Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 44 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 54 reviews
on June 15, 2013
What a fantastic cookbook! I love that it was devoted solely to nothing but crockpot meals! From breakfast to late night snacks! Down here in San Antonio, TX it is just far too hot in the summer to use an oven. Wanting healthy foods.. we use our crockpot nearly every evening starting the beginning of May until sometime in October! As you can guess.. there are only so many "roasts" and stews one can eat without becoming bored with the same meal over and over. This little gem of a cookbook.. has so much variety! It introduced some recipes.. that I personally never would have thought of cooking in a crockpot before I read the recipe.. and realized.. DUH! Of course, it would work! We've even used our crockpot to make a crockpot version of fried chicken. And, YES.. yes, you can!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
While I am an accomplished cook, I am new to slow cooking. I have not yet actually made any of the dishes in this book, but have looked through it, and it seems to fit my needs. I was looking for a book with simple ingredients and instructions, and I didn't want to pay a lot for it. Imagine my delight when I found this one as a free download and it was just what I was looking for. It has a wide variety of dishes from appetizers to desserts, and the instructions are easy to follow. At the beginning of the book, there is a section covering the basics of slow cooking, which a beginner can benefit from. All in all, I am very pleased with the book and I am sure I will get a lot of use from it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
There are some great recipes in this book but I think I have become spoiled. In this digital age, it is almost inexcusable to not include photographs. There is a great photo on the cover so why not some inside? This bitch aside the book has some terrific recipes that I plan to enjoy. The beginning even helps you plan on what type of slow cooker to get. Pick your cooker, recipe and get set to enjoy some delicious meals.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2013
This cookbook is all about opening canned foods (beans and vegetables), using condensed soups, store bought sauces, packets of seasoning mixes (taco seasoning, Italian dressing mix packets, etc). Healthy to me is not using pre-packaged foods with chemicals and stabilizers in them. I also don't think home made means I opened the can or tore open the packaged mix myself. I thought healthy and home made would have real, fresh food that I would cut up and cook in a crock pot. Very misleading title in my opinion. It will be deleted from my Kindle.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
The authors, editors and publishers of this "cookbook" should be ashamed. This isn't a cookbook at all, at least not for 90% of the recipes. One recipe, early in the book, has no portion sizes, favoring the use of "pieces" as a measurement (eg "pieces of chicken, 1 piece onion, chopped, 1 piece green pepper chopped). Sure you can translate these into 1 onion or 1 green pepper, but what does pieces of chicken mean? How much chicken, which cut, how should the be prepared. More often than any cookbook should, this book seems to be a list of ingredients taken from dishes without any knowledge or understanding of amounts and preparation techniques. It's like the author went out to dinner and just by looking and tasting figured out what was in the dish, but had no clue how much or how it was prepared. Taking that information and presenting it as a recipe is ridiculous.

Only one picture in the entire book, the cover. That's it. In a modern era of publishing and the recognition of cuisine as both gustatory and visual, this book is nothing more than a fraudulent attempt to take people's money. You may find a good recipe or two in the book. I know from cooking a few that they are in there, but why buy a book with pages upon pages of crap just to get one good recipe? There are plenty of astounding slow-cooker cookbooks out there that have phenomenal recipes and even the bad ones are well written, easy to follow and adhere to some level of standards as to what a recipe must have to be translated into a dish.

Leave this book on the shelf and find a better avenue for your cooking efforts.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 30, 2012
Author C. Elias has written a slow cooker cookbook that tells about how to select a slow cooker, tips for using the slow cooker and the advantages of using one to cook daily meals. In the author's cookbook The Best Slow Cooker Recipes & Meals cookbook you will find some of the following recipes:

Turkey with Cranberry & Apple
Country Captain Chicken Breasts
Greek Style Chicken
Local Chicken

There is an active table of contents making navigation easy.

Recommend.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 11, 2013
Nowhere in the book does the author indicate the size of the crock that these recipes were designed for. Also, the ingredients list did not list the size of canned foods, I.e. "2 cans kidney beans" with no indication of the size of can. As a new owner of a 2 quart crock, I need better instructions.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2013
Good quantity of recipes to choose some and I will definitely be trying some. Love cooking in the slow cooker and this book shows me more than just main dishes and proteins. Will be trying Mac/Cheese and more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
This is very large.
Makes the best soup and tomato sauce.
My daughter us starting to experiment with new recipes and they all taste great.
Turn it on before leaving for work and you have tasty meal when you get home.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2016
Nothing sounds good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse