Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Bostonian Men's Evanston Loafers,Black,15 N US
Amazon Vehicles Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2010
I owned a pair of these Bostonian shoes 10-15 years ago. Now, the leather does not seem quite the same quality, and although Amazon's description states a leather sole, the black pair I received does NOT have a leather sole. They fit nicely, and overall I do enjoy them. The quality is just not quite the same since they are manufactured outside of the USA. This of course would not be a problem, if the company had not chosen to lower the quality of the shoe.
11 comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2010
I bought these shoes and received them a fews days ago. These are the problems: 1)They have rubber sole. The color of the rubber is brown. The color of the rubber side is black because the shoes are black. The first day that I used them I noticed that appeared line color brown on the rubber side, this happened because while I was normally walking the shoes rub the ground. If the color of rubber would be black this would not happens. The shoes look very cheap quality. 2)They are very unconfortable.
I would not buy again them.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2013
Shoes are really shiny and they rub against the bottom of your ankle. However worse I had to glue one tassle that fell off after wearing a few times and now 31 days later both tassles from the other shoe completely fell off and the black strap holding them on broke. Rather frustrating.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
The leather is hard,extremely hard' and not supple. The shoe feels like you're putting your foot in a hard cardboard box. If I had a chance to try it on before purchase I wouldn't have purchased it. Save your money and buy something more comfortable!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2013
I really wasn't sure what to expect, as many of the other reviews mentioned man-made soles (not true) and poor quality (also not true). I wanted a relaxed dress shoe for every day at the office. these are perfect. they looked great when they arrived and only look better with wear and break-in (which is happily minimal). the are high- polished and look executive smart. all- leather uppers and I am happy to report LEATHER SOLES! the heel is a composite but appears to be wearing fine (now having the shoes for a little over a month). on certain high wax vinyl flooring there is a squeak if you shuffle as you walk. Appears to be the heel flexing. I solved this by picking my feet up as I walked, which also seemed to relieve lower leg fatigue in the process. the only head shake I have about these shoes is why they chose to put in man- made foot bed inserts when the rest f the shoe is all leather and of high quality. It's wearing fine, but its obviously much lower standard than the rest of the shoe. Other than the foot-bed materials (still comfortable, and I'm a large man with a size 14 foot) I have no complaints. they are FAR better than Kenneth Cole shoes, and look far classier as well. If you cannot afford Allan Edmunds, give these a try!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2013
Hey all,

First this shoe, is slightly more roomy than expected. - so if you are a size 10.5 - order the 10.
I ordered the 11, and it was too large. I was able to compensate with a shoe insert to take up some of the extra wiggle room.

As for the material, it is very, VERY rigid. not a soft leather by any means. I am serious, it is like walking in a wooden shoe.
I am still trying to break them in, but I have never had to knead a shoe before, flexing around the edges to get them to give a little.

all in all very unforgiving shoe. I got them for an upcoming event, and wanted a nice looking pair. they do look awesome, they just don't feel as good as they look.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2010
I have owned Bostonian shoes for a number of years. Recently I purchased two pairs, one in Black and one in burgandy. The quality appears to be the same except that the shoes now has man made soles. This was not a big problem for me except that now the shoes squeak when I walk. I don't know if the problem is due to the fact that the soles are man made or that the shoes are now made in CHINA. These will be my last pair of Bostonians.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2012
The shoes arrived well packaged, and on-time, but one of the shoes had a huge scuff / damaged leather on the back - looked like someone tried them on, and took one of the shoes off by stepping on the back of the other one. Returns should really be inspected for damage before they're shipped back out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 5, 2011
I order shoes online next to never, but having owned a pair of these shoes in black (same size and style) my expectations were good.

I think everyone wants that "Cinderella" fit in a shoe, but in reality few are like that. Every brand of shoe is cut a little differently, and thus the real question is whether or not it gives in a way that doesn't cause discomfort. In my case, this shoe felt fine the first time I wore it which was for about 3 hours in church.

I like it. The shine of the leather and the wingtip imprint make it a standout. The sole feels lighter than some of the classic dress shoes used to be, but in my book this is a good thing as it invites better shock absorbtion when you walk. Also noticeable is that the leather forms creases easier than older shoes used to, but some buyers will see them as character marks, while others view it as a shortcoming.

All in all, I will probably invest in another pair (brown) when they become available in my size (11-1/2 W).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 8, 2013
As at least one previous reviewer had noted, these shoes come just a little too high at the ankle, which made wearing them, even for a few minutes, too uncomfortable. They're nicely made and were exactly as advertised (other than a little larger than I expected based on my usual size). But because of the height issue I couldn't imagine wearing them even through a single day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here