Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 26 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 37 reviews
on March 15, 2015
This book describes how atoms operate by using cartoon characters and stories from science fiction. Some of these predated actual atomic age devices. In fact nuclear chain reaction was patented by a Hungarian physicist, fan of H G Wells, four years before splitting a uranium nucleus. The author uses graphic methods instead of formulas. For example the pattern of electrons in a atom are like love seats in an auditorium. Each seat can contain up to two electrons, one is spin up and the other spin down. The first row is one seat, 1 or 2 electrons. The second row is one seat. The third row is 3 seats. The fourth is one seat. The fifth is 3 seats etc. He uses similar descriptions to explain Lazers, diodes, transformers, DVD's, magnetic drives, MRI machines, cell phones, touch screens, and finally Quantum Computers and Entanglement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2011
I was very much surprised (and pleased) with this book. It was not too technical that the average high-school student could not understand it yet it was detailed enough to describe processes that many of us are not aware of.
It was very interesting how the author kept tying the subject matter back to "science fiction" and the connection between fiction and science. However, it did seem that some of these were a bit too long (and distracting). All in all though, it was well written and a quick read. It is a natural for Kindle.

I donated my copy to the local library hoping it will attract interest in this subject among high-school and college students.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 18, 2016
Great book for beginners who don't want to deal with a lot of equations when they're just starting out. The book is a bit heavy on metaphor but that's probably necessary in a primer volume that's trying to give you an overview of unproven scientific theory. Fun to expand the intellect. Expand your thought and get your 'learn' on.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2017
great book and excellent reading. Although it does do some math even though it advertises that it doesn't but if you can trudge through the math and read more about the application of the physics, it is very fascinating and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
This is a book I feel I will be certain to reread. It has done something that I thought impossible; that I might possibly understand, some day, how the high tech devices I use in daily life (such as the iPad I read it on) actually work, sort of (the details are very clouded). And how the magic of nuclear magnetic imaging occurs. Highly recommended for the technologically challenged (actually, I'm of such an age that in my childhood 2 tin cans joined by a length of string was regarded as high tech communication ...).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
When I first saw the cover in a local library, I thought the book was a leftover from my youth. On closer inspection of the 21st century technology being used by 'my' 1950s family, I started reading and soon decided that I needed to buy a copy to catch up on what has happened in science in the last 60 years! Most of our modern technology is based on practical applications of Quantum Mechanics. However, the physical processes that it describes are beyond our senses and its principles are often presented as mathematical abstractions. This book makes the science 'touchable'. Prof. Kakalios has a wonderful talent for describing the complexities of Quantum Mechanics in in terms of simple, non-mathematical analogies that provides a physical understanding of the system . . . and using stories from classic science fiction literature to make it fun to read. It would be a wonderful introduction for anyone thinking about studying modern science in college . . . or even high school.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2013
I'm not a an expert in science or a scientist trained in physics. Over the past few years, I have become interested in quantum physics as a hobby. During this time, I have also gotten asked the question why are you interested in quantum physics. I have difficulty expressing the reasons because if I say something like " it explains why solid objects are solid" I find that doesn't answer the question. But now, after reading this book, I have many answers to that question. I want to thank the author for his help.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2013
I really like this book so much that I've now read through it three times. Not only does it clarify some very difficult concepts in quantum mechanics, it is also very entertaining.

If you want a peek into the area of science that Einstein called "spooky", this the book for you.

Some background in quantum mechanics might be helpful but probably not essential. The book is easy to follow and understand. The author doesn't start simple and then dive to the impenetrable. He keeps it understandable throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2014
This book was assigned reading in a modern physics class I was taking. The writing is clear and easy to understand. The author writes in such a way to keep the topic interesting, even though parts can be difficult and complex.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2011
Very good explanation of modern electronics and radiation on an atomic and sub atomic level. It is very enlightening for those of us who had our science courses before the 1990,s. Written in a clear and amusing way. Should be interesting to anyone curious about science and not only geeks and nerds. (He explains the difference.)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse