Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,442 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,862 reviews
on October 28, 2016
Very easy reading and informative. Feels like the book ends a little too soon, but that's a plus on the author for keeping me interested. I read it in two evenings, it is not too deep and it is easy to pick up where you left off. There are some real zingers in the book, like the definition of politics, which should be a poster on the wall and have more coverage. A sequel would be nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2017
Good book to highlight how people work within a group (or rather, may NOT work together within a group.) It shows how styles of interaction can benefit or detract. The "story" makes it pretty easy to read. But don't expect it to apply to everything where teams are concerned, or to apply at every stage in life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2007
As I read The Five Dysfunctions of a Team, I saw every dysfunctional church board of which I have ever been a part. Then I realized how easy it was to slip into Dysfunctional-Team mode.

The narrative format of the first "half" of the book makes it a quick read. The second "half" consists of the details and a more linear presentation of the dysfunctions and how to deal with them. Lencioni's use of fable helps open your eyes to the pitfalls that happen on most teams. I found myself thinking that isn't so bad, only to see how detrimental it actually was. The "fable" makes the problems easily identifiable, and I realized how many of the dysfunctions I was guilty of causing.

I believe this book teaches us the importance of meetings. We often reject meetings or look to get out of them. But, often simple changes in the team and working environment change the productivity of the meeting.

The most beneficial concept for me was the need for trust among the team members. This cannot be built or developed by falling from a chair into team member's arms. Trust must be built over time. It means that we assume the best of other people, and that we believe they too have the best interest of the project in mind.

I was also inspired by the need to put aside opinions and objection once a decision has been reached. During the discussion is when the objections should be brought up. After a decision has been reached, the team needs to get on board and push the idea as though it were their own.

The Five Dysfunctions of a Team is worth whatever you pay for it.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2017
Written in an engaging story-telling style, this latest work from Lencioni portrays hurdles teams commonly face that hold them back from being cohesive and effective, as well as action plans for overcoming them. Any member of a team can benefit from having their eyes opened to the dynamics that can tear teams apart and the ideas that may help them pull together to success. A helpful read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2016
Our dynamic, young Pastor recommended all leaders in our church read this book and I'm glad I did! It would work as well for any team: Business, sales, sports, you name it! I enjoyed the story-telling aspect used by the author in the beginning of the book which made the reading more enjoyable - more like reading a novel - less like reading a research book. The business sense is very sound. Excellent! I'm sending a copy to my son in the music business in NYC.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 23, 2015
Fable ... at least the sub-title is accurate. 180 pages of fable. 20 pages of author perspective. A quick read, nothing new. Assumes organizations have a wider field to operate in regarding personnel (yes, even in 'management') than might occur. One's person's solution to dysfunction is a another person's passive-aggressive attempt to control people.

I should add this book was 'suggested' reading as part of a new 'career profession' program where I work (within the Dept of Defense). I make this point because much of the personnel-related latitude exhibited in the book doesn't exist in any way within our personnel or leadership structure. The system makes holding people accountable almost impossible and is more likely to punish those who try more than those who don't. And yes, that is both sad and embarrassing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
Never judge a book by its cover. I purchased this book and it sat around for s little bit before I really picked it up to read it! Once i did I couldn't put it down! Pointed out so many great leadership skills and how to handle situations! The team building has helped me build a stronger more connected team! If you are having team troubles this is your book for change!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
I loved this book. I have a strong team, but found a few things that I need to do to help them grow even stronger.

The book was written in "story style" where a new leader was hired to assess a quite dysfunctional team and make the necessary changes to correct the issues. The style made it an easy read after experiencing so many dry "text book style" approaches.

I plan to check Lencioni's other books, as I think I could learn more from him
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
This book used storytelling to bring home specific concepts being discussed. The characters will be immediately recognizable to anyone who's worked in a corporate environment.

The best part of the book is the model at the end, which gives a roadmap and concrete suggestions on how to fix each dysfunction.

Some of the information is obvious if people were to think about team dynamics, but when you are in the throes of such conflict, it's easy to get sucked into the drama and forget the tools. The "you're not alone" examples and concrete advice can help bring about real change.

Despite the negative-sounding main title, this book is actually a very positive look at team dynamics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2012
I have an aversion to business fables. The ones I've read give me the irrates. They seem to trivialise business. Who Moved My Cheese?: An Amazing Way to Deal with Change in Your Work and in Your Life ,Our Iceberg Is Melting: Changing and Succeeding Under Any Conditions (Kotter, Our Iceberg is Melting) ,Fish! and Squirrel Inc.: A Fable of Leadership through Storytelling all left me a little cold. So it was with some trepidation that I picked up The Five Dysfunctions of a Team: A Fable by Patrick Lencioni.

Five Dysfunctions popped up on my radar a couple of years ago and ever since then a number of people suggested I should read it. It was published back in 2002 and there seems to be quite an industry that's grown around it with addional handbooks and resources available. For me, this wasn't a good sign.

Then a client lent me a copy so I started on a plane trip home from Sydney and finsihed the book in three short sittings. It's a nicely crafted story: short chapters, cliff hangers, good dialogue and believable and messy business situations.

Most of Five Dysfunctions is a business story. About a third of the book, at the end, describes the five dysfunctions model. The story is about Kathryn who joins DecionTech as their new CEO. The executive team is a bit of a mess and they don't welcome her with open arms. Kathryn starts a process of conversations and straight talking at a series offsites and team meetings and engages the Executive in understanding a simple model showing what needs to happen to turn their group into a team.

Like all good models it's nice and simple and can be drawn on a whiteboard.

Each part of the model is interlocked. It's pointless working on one part without addressing the others.

One of the real advantages of learning about the model as a story is that you hear from the characters ask and answer questions. You are a fly on the wall of an executive team and you learn through their experiences. This experiential learning is then reinforced with the didactic chapter at the end of the book.

Here's how Kathryn describes the five dysfunctions.

Absence of Trust: "Great teams do not hold back with one another." "They are unafraid to air their dirty laundry. They admit their mistakes, their weaknesses, and their concerns without fear of reprisal."

Fear of conflict:"If we don't trust each other, then we aren't going to engage in open, constructive, idealogical conflict. And we'll just continue to preserve a sense of artifical harmony."

Lack of commitment: "I'm talking about commitment to a plan or a decision, and getting everyone to buy into it. That's why conflict is so important." "It's as simple as this. When people don't unload their opinions and feel like theyre been listen to, they wont really get on board."

Avoidance of accountability: "Once we achieve clarity and buy-in, it is then that we have to hold each other accountable for what we have signed up to do, for high standards of performance and behaviour. And as simple as that sounds, most executives hate to do it, especially when it comes to a peer's behaviour, because they want to avoid interpersonal discomfort."

The last dysfunction, Inattention to Results, is all about putting the team before individual egos. This issue is handled over a number of chapters at the end of the fable but I wont go into detail and spoil the surprise.

What I really liked about this book was just how well written the story was so are immersed in the world of an executive team and see the tensions and compromises, their good itent and judgements, and how conflict arises and can play out. There're plenty of models of good and poor behaviour, and our hero, Kathryn, shows us one way progress can be made.

What struck me most was just how much time is needed for an effective team to spend together planning, discussing, arguing. The perenial push back to spending this time, however, is that tired business phrase, "we just need to get back to the real work." Well, here's the breaking news for any executive who wants their company to excel: it's your first priority to build an effective executive team so it can draw on all its talents to achieve results.

I loved this book and have been recommending it all over the place. Get a copy, read it, then pass it on to another executive who you think really needs to get their team back on track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse