Your Garage Beauty LyingGame STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning Landline Landline Landline  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 15 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 32 reviews
on July 20, 2010
Having listened to "This Week in Google" (a great podcast btw) I can really hear Gina's voice as I read through this book. There may be some tips that I won't employ, but it gets the wheels turning. Be warned: Gina is a programmer. You don't really need to know how to code to make this stuff work, but there are some pretty technical tricks. If you constantly tell yourself, "I just want this damn thing to work", this may not be the book for you. If you are of the mind set that taking the time to figure out how to make a system work well will pay dividends in the future, then start reading.

I've adopted much of the spirit of these tips into my work flow, and people are a little amazed at how effortlessly I keep my inbox empty, seem to reply to everyone with careful consideration, generate all of my reports and maintain a calm/stress-free demeanor the whole time. Granted, all of this didn't come from this particular book, but there are some great ideas in here.

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2007
This is a great pragmatic book for those that are looking to improve their productivity using technology. The format of the book is particularly well suited for those of us "on the go" and find it challenging to read a book at one sitting. Most of the 88 "hacks" in the book do not rely on knowledge from other hacks, but, if they do, the other hacks are clearly indicated in the text. Because of this, you can easily jump right into the middle of the book and learn something beneficial. The other great thing about this book is that the companion website [..] makes it a living, breathing experience so, if you are looking for more, the author's website keeps you regularly up to date.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2008
I bought this book, because Amazon recommended it automatically with this great book: The 4-Hour Workweek: Escape 9-5, Live Anywhere, and Join the New Rich

and I made a mistake. And this is NOT because the book is bad or poorly written or has no information inside. And this is why giving the stars here is hard thing. How to rate book if YOU can not use a single trick, because you just do not like them or do not need them?
Book is about (TECH!) tips, but I was buying the book, since3 I thought it will be more thinking and time management related.

Gina teaches you how to block entertainment website before 3 o'clock, before you had not done the job - no this or that website, Firefox will not allow you open it and so on so on. Every tip I read I answered - cool yes. Interesting - yes. Will I use it? No.

And so all the way in the book. What I want to say - if it is possible - TRY look inside the book before you buy - some people may find it useful, but if you are regular reader and search for time management books - i am afraid you will expect different book. This is most hard review I ever wrote here. I strongly suggest - get a sneak preview of some tips - you will LIKELY have a reactions like - interesting & cool.... by seems I will not use it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2008
I purchased this book honestly thinking it'd be just a rehash of material already on the web and common sense. And "lifehack number one was", but most of the remaining ones were very useful, ingenious, and best of all new to me. The bedsheets in the pillow case suggestion alone was worth the price of admission in my opinion.

I'm a tech-savvy, fairly squared-away, David Allen reading, Merlin Mann watching guy, but still found a lot of valuable information in this book that I put into practice immediately. The author goes out of her way to offer as many platform agnostic (doesn't matter if you use Windows, Linux, Mac OS X, Firefox, IE, etc.) solutions out there. I suggest reading while seated at your computer because you'll want to try out the tip right on the spot.

Whether you're an organizational nightmare or firing on all 8-cylinders 24/7, you'll find some good material here. It belongs up there on your book shelf with Getting Things Done: The Art of Stress-Free Productivity.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2008
This book is great for tech learners of just about all levels. I consider myself technically inclined, however, there were still many things in this book that I had either never thought about, or just didn't know exactly how to do.

Lifehacker is a great collection of hacks that will make your life easier and more interesting. I recommend this book to anyone who possesses this desire.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2016
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2014
Older info... not as useful as I expected... from 2008, which in these techonological times means "behind the times" (hacks for xp and vista windows os systems)

:-/
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2007
Well worth buying. Excellent tips, internet freebies and great directions on how to implement the ideas. You can do an overview in a few hours by skipping the detailed directions. I learned a lot of great tips to make my computer more productive and easier to use. As useful as the "Dummies" series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I could see where this book would be an excellent read for a "hyper-techie". Although I consider myself well above par on computer technology, this book had no appeal to me because I'm not - at all - for making changes to the registry (although I know how) or for tampering "under the hood" of any other part of the operating system, never ever really a wise move in the end (when the computer house comes crumbling down). "Working under the hood" is what this book is about, NOT maximizing (or turbo charging) one's managerial or operational efficiency, which is what I thought the book was about. Make sure it's a fit before you buy it. I returned it.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2007
Almost all the tips in this book had relevance to my daily productivity as a Software Engineer. If you have any confidence in your computer skills and you want to be a more efficient person, buy this book!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here