Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $59.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 552 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,534 reviews
on February 23, 2016
This, in my opinion, is one of the world's best books. I can't imagine anyone not liking it. I have to buy a new copy, every now and then. This one was for my daughter. My parents used to keep a big stack of them handy, to give away to friends.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2012
I first read this book in a college English class. Then, as a teacher, I chose this for a class I was teaching. I would recommend reading this book every couple of years as, depending on where you are in life, you will get something new out of it. This is my favorite book by Marquez.

Garcia Marquez masterfully tells this tale, set in Latin America, about the birth and death of a family as revealed to the world by the finest of Latin American writers in the genre of magical realism. It is an essential book to anyone who wants to look at Latin American literature. Each time I read this book, I have found it to be funnier and sadder than the last.

I am a serious reader, a lover of life, and a happy person except when I am not, and I usually have something good to say about every book I read if nothing other than I note a graceful turn of phrase or a creative use of some word but to say a book is one of my favorites and that I actually can recall the book title and author (I have read far more than one book a week since I was about 10 years old) is not to be taken lightly. This book is right up there in possibly my top 5 all-time favorites. Magnificent might be the best way to describe this book. Perhaps in my list of books to recommend, besides Irving who is my all-time favorite, would be Cuelho and Marquez as do-not-misses.

The story itself can be a bit confusing but you cannot help but be sucked into the story about the town of Macondo and the lives of the Buendias, each with their own very unique life: some adventurous, some like hermits. The viewpoint is seen through thr eyes of the people as they see themselves growing toward modernization with the discoveries of Melquiades and Jose Arcadio Buendia, and the Banana Company (and its later massacre which haunts the town). The lives of the residents are a metaphor, in fact, for the reaches of our imagination and it requires us, the reader, to think perceptively about life.

Read it if you have not already. I promise you will not be bored.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 4, 2015
The book was in great condition, and good as new.

As far as the book goes, One Hundred Years of Solitude is one of my favorite books of all time. I've revered it for it's writing style, the plot, and the way in which Marquez encapsulates and engulfs the reader into his theme of magical realism. Reading requires a certain level of patience, and such is demonstrated with Marquez. The book culminates so beautifully that I can't help but be dumbfounded. It's a book that you can read and think about for the rest of your life. It highlights the themes of solitude that we so comfortably forget.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2016
This book made me realize so many things about what it is to be a writer - this author expanded my Universe of the constructs of what a novel is, he is breathtaking in his intellect and approach to the development of a powerful theme and levels of message; one of my top ten books ever read. m
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2015
I bought this book not really knowing what I was getting into. I was ambushed by tremendous storytelling and characters and a world that I inhabited for a month, and will gladly inhabit again. This book truly moved me, and it surprised me after reading it how polarizing the reviews are for this book. The translation is beautiful. I also originally wanted to get a digital copy for my kindle, but glad I got a paperback instead as it reminded me what a great experience reading a physical book is.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2016
Is this book somewhat challenging? Certainly. Is there a book (or any work of art) that changes your life or perspective that doesn't somehow challenge you? Not in my experience. The menial task of trying to keep track of the characters in this sweeping, magical novel is a small favor the author asks of us, and in exchange you receive an invitation to his imaginary world of Macondo. The very idea (suggested by other reviews) that this book is somehow "too much work" I find lazy, but it's certainly not a quick and easy read. Take that for what it's worth and approach it with the right expectations.

I started this book before a monthlong trip to Thailand, and found it much easier to delve into it fully once I was free from distractions and could read for longer periods of time. Hopefully my blissful state at the time isn't clouding my judgment!

The plot to me was entirely secondary to the staggeringly beautiful prose. Yet at the end this story that seemed at times to be about nothing was, in fact, about everything. Marquez is one of those remarkable few that you can feel was just born with an innate genius for storytelling.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2016
This book was received in a reasonable amount of time and in good condition.
It was purchased for a class.
I did enjoy the beginning, but the story lost my attention so I quit reading about 3/4 of the way through.
I still have it and may try to read it again, but I just did not enjoy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2014
Second time I've tried reading this and couldn't finish, or didn't want to. A little confusing, but mostly boring. I just kept feeling like anything goes and so it started seeming futile to keep track of events and characters. Perhaps I missed a deeper meaning, but it was not an interesting or fun read. Not recommended. I won't be trying a third time. Why two stars? Not sure. Probably out of respect for a much-loved author. Also, it wasn't without its charms here and there.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2014
A classic wonderful not to be missed one of THE most important books this past 100 years. In particular Latin America. As someone who has lived in Mexico for over 35 years, understanding the sureal life and beauty and diversity of life, thought and soul-ness of the Latin American mind, and way of imaging life, this book is VITAL. do NOT miss it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
The story is actually 3 stories in one as I saw it. It is the story of a man's family, the story of the evolution of society from nothing to social and family groups, and finally the development of religion from fairy tales and magic forward into today's modern world. Someone else may not see it as such, but I see it as earning its Pulitzer with those 3 basic parts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse