Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now

Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$19.61+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon April 7, 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Summary:
--------
This is collection of life stories and observations by Regina Brett -- cancer survivor, columnist, single mother (not ex-single mother). She provides 50 good pieces of advice backed by actual life events to help make the point for the reader. Current trends in US society could benefit from the lessons in this book. Regina takes a spiritual view of life and self to help the reader have a more centered life.

The spiritual elements come from Christianity and eastern religions -- "zen meets do the right thing to help someone else". The book is strongly geared toward women.

Format:
-------
The format is 50 chapters each about 4 to 5 pages long. The chapters are self-contained mini-fables/stories based on real life events.

Writing:
--------
The writing is eloquent yet very approachable. She has a nice conversational tone; as if you were talking to a close friend.

Content:
--------
You will find at least 75% of the chapters helpful to you at any given time. Each time you are having doubts about something in life; you should take a look at the chapter titles to see what you are missing in life. I really liked "Don't audit life. Show up and make the msot of now" and "Breathe. It calms the mind". Everyone has different challenges on any given day; try to realize this and do the best you can by enjoying life and sharing it with loved ones.

The content is not super deep or innovative but it is accurate. A friendly reminder to not take everything so seriously and just enjoy life is a good thing...especially in these trying times.
33 comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2013
I use this as part of my devotions each day. It's not as good as I thought it was going to be but does give some food for thought. It is totally Catholic based and I didn't realize that when I bought it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This book presents 50 life lessons that the author brings forth through experiences, revelations, and emotions. The writing is open, honest, and heartfelt. As I read through the book, I resonated with several of the stories, was touched by many, and did not (at this time) identify with some of the stories. My approach was reading one or maybe two lessons and setting the book down. My suggestion... read and absorb the experiences, take away what you need, and leave the rest.

The lessons are simple, very easy and digestible reading. I've seen some reviews scoff at the simplicity and complain about the lack of cookbook-like steps on how the readers should fix their life. This author does not presume to know how to fix someone else's life. She relates in a brutally open and honest fashion her experiences, her feelings, and what she took from them. We, you, all of us are so different, and so much the same... we hurt, we react, we need... so much. There isn't a book to fix that (well, for some the bible fills that space). This book, this experience is a sharing of life and, if you walk with this author through hers, perhaps you can take some of her insights and apply them into your life. It is that simple... and that beautiful.

Take away what you need, leave the rest.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
Very inspiring. The best story was the first "Life is Good." It reminds us that we "get to" not "have to." Like I "get to" go to work. I "get to" cut the grass. How many people would love to be able to do these things and can't. Makes you more appreciative and stop taking so much for granted.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a little gem of a book. It is a quick read - the chapters are very short, but it is well worth your time.

The author Ms. Brett presents a good case for her positions, although it is not necessary for you to agree with them to enjoy the book.

The author put a lot of her heart and personal stories that make her experiences really hit home.

This is one of those books that you definitely want to purchase so you can re-read sections.

It is an uplifting book that has expressions of gratitude for all that life has to offer, along with encouragement to help face whatever comes along.

Here are some sections that give a great example of what to expect:

"A friend of mine signs her e-mails with a Leonard Cohen chorus discounting perfect offerings. She embraces her imperfect offerings of art and music, confident that any cracks in them let the light sneak in."

"I once heard someone say that prayer is more than words. It's a stance you take, a position you claim. You throw your body against the door to keep the demons from advancing and stay put until they go away."

"I've had a great life," he said through the oxygen mask over and over. "No one has had a better life than me." What a great claim to make on your deathbed. To wrap your arms around the life you lived and give thanks for it alone. No regrets. No what-ifs. No should haves."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2016
Leaves one wondering if the author has ever had a real personal relationship with God.
Very carnal viewpoint.

If you are looking for inspiration to go deeper into God, save your money. We have thrown our copy away, don't want to be spreading this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon May 5, 2010
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
Author, newspaper columnist, radio personality Regina Brett has lived an interesting life; one of eleven children, "lost soul who drank too much at 16," unwed mother at 21, single parent for 18 years, college graduate at 30, bride at 40, diagnosed with breast cancer at 41. She's lived several lifetimes in fifty years. As a columnist for the Cleveland, Ohio, newspaper, when she turned 45, she wrote a column on the 45 lessons life taught her. As she turned 50, she added five more. The result is this book, God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours.

Contents: Introduction; The Fifty Lessons; Author's Note; Acknowledgements; About the Author

Written in a very conversational tone, one that makes you think of the manner in which two very good friends converse, Regina Brett shares the lessons that life has taught her. Some are tender, others funny, some are "common sense," some are due to her faith, and others are due to being a cancer survivor. There are lessons in this book that can be applied to nearly everyone in a lot of situations. Credit issues? Lesson 5. Career issues? Lesson 20. Afraid of public speaking? Lesson 22. Fiftieth birthday staring you in the face? Lesson 36. Having trouble getting motivated? Lesson 46.

Many of the lessons are affirmations of Brett's faith. It seems appropriate, looking back on her life. However, as I am not a reader of her columns, it wasn't what I was expecting. Those chapters were a little heavy handed for my taste. Nonetheless, I can see how some could find peace, solace, and acceptance through some of her methods.

God Never Blinks: 50 Lessons for Life's Little Detours is not a book that I would normally read, I have Amazon Vine to thank for allowing me to experience something outside of my normal reading material. While there were lessons to which I could relate, for the most part I was uncomfortable with Brett's approach to her faith. Understandable, knowing the life she has lived, but not something I enjoyed reading. That said, this would be an excellent book as a Mother's Day gift, for a new graduate, for someone that needs a new lease on life or a better outlook. Brett has taken the time to share her lessons and those individuals could enjoy them and learn from her.

Disclosure:
Obtained from: Amazon Vine Review Program
Payment: Free
11 comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2014
Very encouraging, little book. Helpful & meaningful. Whether you're a "believer" or not, for me, it's reassurance that He loves us. He's bigger than we can imagine, & His plans for us are that of a truly loving Father.! Sure, He allows us to make our own mistakes, because we have free will...that's why, so often we blame Him for suffering we brought on ourselves. How comforting for me to know, I have Him to run to...Give it a go. See what you think.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2015
Great advice based on Regina's experiences. She tells how she was able to stay positive and of the people who assisted her in remaining positive in the face of ominous problems. I return to many of her stories for my own encouragement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2013
A delightful book with short stories about staying positive in life, no matter what curve balls come your way. I found this book so terrific I bought it for my friends for gifts and each and every one of them has also raved about it. A great stocking stuffer too! One of my favorite books ever!! That says a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse