Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy TheOnlyLivingBoy  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Paperwhite uncharted Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 549 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 885 reviews
on June 4, 2007
I definitely enjoyed reading this book and its many different insights. I'm a notoriously slow reader and the pages still flew by.....but I actually think I went too fast. If you do decide to read this book, I would highly recommend taking a deep breath after 30 or so pages just to sit back and soak in the story and its meaning. There really are a lot of concepts thrown to you at once and it only makes sense to take the time to understand their impact. There's no doubt I will read this again (I'm going through the sequel right now) and will make it a point to slow down a bit.

There were some parts of the book that really hit home for me and others that seems a little "bit much", but, overall, I thought the presentation was done well. Near the end of the book I was a little bit diappointed at how fast the author decribes his life events after college; I guess I was just expecting more meaningful discussion about what he went through. (EDIT: Some of the "holes" are filled in by his other books)

I'm looking forward to seeing the movie adaptation just to compare how Millman's Socate's character translates to the big screen. The most important question I ask myself after I read this book is: "Do I feel that it made an impact (big or small) in my life?" I would definitely say "yes" just for mere idea that past and future are simply subtle barriers that can impede our progress today.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2015
I absolutely love this book!
Before I finished it, I was already on Amazon purchasing the next one that way I had it just in time.
I am 100% certain that the Author Dan Millman has first hand experiences with some of the more mystical esoteric subjects!

It is an extremely inspiring novel, and I would liken Dan to the author Paulo Coelho as this book and The Alchemist while different subjects; are still written and inspiring in the same manner.
Dan is now on my list of Favorites, and forever a fan.
So, if you like The Alchemist; purchase this book
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
Slightly interesting, but not profound. If you have any experience with spirituality, this book provides really no new insights. I find the tale was interesting to read, but not interesting enough. The lessons were simple good lessons about life that you might find in Yoga Journal article - but the book doesn't provide anything really groundbreaking and in some aspects I disagree with some of the things Dan puts forward.

I was recommended this book but was pretty disappointed.

I would definitely not recommend this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 13, 2016
As the title states this book was the most influential book I've ever read. The journey takes you on a so spiritual that you can't Help but to go along. I've never felt a character so alive in a book I felt like Socrates was my teacher and I knew him and he is change my life through the book. I cannot recommend this book enough to anyone is thinking about reading it. I ordered it on Kindle and had to order the book just to know I have a hard copy always.

The book is about life wisdom that is beyond New Age and transcends any self-help type subject matter out there. This book will wake you up in life if you're already awake it will remind you and refresh you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 27, 2007
I first saw a trailer for Peaceful Warrior when I attended a film festival in Washington DC back in April of 2006, to see Hard Candy. I didn't quite grasp it, and forgotten it - then somewhere along the line, Peaceful Warrior has resurfaced (the June 30 release) I haven't seen it in theatres, but my interested had once again peaked. I then watched the trailer countless times on youtube. I finally saw the film, and was amazed. It had struck me, and I've decided to purchase the book right after my viewing.

Last Wednesday, it had arrived, and I started reading - I have only a few pages to go before I am finished..and I can safely say, this is one of the best books I have read in my life. I do not judge it on entertainment, or on escapism or writing, or anything else (although yes! this book IS entertaining) i judge this book on the LIFE LESSON it teaches, and I can't recommend it enough. This book will be passed on to my friends and to everyone I know, who is willing to OPEN THEIR EYES and to REALIZE what has been missing in their lives. Constant thoughts were running through my mind when reading the book - and as I read it, I highlit every lesson Socrates taught. Some of them hit home so much, some of them made me realize and open my eyes a little bit (Yes, I can't say I have yet opened my eyes, I'm only a fool in kindergarten by Socrates standards!). Since reading the book, I've been practicing the lessons taught, and I've been trying to be more self-aware. I have been searching for something like this, searching for something I did not know myself - I was searching for THIS LESSON that THIS BOOK TEACHES, In movies, and in film but could never find it - and THIS is the one literary work that SATISFIES my search. We can choose to start living NOW, PRESENTLY. I will continue my journey through reading more of Millman's works, and my journey in general.
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
I had never seen the movie and the book was recommended by one of my yoga instructors. I really enjoyed it. It makes you think about priorities and taking a step back and breathing. It's very introspective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2015
I read this book over twenty years ago and at least 2 times just a few years later. I decided to pick it up again to see if it was as valuable and "good" as my then 20-something brain told me it was. It is. It is probably not for everyone, I can see that. You have to be open-minded, and understand there is more message here than novel. I believe it is a worthwhile read for everyone, even if you don't appreciate it as much as some, it will at least broaden your perspective a bit. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and probably got more out of it this time around than I did when younger. I'm glad I once again have this on my bookshelf. (I have not seen the movie, and have no intentions of doing so; I've never liked book to movie translations, so I do not comment on that aspect here).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2011
Having heard it mentioned on more than one occasion that "Way of the Peaceful Warrior" was a life-changing story, I felt compelled to pick up a copy. I ordered one used from Amazon.com, and quickly started reading as soon as the item arrived. It didn't take long before I found myself completely enthralled in the story. The author does a good job telling a story that we can all relate to. Whether I believe that this is non-fiction is a different review in itself. However, I absolutely loved this book. As a forewarning, this story includes several Buddhist principles, and the author does not try to finesse them at all. However, the lessons provided within these pages are definitely worth while to people looking for some inspiration. I highly recommend this book for anyone looking for something different.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2016
I first read this book as a 9th grader in Southern California and it profoundly touched me. I had no idea there was someone out there writing books like this, thinking like I wished I could. I went on to find similar books or books in this genre but this book... oh, like my first love. Remains an unforgettable favorite. I enjoy gifting this book. It's a gem worth reading. Buy 2- so you can give a copy to someone who needs inspiration. You'll want to keep one for yourself to reread every 10 years or so.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2016
Standard Spoiler Alert

Did not like. Did not teach me much. And what little it did illuminate was sprinkled between page after page after page of painful dialogue, old cliches, and cringey jokes.

The one thing I hated most of all was Socrates. He embodied everything I hate about how mentors are written into books nowadays. He was literally perfect: he had no flaws, could do anything, and knew everything (even how to coach gymnastics better than a gymnastics coach, WTF??). But worst of all he had that tired old "quasi-crazy guru" trope going through out the entire book. Imagine Luke trying to learn the Force from Yoda, but instead of him dropping the quirky, silly, feeble act and talking to Luke like an adult as he imparted his wisdom, he just kept it up the entire time. Well that's what it was like every time Socrates opened his mouth.

If there's one thing I cant stand in a book more than anything it's being spoken to like I am stupid, and since Dan is supposed to be the reader's avatar in the story, he reader is subjected to every barb and jab that Socrates throws at Dan. Or maybe that's just me; I guess I'm just not as enlightened as old Soc.

Toward the end of the story we find Dan in a broken marriage with a daughter he doesn't see. And I thought "Oh good, something for us grown ups to sink our teeth into". But no. He just skirts the entire thing and pretends like his running away to chase enlightenment wouldn't have caused horrible and lasting psychological and emotional damage to his young daughter. But, you know, I guess family isn't as important as being able to hold the vaunted title of Enlightened.

I'll grant that there are a few nuggets that did allow me to pause and reflect upon my own life, but I would so much rather the author have just written his book without all the magic, teenage drama filler, pseudoscience, and just focused on properly communicating the Buddhist teachings he is trying to convey.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse