Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by Luke Bryan PCB for Musical Instruments $54.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  All-new Echo Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



TOP 1000 REVIEWERon July 11, 2011
Bought these, hoping for classic gold toe quality (nice heft, thick cotton cushioning, long life).

Unfortunately, I was completely disappointed. While these are a slight step up from cheapie Hanes socks from the big box store, these are NOT the same quality we used to get from Gold Toe.

The six pair I bought shrunk, pilled like mad (bits of cotton sluffed off inside the sock after every wash) and they all developed holes within 3 months of wear. No, I don't use bleach. They simply were not made of very high quality cotton and wore through at the friction point at the ball of each foot.

I won't buy Gold Toe socks again until I hear that they've returned to their classic standard.

Why, oh why, can't women get the same high quality socks that men can buy so easily? I hope Gold Toe reads the mail and improves their manufacturing standard. Until then, I opt out.
22 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2014
I have always bought Fruit of the Loom or Hanes socks, but they become thin and lose their softness and any padding so fast, I can't wait for them to get holes so I can throw them away. So I'm giving Gold Toe a try. I have a size 7-and-a-half foot. These fit perfectly on my feet and feel very nice, but they are tight around the ankles and I have skinny ankles/legs. My legs are "ribbed" after only a few hours wearing these socks. They are really comfortable though. Not sure if I'm going to buy more... I think I'll wait and see what happens after a few washings.
Update: They shrank a lot after just one wash. They still fit me, but anyone with a bigger foot would be in trouble.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2015
I was looking for soft, thick, durable socks. I got a pack of these and a pair of World's Softest (sensitive feet). The Gold Toe socks are great compared to the store brands I typically purchase -- hanes, no nonsense, etc. They are nice and thick and pretty soft. However, I believe I will invest in World's Softest for the long term. They cost a bit more but I believe they will be durable enough to justify the increased cost, and the Gold Toe socks do not begin to compare to them in terms of comfort. The Gold Toe socks feel like "athletic socks" to me, but nice ones. However, the World's Softest socks reminded me of wearing pajamas with feet in them as a kid, and were as comfortable as could be. The lining in World's Softest is better.

If I hadn't purchased both at the same time, I'd probably give the Gold Toe 5 stars. Very good quality compared to the socks I was replacing. But I am a convert to World's Softest now! Do yourself a favor and try them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 4, 2013
I ordered these with a pack of Fruit of the Loom and a pack of Champion--all women's cotton crew style with similar compositions--to figure out which I would use in the future. My favorite white socks in my drawers are actually some simple Walgreen's brand socks and I was hoping to find something similar on Amazon for delivery convenience.

I'm a fan of socks that have a very low synthetic content as I find that synthetics cause my feet to feel hot and sweaty when wearing any sort of shoe (slippers, running shoes, rain boots, etc.).

This is the first time I've worn this brand and style and I'm disappointed with the feel. I really want to go home and change my socks, that's how bothered I am by it. Instead, I'm taking off my shoes and praying that keeping them under my desk is enough of a guard in case the sweating has caused odor. The elasticity, fit, and quality are fine, but the nylon content combined with the weave make me unlikely to buy any in the future.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 23, 2015
Not as good as I expected. Thin fabric, especially on the leg elastic part, and the sock was too small. I won't buy Gold Toe again. These are not the quality of past years that I remember. Not really worth the price because you'll have to give them away. I wear a size 9 women's shoe, and I had to stretch these out before putting them on just so they didn't squish my toes unbearably. As I dry them in the dryer each time, they get smaller and smaller and thinner and thinner. They are going to Goodwill. Don't waste your money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 6, 2014
I ordered these socks because I have been having a problem with all of my socks getting holes in them! These had good reviews so I thought I would try them. The first thing I noticed was that they are not very soft at all. Not like most socks which are just regular cottony-soft. They fit good (I wear a size 6) and time will tell if they will hold up. I was just a little surprised and disappointed with the lack of softness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 13, 2012
I've worn Gold Toe crew socks for years, and was always confident that I was getting a quality sock. They were comfortable, fairly thick and they wore well.

Recently I purchased 6 pair of Gold Toe crews here, and I'm extremely disappointed. They fabric is so light weight, I don't think these socks will last 3 months. The seam in the toe is kind of funny, too, and it bunches up on the sides making the socks a little uncomfortable sometimes.

I'll be looking for a heavier, sturdier alternative for my next crew sock purchase.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 18, 2014
Gold Toe socks are not the same quality they once were. I have purchased their sock for years, now I need to find a better brand. These sock are ok, but I consider them not worth the price; I think I can find better socks for the same cost. Maybe Dockers? The Gold Toe fabric is not as soft or thick as they were a few years ago. Has the company changed manufacturers?
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I bought these after reading the reviews and found them to be no better than the cheap Hanes socks I got at Walmart. I used to buy the White Stag socks at Walmart and they were WONDERFUL! Unfortunately, they aren't making them any more. I'm still looking for socks that were as comfortable as they were. THESE are NOT worth the money. I'll keep looking!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 2, 2012
I like the way the top part stays put (no bunching down as I wear them) and smooth fit with no seams bothering my feet. Out of the package they didn't feel very cozy, but now that I've worn them I see that they are. An excellent product.

Update: It's now many months later and I'm still a fan of these socks. I never wear out clothing, but I have a long history of wearing out socks --however, these socks show no sign of wear. Something else I like about them is the way they come out of the washing machine: still white and bright. I go around in my stocking feet whenever I'm in the house, and don't hesitate to wear the socks outside when I need to pick up the mail or water a plant. Other socks I've owned never looked clean after being washed because of all that I put them through -- but these socks launder beautifully every time. All these months later, they still look new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here