Amazon Vehicles Beauty Trade in your textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Book House Cleaning americangods americangods americangods  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Ellen

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 86 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 91 reviews
on June 3, 2015
This low price unit attached easier to my Celestron 4.5" FirstScope reflector's equatorial mount. BTW, Celestron said it wouldn't. I did have to add a screw though. It mounted right into the existing axil screw (see pic). The Logic Drive works pretty flawlessly. You do have to initially adjust the speed setting, which varies if it's a star or a planet that you're tracking. I used a dot of sight paint to mark the speed settings desired. I haven't needed to replace the 9V battery yet. Overall decent quality and once aligned, saves you from constantly adjusting to keep the star, planet of nebula in your field of view. A very big plus!
review image review image
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 4, 2012
The Celestron motor drive is very cool and very, very "small"....

Received it overnight.. as usual.. from Amazon.com
Had already downloaded the insructions from The Celestron website. so I was familar with the unit and the installation instructions....

Proceeded to install the unit... OH MY!!! the RA shaft is TO BIG for the coupling.. a defective unit.. you say.. bad engineering....I was NOT a Happy Camper ...

Called Celsetron "CS" and was greeted with a 20 minute wait.. was finally connected to a fellow.. explained the issue... He said.. I don't know what the problem is as I have a unit right in front of me and the hole is fine.. it should fit the RA shaft with no problem... I mentioned it looked like the hole had a metal sleave which made the diameter to small to fit.. .. Too bad.. He said...send it back.. to us or Amazon..

So.. being a "problem solver" by nature... I removed the coupling from the motor shaft and took a closer look at at the rubber coupling which has two screw holes... one at each end.. I reversed the two screws and it fit.. The screws were assembled in reverse order at the factory... in China..of course.... as they are both the same diameter.. How "nice" for them.

So being a good "Amazon" customer... to help save my fellow customers some grief.. I called back to Celesrton and informed them of my findings.. AND... What do you think they said... OH YES... we are aware of that problem.. Well.. it appears I talked to the guy who did not get the memo.. as the second person was female... who knew all about the issue . good job... young lady.. and she expalined the fix... I called to tell them about..

When you receive your unit.. look at the rubber coulping at one end.. if the large finger screw is on the end with a metal sleave .. it is reversed... remove the coupling from the motor shaft . and reverse the screws.. replacing the small "allan set scew" at the end end with the metal sleave... THEN... the other end of the coupling will fit the RA shaft.. the one with the finger screw as as it has a larger diameter.
This may sound like "greek"..BUT, when you look at the unit you will understand.. and the unit will function as designed..

If the end with the "finger screw" has no metal sleave..you are "good to go"..
I was told a significant number of unts have this flaw.. the luck of the draw...for you

Hold your applause.. please
77 comments| 76 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
While this piece of Hardware is useful and inexpensive, I have found that it doesn't hold up very well in the cold. Anything below 60 degrees Fahrenheit and the motor slows down and eventually stops period I have since replaced it with a more dependable motor.

That being said, for under $50, it's not a bad option especially if you live in a warm climate.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2012
Installs easily on a an Astro Master 130EQ CG-3 mount. However since it is on the opposite side of the mount from a CG-2 it is upside down from the picture shown. It is fully functional but since it is on the opposite side of the mount the North - South hemisphere switch is also wrong. So if your in the Northern hemisphere put the switch to S or it will track in the wrong direction. You would think that would be mentioned in the instructions. I like that it runs on a 9V battery so I don't have to haul a big battery along like I do with my big scope. I don't know what the included Phillips screwdriver is for. Maybe it is needed for a CG-2 mount. The cover actually amplifies the drive motor sound. If you take the cover off it is quiet.

I recommend this product, it works well and is priced right.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2016
Works but it would be perfect if there is a clutch system where manual adjustment will be possible even if it is attached. The size could be smaller at least for the casing as it is not in the way of movement of the mount.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2017
I bought this to add to a camera slider (IMORDEN 48"/120cm Middle Video Camera Slider Rail Dolly Track Camera Camcorder Slider) after working out how to mount/propel the carriage I am very happy with this motor. The slowest speed takes about 12 or more hours from end to end the fastest is around the three/four hour mark. Weight and degree of incline does effect some but not very much. I have loaded the carriage with a Nikon 300s with 24-85 macro lens, a Canon XF100, an SJ4000 (wi fi version) and a Brinno TL200 Pro. - not all at the same time- and the motor chugged away quite happily. My only wish is to be able to speed it up so it can be more useful for real time video - but for long time lapse pieces, excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2016
The motor drive works as advertised for the standard AstroMaster EQ mount. It's not all that noisy but it does get in the way sometimes when pointing at some objects lower on the horizon. That's pretty easy to work around though, just point at something else for a bit until the object is in a different position. It does take a little fine tuning once you get the mount polar aligned as far as the speed goes, but after that objects stay pretty steady in the scope. It takes one 9V battery so keep one handy just in-case but it seems to last for quite a while.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2017
It was worn on an equatorial mount with 910mm F15 Achromat telescope about 40 years ago with a little processing. Driving sound reminiscent of motor driven plastic model made when I was a child is fun and can not be helped. I never thought that classic machines full of analog feeling were so fun. It can be funny even that stars are shifting. It tends to ask for the latest machine, but it may be enough with the eye view sight. I love this machine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2016
This does exactly what it says it does. As with my 127eq this does have a little learning curve but proper set up should make planet gazing easier and more approachable.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2014
This motor drive drives my Celestron Powerseeker 127 MM well. the reason I gave a 4 instead of a five is that the motor drive gets in the way of the telescope in certain positions, and also I cannot use the slow motion control of the RA axis when the drive is attached.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 55 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here