Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 799 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 849 reviews
on July 8, 2016
If you are a juicer you must add this book to your collection! This book is filled with so many juice and smoothie recipes. I like that it also helps you select juices or smooties for specific illnesses such as motion sickness, acne, bladder issues, angina and so on. The book also proves a guide that explains what benefits you get from eating specific fruits and vegetables to live a healthier life. Most recipes include nutrients and a star ratings for the level of energy, detox, immunity, digestion and skin benefit you will receive from that beverage on the bottom of the page. I've made several of the juices and smoothies from this book as you can see from the bookmarks in the picture I've included. Most of them are so good, but there were a few that weren't not for me.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
Better than the Juice Bible IMHO as far as accessability. Gives you details on which veggies do what pretty simply and how to pick a good item at the produce section. There are tons of recipes easily mapped out by vegetable. there are also teas and spritzers as well. You will not be disappointed. I like the fact that the Index is by vegetable/fruit not recipe so its really easy to look up different ones with what you have handy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
I've tried about 8 recipes so far, and about 5 of them I find DELICIOUS and good enough to confidently serve (mainstream American) guests (as well as myself, who prefers more whole, vegan, healthy foods).

I'm a vegan who wants to drink vegetables, too, so I love that many of the recipes mix fruit & vegetables, and only a small minority (looks like towards the back of the book) utilize dairy (which I suppose could be substituted out with non-dairy, creamy alternatives).

The photos make the book thick & cumbersome (literally 1.75" thick: many or most recipes have a 2 page spread) but, on the other hand, the beautiful images make reading the recipe a pleasure. (Given the choice, I might've chosen a thinner, simple, no-photos list of black-text-on-white-paper option, but I wasn't given the choice. That said, the photos are BEAUTIFUL.)

Big kudos on the index. I often have 1 ingredient in mind when I go to my cookbooks to find a recipe (so that the search is usually "which mushroom recipe do I want to make?") so I typically search for recipes via the index in the back (rather than flipping through "soups," "salads" type sections). In this book every ingredient in every recipe is listed in the index: it's like culinary heaven. For example, I just now tried "pear basic" which I found Very Good. So I circled page 207 in the index 4 times: once for each of its 4 ingredients (pear, apple, carrot, ginger).

If I had only 1 juice/smoothie recipe book, this would fit the bill magnificently.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
The only thing I didn't like about this book when first using it is that it doesn't tell you how many servings each recipe is designed for. I make smoothies primarily just for myself and occasionally for my kids. When it says "half a pineapple" for a smoothie that seemed like a lot for one person but I wasn't sure if that was for one serving or more. It would help if it showed the measurements in cups, tbsp, etc, or by letting the user know how many servings each recipe is designed for. I also think the book could've been a bit smaller and lighter if the recipes were doubled up on each page. There still would've been enough room for a picture of each drink next to the recipes or on the adjoining pages. Because the book is so thick and heavy it is a little cumbersome to use at times. Or making it a spiral-bound book would've been a good idea as well. I do have to say though, that I really appreciate the great quality of paper and materials this book was put together with. I can see that it will stand up to some good use for some time. The book has great vibrant pictures and information for each drink. Suggestions for ailments are in the reference part of the book and is useful as well. There is alot of juices for fruit juicing and veggie juicing separated into it's sections and each is a very good amount. The sections of smoothies are really nice as well. I like that it included some other fun drinks you can make as well that you might not think about when it comes to juicing. I'm happy with my purchase of this book overall.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2017
There is no other book on the market like this book!!! It is huge, colorful and easy to follow. I make some of them exactly like they have it written, but sometimes I modify the flavor to my liking... this book is great for learning fruit and veg combinations... also it gives you info on what the juice is good for like; energy, immune system, sleep, inflammation... I highly recommend this book. Everyone that loves to juice should have this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
This gotta be the most colorful and detailed book on juices and smoothies ever written. It is thoughtfully arranged and each recipe is followed by a colorful picture of what the final product would look like. Quite simply this is the best book on juices and smoothies I have seen and I have quite a collection. Get this and you will not need any other book on juices and smoothies. I posted a sample picture of a few pages on the image section above. The book is thick without being overly cumbersome. I bought the hardcover edition which makes it easier to open it flat. An amazing book.
review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2013
I really like this book and the endless combinations of fruits and veggies suggested by the author.

It has a good index and I like that she also suggests combinations to help with health issues like diarrhea, sleeplessness, detox, etc. Very helpful.

I use it daily as I juice 2-3 times per day. I have found some combinations I really like and use regularly; others, didn't like so much and probably won't make again. Everyone's taste buds vary!

Some reviewers felt like the book was too 'obvious' or didn't give enough 'help' in making juice. What are you talking about? If you need to know HOW to make juice, read your owner's manual for your juicer.

I believe this book is intended to suggest combinations that taste good together, the proper amounts of each fruit and veg to achieve a palatable juice, AND produce a consistent amount of juice output i.e. each recipe makes about 16-20 ounces of juice.

Highly recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2015
I used this book all winter to make healthy juices on the weekends. I always took one with me when I did a duty shift as a ski patroller. The winter air can be dry and I would drink the juice on breaks and as a sub for soda during our pot luck dinners. Lot of really great advice and recipes for someone really new to making juices like I was.

Chris Wodke
Author: Running for My Life-Winning for CMT
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2016
The thing I like most about this book is the aesthetic appeal. Each drink has high-quality pictures of what it will look like along with different attributes (energy, detox, immunity, digestion, and skin) in order to let the consumer know what its best used for. That being said, it is a simple book that get rights to the point. One recommendation I would have is for the author to write more about what each drink can do for your body and how it will benefit you in specific ways. Overall, it is a helpful book for coming up with drink ideas!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2017
This book is thick. And heavy. Almost a chore to hold while reading on one's lap. The recipes are simple - almost too simple, with few juice recipes containing more than 3 ingredients. I find this puzzling and had hoped, when I first purchased the paperback version, it would contain recipes of a more complex nature. For example, my morning go-to juice recipe contains beet, carrot, celery, apple, kale, lemon and ginger. For evenings, the drink of choice contains cuke, celery, apple, greens (chard, kale, beet tops, spinach etc.) and lemon. I was looking for more recipes like these. Also puzzling is that this book contains many recipes for smoothies and 'quenchers' (remember my earlier comment about how heavy this book is). So, my copy sits primarily on the shelf and gets the occasional glance from time to time. The ingredients section at the front of the book is quite useful and has been the major focus of my reading attention these days.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse