judgment, in accordance with the measure of faith God has given you."

(Romans 12:3)
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 18, 2007
This book was one of the funniest reads that I've had in a long time. It really made me outright laugh aloud. Considering the fact that I carted it to several public places as I read it, this was not always a good thing.

I've been a fan of the Lark News webazine for quite some time, and I've seen the book advertised, so it was only natural that I bought this book. Underneath it all, though, I could not shake the way that it made me feel about some of the people of my faith. I know there are individuals out there who are so excited about being "born again" because of whatever past they've had to deal with, but that doesn't excuse the way that tracts are handed out as tips at restaurants, or stuffed into lockers at schools as though that absolves one from having to actually witness to the "unwashed heathen masses".

At its heart, this book is a way for all of us to remember that no one has the right answer, no matter how much we're convinced that we do, and that God is not something that you can stick into a box that conforms to our ideals of what He should be.

It's also extremely funny. Especially the part about Thomas Kincaid, Painter Of _________ you fill in the blank.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2014
This is pretty funny because it's so accurate! My daughter and son in law go to one of these type of churches, so I did get a bit of a giggle. It just stays the right side of poking fun without being cruel (most of the time).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
The book came quickly and in great condition...

The book is a bit crass and irreverent in ways but that's part of what makes it so funny and refreshing. It makes fun of those things we cling to instead of clinging only to Christ. The working out of faith looks as varied as there are people in the world, with the cross alone being the central point. The book shows how we often make it about so many other things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2014
Its always good to read something that has some semi serious content but presented in a humorous fashion. Anyone who has been an evangelical, been to an evangelical service or is related to /is friends with, an evangelical will recognise his caricatures immediately. All evangelicals with a sense of humour should read this to get a better grip on why people react to them the way they do. Laughing at yourself might be the first step in seeing things differently. In 11 easy to chapters Kilpatrick slices and dices the evangelical world with some wonderfully insightful- if moderately cynical- observations. Joel 'hits the nail on the head' in all sorts of ways. Although I share a surname with the author, as far as I know we're not related.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
As a person raised in the evangelical community this was hilarious! The material is 5 stars worthy but the book could use some editing and spell checking. Fun read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2014
Hilarious. But don't read it if you're an evangelical with thin skin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here