Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 401 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 432 reviews
TOP 500 REVIEWERon February 7, 2016
I purchased this at full price for my mom for Christmas. She actually requested this exact one. She loves watching the news and is always wondering where certain countries are in relation to each other. Now she can see for herself!

It is definitely a large map, perfect for a classroom. My mom hung hers in our game room. She tried to hand it with thumbtacks at first but because it had been rolled for so long, they kept pulling and popping out. I think she finally decided on nails to get it to stay.

She loves the bright distinguishing colors and even though her eyesight is bad, with her glasses, she can still make out most of it and the tinier portions she just uses her handy dandy magnifying glass.

This is a great gift for teachers, history buffs and current event nuts alike. I know my mom just loves it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
This item was shipped in a box that was originally designed for a refrigerator. Due to the fact it was shipped this way and not in a poster tube, the map was folded in half when I received it. It looks awful when it is displayed and if I did npt need it for an event this week it would be returned.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2014
This is a large, beautiful up to date wall map that is laminated on both sides. I had a big blank space on my wall and I love maps, especially when something happens in the world and I want to see where that place is. So, this map is attractive, well made and accurate (it has South Sudan, the newest country). It came packaged so there was no transportation damage whatsoever. I can't find any fault with it.
33 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2013
I also ordered a Michelin laminated wall world map . The Michelin map had so many details ie. many cities within countries,mountain ranges shown in contrasting colors, just so much better a presentation,than this Rand Mcnally version.The Michelin version had thicker lamination making it more durable, country flags at the top and bottom. I believe it was also a few $ cheaper,The Michelin version is larger and more pleasant to view. A good 3X lighted magnifyer or so, really makes the details POP!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
Difficult to read. Some country's cities names printed larger than the country name. Countries not true to size: Map printed from an equator vantage point -- northern and southern countries are pancaked. If you are interested in Greenland, for instance, you want to know what it really looks like, not the distorted view from the equator. Tossed it and bought a ne map from a different company
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 21, 2012
This is a very nice world map. It seems to always be out of stock, but if you order it you will usually see that it ships a week later. The only complaint is that the paper is very thin and it tends to crease as you are hanging the map.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2016
Print quality is mediocre, lamination is flimsy, and it's much smaller than I imagined. I guess it's my fault for not reading the description carefully.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2015
Good size wall map with lots of details. I laminated over the lamination because the lamination was more like a gloss than a lamination and I intend to use wet erase markers on it. Still thought a larger map would me nice to see the small countries better, but was limited by my space for it. If I had it to do over again I wouldn't have bothered paying extra for the laminated version of this map. I would have gotten the regular map and laminated it at Kinkos,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
This map is bright/colorful/clear. I see some reviews here about quality issues. Mine actually came with a crease going through the center from the east edge of Greenland along the west edge of Africa and through the lower Atlantic Ocean. The map works great for it's needs-- put it on the wall and it catches the eye when passing by and it looks great. 5 stars for the product in my book due to bright colors and clarity/visibility of each country.
I caught my kids (9 and 7) discussing countries close to the equator, the best route from Florida to Alaska, and how small the United States seems when compared to Europe and Asia's land mass. Priceless to have this around the house-- don't dwell on the thickness of the laminate.
I'm not reducing the rating due to shipping and condition as this review is to rate the product.
I called/advised Amazon of the crease-- they offered to replace but it was sold out, so they credited me the price and allowed me to keep it. I've been buying from Amazon since 1998 when I was in the service in Germany-- they haven't let me down yet.
If you want to see this before you buy it, they sell it (for full price) at Staples and probably Office Depot as well.
----
We also purchased the map of the U.S. from Rand Mcnally and put that above the computer desk. It is a keeper as well.

Enjoy... and lets keep these kids learning without realizing they are! ;-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
I ordered this world map as well as a USA map. Both were received in a tube, rolled, non-crimped or creased. I read some of the other reviews about poor shipping, but I received it in a week and they were in pristine condition. I would recommend this to all my friends.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here