Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,244 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,349 reviews
on December 22, 2009
Lego baseplates are wonderful for giving stability to the creations of the Lego or Duplo builder. Duplo baseplates do not work with Legos, however, so this is very versatile for either size blocks. It is 10" by 10" in size, a fact I wish had been mentioned in the description as I thought I was ordering a larger one--one that two children could use at the same time. It is somewhat flexible, so will work better on a hard surface than on a padded carpet. Baseplates are essential for the Lego builder, and this is a good size for a smaller project or one builder. I recommend the 15 x 15 inch size for larger projects.
22 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
The plate works with Duplo Legos and small Legos. Very happy. My 5 yr old and 2 yr old can use the same plates.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon July 17, 2015
This past Christmas we got a lot of Lego for our kids. The Lego brand gives the impression of being all kits with specific instructions - and while those are fun, you also need some basics.

We go to the library a lot and a few weeks before Christmas the librarian had made this awesome marble run using one of these plates. I thought we needed to do this at home. We had a good time changing the run, making a few new marble roads, giving the marble a few exit points...

I'm sharing a picture because this is a fun use of the plate even for younger kids. This is just one of the ways you can use Lego bricks in an imaginative way.

Also as you can see, regular Lego bricks will fit this plate well. Yes, the plate is flexible but it is not 'bent' in particular once you place a structure on it.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
.
This review is amended as of November 20, 2010. I am concerned that so many people downrate a product without even having received the product -- they use the low rating to reflect their displeasure at non-receipt. I had the same problem with the reviewed product but Amazon helped me resolve it. Starting with the "Where's My Stuff" button I eventually found a link to complain about non-receipt of the item (LEGO green building plate). Several days later I received an e-mail advising me to wait a few more days, which I did. The product did not arrive, so I followed the links given and wound up in real-time chat with an Amazon employee (actually, a computer I suspect) named "Akshika."

I was offered the choice to ask for a refund or have the product sent out again . . . and I am happy with the results. So I appeal to any of you who are tempted to low-rate a product you haven't even received: please don't downrate a product unfairly. Resolve your issues through channels and you will get results.

The product at hand is a 10 x 10 inch LEGO-green plastic board, a good average green, which LEGO has gone so far as to recommend it for rural or other grassy scenes. A Building Plate (their term) is good to have when the user (whether child or adult) does not have a table or hardwood surface to construct LEGO items upon and needs the security of a solid surface specifically "hubbed" to receive LEGO pieces.

However, I agree with prior reviewers who found the current generation of Building Plates like these to be not as thick as those of the past. So if one is trying to use the plate on top of a plush carpet or rug it may well will bend and bow, and this wobble factor makes the pieces more of a bother to attach -- limiting the plates' very effectiveness. (I now use mine on top of the cardboard shipping box my plates came in!)

Some of the LEGO "tub" building sets contain a small Building Plate gratis (no. 6166 has a five-by-five inch green one, for example). For the new LEGO purchaser, that is one way to check out a plate's potential usefulness without investing in larger ones first. He or she might find out that even ten by ten inches (25 cm per side) is not quite enough. Shopping around for different sizes or colors will generally open up further opportunities.

And people who post in Comments in order to rail at Amazon for not having answered their complaints -- I must wonder if they complained properly. My complaint was heard.
.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 14, 2013
A 10" x 10" square to build stuff on. There are 32 LEGO pegs per side, so 1024 pegs altogether. Nice shade of green. I bought both the green and the blue squares. One for water and the other for grass. Happy with the product, and think anyone who builds things with LEGOs would need several of these.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
Overall, the plate works. It is large and stable, but not firm enough to really press hard on if you have carpet under the plate. It feels a little flimsy and cheap, but the Lego brand is to be trusted, as it has been for generations.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2013
Bought this for my 8 year old builder. She likes it and says it does the job. I would like it a little more if it were a little thicker. I feel that it will be easily broken if we aren't pretty careful but for the price it's not a bad choice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Perfect for adhering 4 of these to an Ikea square table and making your own lego table
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2017
Perfect, as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2017
Nice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse