Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports toystl17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 43 reviews
on December 29, 2010
I am not a doctor, I am a heart patient. I have experienced an M.I., angioplasty, carotid endarterectomy, and triple bypass surgery. All this in spite of the fact that I live a heart healthy life. My enemy is genetics, virtually all my relatives on both sides succumbed to heart disease.

In general, I find Dr. Wallack's book useful and informative. I deduct one star because I find his chapters on diet and nutrition not strict enough by far.

Complement his book with Dr Dean Ornish's about reversing heart disease, the gold standard in my opinion. Place an order using this link:
http://www.amazon.com/Ornishs-Program-Reversing-Heart-Disease/dp/0804110387/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1293663404&sr=1-1

By the way, I don't know either Dr Wallack or Dr Ornish personally, but I have read a lot of heart health books.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
I had a quadruple bypass in April and this book has helped me a lot with the things happening. It was a great vendor as well, as promised, on time and in the condition promised. I recommend this book for an over all look at having a bypass surgery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2015
As a now recovering patient of open heart surgery to fix a heart valve, I found this book to be a bit alarmist about the surgery process, which hindered my waiting process for surgery. The book was also very focused on the author's own issues (especially I the seeming vicious, less supportive hospital admin world) and very focused on coronary bypass, which didn't apply to me personally. Liked his takeaway about setting a major physical goal, and his training plans. But this book was otherwise disappointing to me.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2011
I started raeding this book after having valve replacemnet surgery. This is one of the best books I have ever read and would recommend it to anyone who has had open heart surgery, a heart attack or any heart related event. The book touches on so many areas from surgery, medicine, and the emotional and physical recovery. It is a great resource for both the patient and caregiver. There are very few books out there on heart disease - but this one is a great resource. It is a MUST read!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
After my husband had quadruple bypass surgery we were lost! Would things ever be the same? How? This book answered all of our questions as well as giving us a plan to get our lives back. I recommend it highly! I have purchased it for friends and relatives as well.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2010
I have read the first few chapters of this excellent book and highly recommend it to anyone dealing with a serious illness or caring for a loved one through a health crises and the recovery process. Dr. Wallack provides unique insight as a skilled physician who found himself as a patient. Jamie Colby provides the reader with valuable insight on how to be the best advocate for your loved one and how to handle the stress of the pre operation and recovery process. This book tugged at my heartstrings remembering the emotions of caring for a terminally ill loved one. I wish I had this book for support at that time. As a person with heart issues I am particularly interested in Dr. Wallack's ideas on the process of choosing the best doctor, procedure and hospital. This book will help you be a better advocate for the best care and provides you with valuable information for a better recovery and healthier lifestyle. Buy this book, we all will deal with serious medical issues in our lives and this book will help you and your loved ones make each day better.
Ralph Hugh Barger
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
It is difficult to understand the mental challenges your loved one faces. This book helped me understand the nature of the support I ended to provide. This changed our daily tense relationship during the post operation phase to something much more supportive and enjoyable.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2010
This is a very important book to all caregivers. The book is for the patient but mainly for the caregiver. We all have experienced some loved one who has a major illness and this book goes through the whole process. Helps you get through the bad days when you think you can't go on much longer. It even has recipes that nourish the heart and soul. Whatever the disease the patient is going through this book makes life a little easier. It is an easy read and a must for the caregiver. Instead of feeling alone, pick up this book and refer to it when you need to.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 27, 2013
This book should be mandatory for anyone who is in recovery following a heart attack or heart surgery. The information can be related to by anyone who has been or is in this situation now. It is easy reading and answers questions, addresses anxieties and fears, and gives simple straightforward answers.
I would highly recommend this to heart attack survivors and their families and significant others.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2010
I have not had a heart crisis, but many people in my family have. I am a diabetic and the threat of a heart crisis is always around the corner. Colby/Wallack's book gave advice that applies to anyone dealing with a health issue. I too thought I was in great shape, and diabetes hit me from no where. I like Marc, walk through the street and see many out of shape people and say why me? Reading this book helped me pick myself up, accept the cards that were dealt and make the most of it. I was inspired by their practical, easy to follow advice. A must read for anyone dealing with a health crisis.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse