Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop now HTL17_gno



on August 20, 2013
I don't really understand the negative reviews. If you order it, realize what you're getting. You're not getting a powerful food grinder that will grind meats, raw vegetables or undercooked foods. Of course the food must be well cooked. You can't feed a baby "crisp tender" vegetables.
For $13 it pays for itself in a week. Cook some green beans till very tender, pop them in, turn the crank and out comes baby food. Same with carrots, squash, sweet potatoes, etc. Actually it's so easy a four year old can do it.
We do bananas and grapes nearly every day. If we want apple we'll cook it till it's tender.

It's great for on the go as well. The baby is too young right now but I'm sure it would grind up cooked shrimp and fish in a snap...
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 30, 2016
My goal was bulk, but I didn't realize how often I wanted this for small batches!

- Consider the first few months when babies are trying new foods. They try a bite and then refuse the rest.

- Even infants that are good eaters only eat half a cup of food per week the first few weeks.

- Foods that may cause reactions are generally tried in small batches.

- Some foods for crawlers can't be frozen.

This mill wastes two tablespoons of food; the interior cylinder/plunger is 1/4" too short. My friend's mill (same style, different brand) wastes way less (maybe a teaspoon tops). If the food has breast milk or formula, I end up pitching the fourth that the mill can't reach. It's frustrating!

Also, the notches for the metal strainer aren't big enough. As someone else said, "the metal part won't twist into the slot without a lot of effort."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 19, 2014
This food mill is horrible.
First off, the seal is not so tight and if the food you're grinding is on the more liquid side, than the juices will spill through the bottom.
The blades will not reach to the bottom of the food container and therefore you will ALWAYS have pieces of food that can't be ground. The capacity of this mill is not too big as is, so for every 2 tablespoons of ground food be ready to discard a tablespoon of unground material. You have to keep pushing the upper part down with one hand as you grind with the other. It's awkward and uncomfortable.
JUNK! And the sad part is you can't even return it, because it's used, but you couldn't know it's worthless until you used it!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
It feels harsh to rate this product with only one star, but the product design is absolutely terrible. The crux of the problem, as several others have mentioned, is that there is a gap between the shaft and the grinding mechanism, so a fair amount of food is wasted, because it never comes into contact with the grinder. Also, the label "food mill" doesn't seem accurate; when I did attempt to use it (with peas, very soft carrots, and very soft apples), all I got was about 2 teaspoons of watery mush. I went back to just cutting up the food myself, using a power blender, or using a pastry blender. It didn't take long for my daughter to handle food in larger chunks anyway, so I'm glad I returned this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 30, 2015
This is what my mother used for the infants starting solids in her daycare. The product shipped as expected. We use it at the table so baby can have some of what we're having. I haven't used it much, but so far it works well for the soft/ cooked foods I've put through it. We tried avocado & cooked green beans. It's true that there's a good little chunk of food stuck in the bottom when you're done, but if I was really worried about waste, I'd just eat it or mix it in with my older child's food. I like that it can go with us to restaurants and such & that all of the pieces come apart for cleaning. I do find the lid frustrating (my first thought was that it shrunk in my dishwasher?! Ha!). When it's dirty I will carry the food mill back home in a plastic bag instead. Somehow, I lost the thumb bolt on the top center piece. I must have loosened it when I cranked the wrong direction and it fell off in the dishwasher. Anyway, I called the number on the box and Kidco says they'll just send me out a new thumb bolt! Would make sure the bolt is tightened before I run it through the dishwasher!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 22, 2014
40 years ago I used a baby food grinder that looked very much like this one for our children. I never had to buy baby food. Used it at home and away - whatever we ate, our baby ate - cooked meats, vegetables, and fruits. For the times when our meals were not conducive to grinding or not appropriate for a baby, I took previously frozen baby-sized meals out of the freezer and heated them.
With that in mind, I purchased this item for our newest grandchild. Before giving it to our daughter-in-law I wanted to make sure it worked. Unfortunately, I was very disappointed. While the KidCo Baby Steps Food Mill did grind up well-cooked carrots and potatoes, unlike the one I had for my own children, it could not grind up even the softest meat (I tried a very small, well-cooked, cut-it-with-a-fork piece of beef from my beef stew, and it did nothing!)
In addition, the connection between the handle and the strainer is not tight, making it difficult to lock and unlock the grinding mechanism onto the base, since the handle keeps moving.
If you only intend it for grinding very soft vegetables and fruits (which you can probably do with a fork anyway), it is works nicely, but beyond that, I think it's usefulness is limited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 1, 2016
Very disappointed. I wanted this just to make simple food. Nothing like the round item that I used years ago. This is the second item I have tried.
This has metal grinder but still is not the greatest. Would be great for a parent who can not afford a electric grinder. So sorry this did not work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 15, 2014
We bought this to grind up baby's first foods, and it was a total waste of money. Infants needing food pureed don't actually eat that much food - a few teaspoons at a time maybe. So the fact that this mill leaves several TABLEspoons behind every time you grind was shocking. You end up wasting more than you grind because the platform on which food sits is about a half inch lower than the "blade"/strainer that grinds the food. If I had known this, I wouldn't have bought it and would have just stuck with my inverted blender. I'm very disappointed.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2014
I could not figure out why there were so many positive reviews on here!
At first I liked the mill and it seemed to grind up most foods well. Until I took a closer look. I realized that the part that pushes your food up towards the "blade" does not go flush with the blade. It leaves about a 1/4-1/2 inch space in between. When you are only making a little bit of food that is a HUGE waste and you end up throwing half of it away or having to chop it up yourself. It all gets flattened under the mill like a disk. Who designed this thing? It doesn't make any sense that it does't push the food up all the way. What are you supposed to do with the huge chunk that is left?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2015
I hate writing negative reviews, but don’t waste your time with this item.

For under $15, this grinder isn't worth the materials it's made of. The advertisement/photos is false, there's no way that this grinder is grinding anything except perhaps baby rice cereal or already processed baby food. I was looking for something to take out with us when we travel and to use in restaurants etc. I tried it once and I couldn't even grind soft baked apples. The holes are so small above the blade that they get clogged instantly and the blade itself might as well be made of putty it's so flimsy. I am interested in what carrots were ground using this grinder that is depicted on the photo on the box. There's NO WAY this thing is grinding carrots (cooked or raw). I am in the process of returning. Recommend not purchasing this item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 11 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here