Amazon Vehicles Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB DG Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Shop Popular Services whiteprincess whiteprincess whiteprincess  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. Shop Now toystl17_gno

Price:$42.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 455 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 494 reviews
on February 5, 2016
I am picky picky picky when it comes to pizza stones. They are too small or too thin, or crack, or smell funny when warmed. Well this was brilliant! We have had it 3 months and do Pizzas 1-2 times a week! It is the purrrrrfect size big enough for a large pizza and not chincy! It is thick and solid without being impossible!!! This lives on the bottom rack of our oven and is heated every-time we cook i there and I couldn't be happier! No cracks or smells ... this is the ONLY one to buy!!! It also seasons well and is a breeze to scrape any extra cheese off that overflows ( yeah you know them pizzas that you add about 8x cheese on?? Uh hu ... they work a treat too!).
review image
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2013
I've had several pizza stones over the years. They all crack eventually. For my kitchen oven, I've stopped using pizza stones all together, and have switched to unglazed quarry tiles (available at home improvement stores for about $1 ea. 4 needed for my oven).

But after my recent purchase of a Big Green Egg, I found myself in the market for another pizza stone. This stone is much thicker and higher quality than others I've used in the past. While I would not be surprised if this stone also cracks eventually, I suspect it will be quite some time from now, and I will have long since gotten my money's worth from it.

For a size large Big Green Egg, the 16" stone is the size needed. I've tried several configurations, using the stone in conjunction with the plate setter, and am still working out the best one. Currently, my oven pizza is still better than my Big Green Egg pizza, but it's an enjoyable work-in-progress.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2017
I followed the instructions that were provided. The very first time I used it, it cracked in half! I have used pizza stones for years, they do crack after extended use, but this is the first time I had a stone crack on the first time I used it! Very disappointed!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2017
This is a heavy duty and durable pizza stone! I love that it is rated up to 400 degrees and can be put in my BBQ. The thickness is really nice and it's about as big around as a large pizza. Given the thickness, it does take a little longer to heat up and cool down so it's taken me a bit to figure out how to adjust times in my recipes accordingly. It's also very porous when it first arrives so it takes a few rounds to season it before it's even ready to use. I'm seasoning this with olive oil and savory spices. I plan to get a second one and season it with sweeter spices for cooking pastries.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2014
I bought this pizza stone, after perusing many stones and reviews, for my husband's birthday. We make homemade pizza every Friday night and he was hopeful that a good pizza stone would take our pizza to the next level. He was right! Immediately our crust, which was already great (if I don't say so myself:) improved! It made our crust tender on the inside and just the right amount of crusty on the outside. It is good the next day, too! The stone stains easily so don't expect it to look like the picture after a few uses. We clean it carefully (no soap!) and store it away each time. Before we make the pizza, we put the stone on the bottom rack of the oven and preheat at 475 for 30 minutes before baking our pizza. It works wonderfully in conjunction with a good pizza paddle. We purchased a great one for not too much money at a kitchen store. I would recommend this stone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2016
We love pizza, after many attempts of trying to get our pizza to taste like it came from a pizzeria, I did some research. We had a 12 inch stone, most basic pizza dough recipes are for a 14 inch stone. We were basically putting to much dough on the stone, our pizzas were always thick and the crust just didn't have that nice crispy brown you get from a restaurant. I settled on this stone based on previous reviews and I have not been disappointed. It's the perfect size, it comes with a dough recipe and I love that you can just leave it on the bottom rack of your oven, no more getting it out of the cabinet. Our pizza was perfect! Follow the instructions and heat your stone for the recommended time that's the trick to a perfect crust. And get a pizza peel (Heritage Acacia Wood Pizza Peel, luxury paddle for baking homemade pizza and bread) you'll thank yourself.Old Stone 4461 16-Inch Round Oven Pizza Stone
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Did not even keep it long enough for it to get "seasoned".....Tried for 2 months using this thing several times a week with cookies, pizzas breadsticks and this thing would not season....Left burn spots where the cookies were cooked... Bought this to accommodate bigger pizzas but I expected more for the price I paid...My smaller stone which is a reputable competitor brand works great with anything I put on it and it costs about $15 less wish they made a bigger size in that brand because this stone did not do the trick..... unfortunate mistake.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2014
I bought this to replace my old Pampered Chef baking stone and there is no comparison. First, this is a heavy stone! It has raised "feet" on the bottom that add weight and make it hard to slide in and out of the oven. My wife has trouble moving the thing so she doesn't even use it! The material it's made of seems somewhat porous and it has a tendency to hold moisture. So much so that it even had a little mold grow on it after the first time I cooked anything on it. (Yes I washed it!)

With my old Pampered Chef stone I could put things on it cold and stick it in the oven and it would warm up and cook to perfection. With this stone I cant do that. I tried doing that first and the item I was cooking wasn't done on the bottom where it came into contact with the stone. I'm thinking this had something to do with the mold problem and it may have been caused my the stone absorbing something from the food.

I have since started to preheat the stone with the oven before putting anything on it. It seems to do okay this way but it's a PITA IMHO! :)

I chose this stone even though it cost more than others because it seemed thicker and I thought it would be less likely to break from temp changes. That may be true but it hasn't lived up to the legacy left behind by the Pampered Chef stone I once had.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2012
If you're looking for a stone for your BBQ grill or something that can handle extreme heat (over 700 degrees) and open flames, this is a solid choice. I used this with my pizza kettle conversion kit and got the heat up to 900 degrees. The stone was taking open flames and the heat and was fine. I imagine it can take even more heat. The product description really should be more clear about this. I almost didn't buy it because I couldn't tell if it would work for a BBQ grill or not, but another review mentioned that it did. So I took the plunge, and glad I did.

Let me say that it's really not necessary to have a stone like this if you're cooking in a kitchen oven. The oven wont get hot enough to warrant a high-heat stone. Just get yourself a cheap one, they all hold in heat evenly and work well at lower temps. I've made great pizza in my oven at home that gets to 500 degrees with a convection fan. It was on a $10 stone from a discount store.

If however you are looking for a stone to get for your weber kettle grill, this is the one to get. There is another stone on amazon that is advertised as a high-heat stone. It is much larger and has an irregular shape cut out of it to allow opening the charcoal flipgate. However, the rest of the stone is so big it leaves little room for heat to reach the upper levels of the kttle BBQ evenly. This is not ideal. My brother has that stone and it has been hard for him to get the cheese and toppings cooked enough before the crust gets burned.

As for this stone, because it allows lots of heat to convect in your BBQ, it works great. My suggestion is to throw the coals in and let heat get to around 600-700 for 30 minutes. Then toss in a log of wood and bump the heat up to 900 degrees as fast as possible. Then throw your pizza on. Rotate it around and bam. Pizza Napoletana!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
Ordered a 16-inch Round Oven Pizza Stone and received a 14-inch X 16" rectangular pizza stone. Product functions as it's supposed to, so no complaints there. Only with the fact that I did not receive what I ordered. I suppose I could send it back, but I wanted the stone for a party tonight, so I will use the rectangular one that I received. Its okay, just not what I wanted or what I ordered. :(
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse