Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 552 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,534 reviews
on February 23, 2016
This, in my opinion, is one of the world's best books. I can't imagine anyone not liking it. I have to buy a new copy, every now and then. This one was for my daughter. My parents used to keep a big stack of them handy, to give away to friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
I first read this book in a college English class. Then, as a teacher, I chose this for a class I was teaching. I would recommend reading this book every couple of years as, depending on where you are in life, you will get something new out of it. This is my favorite book by Marquez.

Garcia Marquez masterfully tells this tale, set in Latin America, about the birth and death of a family as revealed to the world by the finest of Latin American writers in the genre of magical realism. It is an essential book to anyone who wants to look at Latin American literature. Each time I read this book, I have found it to be funnier and sadder than the last.

I am a serious reader, a lover of life, and a happy person except when I am not, and I usually have something good to say about every book I read if nothing other than I note a graceful turn of phrase or a creative use of some word but to say a book is one of my favorites and that I actually can recall the book title and author (I have read far more than one book a week since I was about 10 years old) is not to be taken lightly. This book is right up there in possibly my top 5 all-time favorites. Magnificent might be the best way to describe this book. Perhaps in my list of books to recommend, besides Irving who is my all-time favorite, would be Cuelho and Marquez as do-not-misses.

The story itself can be a bit confusing but you cannot help but be sucked into the story about the town of Macondo and the lives of the Buendias, each with their own very unique life: some adventurous, some like hermits. The viewpoint is seen through thr eyes of the people as they see themselves growing toward modernization with the discoveries of Melquiades and Jose Arcadio Buendia, and the Banana Company (and its later massacre which haunts the town). The lives of the residents are a metaphor, in fact, for the reaches of our imagination and it requires us, the reader, to think perceptively about life.

Read it if you have not already. I promise you will not be bored.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
The book was in great condition, and good as new.

As far as the book goes, One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my favorite books of all time. I've revered it for it's writing style, the plot, and the way in which Marquez encapsulates and engulfs the reader into his theme of magical realism. Reading requires a certain level of patience, and such is demonstrated with Marquez. The book culminates so beautifully that I can't help but be dumbfounded. It's a book that you can read and think about for the rest of your life. It highlights the themes of solitude that we so comfortably forget.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
This book made me realize so many things about what it is to be a writer - this author expanded my Universe of the constructs of what a novel is, he is breathtaking in his intellect and approach to the development of a powerful theme and levels of message; one of my top ten books ever read. m
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
I bought this book not really knowing what I was getting into. I was ambushed by tremendous storytelling and characters and a world that I inhabited for a month, and will gladly inhabit again. This book truly moved me, and it surprised me after reading it how polarizing the reviews are for this book. The translation is beautiful. I also originally wanted to get a digital copy for my kindle, but glad I got a paperback instead as it reminded me what a great experience reading a physical book is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2016
Is this book somewhat challenging? Certainly. Is there a book (or any work of art) that changes your life or perspective that doesn't somehow challenge you? Not in my experience. The menial task of trying to keep track of the characters in this sweeping, magical novel is a small favor the author asks of us, and in exchange you receive an invitation to his imaginary world of Macondo. The very idea (suggested by other reviews) that this book is somehow "too much work" I find lazy, but it's certainly not a quick and easy read. Take that for what it's worth and approach it with the right expectations.

I started this book before a monthlong trip to Thailand, and found it much easier to delve into it fully once I was free from distractions and could read for longer periods of time. Hopefully my blissful state at the time isn't clouding my judgment!

The plot to me was entirely secondary to the staggeringly beautiful prose. Yet at the end this story that seemed at times to be about nothing was, in fact, about everything. Marquez is one of those remarkable few that you can feel was just born with an innate genius for storytelling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
A classic wonderful not to be missed one of THE most important books this past 100 years. In particular Latin America. As someone who has lived in Mexico for over 35 years, understanding the sureal life and beauty and diversity of life, thought and soul-ness of the Latin American mind, and way of imaging life, this book is VITAL. do NOT miss it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
The story is actually 3 stories in one as I saw it. It is the story of a man's family, the story of the evolution of society from nothing to social and family groups, and finally the development of religion from fairy tales and magic forward into today's modern world. Someone else may not see it as such, but I see it as earning its Pulitzer with those 3 basic parts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2017
A fantastic family saga.
There's so much already said about this novel, I'll just address one issue: a lot of people I know have abandoned this book for a single reason, which is that they got confused by the repetition of names. Firstly, that's one of the few spots of pure realism this novel offers (how names in a family—beyond the surname—are passed down). While I can't say it's "easy," since that's subjective, what I will say is this: it's worth whatever confusions you might have. In fact, the names being repeated is even commented on later on in the book. The story and imagination make whatever amount of José's and Aureliano's there are.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2012
This book is broken down into pseudo-chapters which follows a family through several generations. It's fiction, but it's a bit more than that. I remember reading somewhere that there is no difference between poetry or prose, fiction or nonfiction, that all these are just tools for writers to explain a truth. This book explains the truth in humans and everything from our vices to our virtues.

The story also falls into a certain realm of fantasy because it does involve some supernatural elements such as ghosts and alchemy. It shows great men who lost their humanity, poor men who sold their souls for greed, the corruption of governments, the madness within ourselves, and the fallacy of our belief that people who are different than us are beneath us. The book follows an omniscient narrator as he tells the story of various family members of the Buendia family. Spanning several generations, these characters fill every quirk and vice that dogs humanity. My favorite character is Remedios the Beauty, who out of either extreme ignorance or extreme clarity is thought of as an eccentric, dumb girl. Her character poses the question, "Is she really dumb or is she just smarter than us all?"

The best books, though, are impossible to summarize and break down into succinct little paragraphs for those that haven't read it to truly understand. I plead that you read a few chapters into this book just to truly understand. More likely than not, if you prefer stuff by Stephen King or Dan Brown, you may not like this book. The book does not explain things point blank for you. It confuses you with over 30 characters, half of which have the same name. It melds storylines together from father, to son, to brother. It doesn't hold your hand and create suspense to draw your attention and it surely does not answer every question you have like a nurturing parent. It requires pensive thought while reading and an intuitive grasp of things deeper than what the author writes to truly understand. When you finish the book, there will be a myriad of questions left unanswered and you may or may not feel a certain disdain for the author for creating such questions within you. Answer them yourselves, the answer is in humanity.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse