Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Book House Cleaning billions billions billions  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 32 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 34 reviews
on November 23, 2008
I bought this because the full size was too expensive. Overall it is fine but the spinal curves are not correct, and the ribs are crooked, too up and wide compared to the real ribcage. The size is great, I have it on my desk and can watch it every day. The tailbone and lumbar spine bother me the most because the curvature is not posturally correct. I teach Pilates Method of Contrology and I really like having the skeleton to see every day. Wish that there was a skeleton with movable scapulae and better hip joint articulation that was affordable.... so I would recommend this with caution to the details. You need an anatomy book and prior understanding to correct the imperfections in your mind.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2012
I'm taking an anatomy and physiology class and thought this would come in handy for somewhat detailed study of bones, their surfaces, and how the bones articulate with each other. If that's what you're looking for, let me just say you can do better and for less money.

The product image on Amazon is lousy, so let me recommend you do a Google Images search and find some detail on whichever skeleton you're thinking about getting.

Here's my main dislike of Flexible Mr Thrifty: the joints are a joke.
1. The shoulders are screwed in so you can't remove the arms for individual study.
2. The joint between the carpal bones and distal ends of the radius and ulna are wired so they're so far apart you can only guess how they articulate.
3. The knee joint is molded to fit together by a plastic hinge, which is nice for a toy, but horrible if you're studying bones. Same situation with the foot.
4. The tibia and fibula are molded together, so you can't see the surfaces between them.
5. The top of the cranium is removable and there is a little detail inside, which I thought would be nice. There's not much detail, though, and it's a nightmare to get the hanger inserted back in and the top of the head put on correctly. Also the head isn't removable from the rest of the skeleton, so to study cranium, you have to awkwardly hold the whole thing (the legs are removable though).
6. The bones of the hands and feet do not articulate. This is probably true of any cheap skeleton, but there it is in case you were wondering.

Also, the stand is cheap and mine was so distorted it looked like Mr Thrifty was about to fall over at any minute.

Recommendation: Look at the Painted and Numbered Big Tim Skeleton Painted and Numbered Big Tim Skeleton Model CMS65. It's about $30 less and has better detail in some instances, including muscle insertions. The way it's wired together is a little fragile, but you can at least bend the joints and get an understanding of how the bone surfaces match and work together. This helped immensely with my skeletal lab study. You can remove the arms for individual study (flexible mr thrifty's arms are screwed in), and remove the head for studying the underside, which has pretty good detail for what it is. At first I thought Big Tim was a cheap one as well, but after spending some time with Thrifty, I can better appreciate Tim. I will return Thrifty and happily keep Tim.

So why 2 stars instead of one? It's not a bad skeleton if you're looking for Halloween decorations or are explaining bones to a child. It's nice and sturdy if you don't plan to remove the head for study (assuming you want to put it back on at some point), though the stand is poorly made.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2012
I was looking for a skeleton to be able to show my music students important aspects of anatomy to encourage a natural lifted posture. This is definitely a great fit for my teaching needs. I know the dimensions are given, but somehow, I didn't quite anticipate Mr. Thrifty as being as tall as a small child! I really enjoy the flexibility of the spine and the articulation throughout the body.

I'm a hobby anatomy buff, so my knowledge of anatomy isn't super precise, but if I could change two things, I would say a: It would be nice if the radius would actually rotate more. It's hard to demonstrate how the body sits at a piano when only the pinkies touch the keys! b: When you move him into a sitting position, because of how the femurs are attached, the legs spread out a bit from one another...they don't really go parallel.

I DO enjoy that the stand comes in parts, and you can halve the height and use it to support him in a sitting position so you can manipulate other parts of the body.

Overall, I am very satisfied with this product. It has a nice amount of detail in a manageable size and while it's not exactly dirt cheap, it doesn't completely break the bank either.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 13, 2010
Mr. Thrifty is a good and accurate skeleton. However, he isn't as "flexible" as I would have liked. He can break a little too easily, but overall if you are gentle he should do the trick. This is great for use with children learning about the human body. However, I think it would be appropriate only for kids through middle school. If you are looking for a model for high school and above, I might look for an upgraded model. Overall a good purchase and I am happy with this model as it will fit our needs. The really big plus is that he comes with a stand!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2012
Mr. Flexi is a terrific model for artists. He can be posed in almost any position which makes him a wonderful tool. Now if I can just get him to eat.
review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2011
I bought this skeleton to practice positioning for my radiography courses and to review anatomy. It will be fine for positioning even thought the lower leg falls off occasionally its easy to put back on the little pin just keeps sliding out. As far as using it for anatomy it will be OK not great just because you cant see as much detail as i would have liked. The 12th ribs on him look really funky but i guess i got what i paid for. overall i was satisfied enough to keep him.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2010
The skeleton worked out very well for my needs as a massage therapy student. However, I am less happy with this company's customer service. Originally, the wrong item was mailed to me. I could not get ahold of a live person when I called, so finally I emailed them. I did not get a reply, but they replaced the item quickly, for which I was grateful.

This time, it arrived with a hole in the box where half of the metal stand had fallen out in the mail, presumably. I tried calling and emailing this company and never got a repsonse. It's no big deal, but I will have to make my own stand if I ever want one, and it's a little annoying. I cannot recommend them. I should have bought it at my school bookstore- it would have been worth the extra money to avoid this hassle.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2012
Bought for my wife to practice radiological positioning for rad tech degree.

This thing is undeniably cheap. Some of the bones like the false ribs are very strange angles and put together in a very odd way. Screws fall out often and some were missing. At the end of the day though it works for what she needs it for.

Pros-
For general anatomy it's functional
good size for home use
comes with a stand

Cons-
Despite feeling solid it has some poor construction. screws will fall out as you are using it.
Not anatomically perfect.. If you need absolute accuracy then look elsewhere

Bottom line, if you can't afford or don't have room for a $200 to $1,000 full size anatomical model and just need something for general study and visualization at home then it's a good product. The weird angles of the false ribs take away a full star, because honestly this is something that they should fix in the mold. Another 1/2 star lost with missing screws and screws that fall out (can't give a 3.5 star review so it gets a 3).

If anyone is considering ordering this skeleton and wants to ask me a question please feel free to leave a comment.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2016
It's ok. Serves the basic purpose of showing clients their spine. If you need something that is perfect I wouldn't get this. The ribs are bent, his sacrum is shaped strangely and he has some scoliosis tendencies. But overall the best I could find for the price. He was a little broken when arrived so I may need a new arm. I'll be seeing if the company will help.
review image review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
I got this for my kinesiology class in college but wished I had bought it long before that. This was the perfect study tool for anyone taking anatomy, physiology and especially kinesiology. We used a large one in class and I loved it so got one for myself. The price range was very appropriate. I also loved that this one showed the vertebrae well and even had a bulging disc. This was a bonus for me since I had planned on going to Chiropractic School after my B.S.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 9 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here