Amazon Business Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty March Birthstone Shop Popular Services GimmeDanger GimmeDanger GimmeDanger  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis Elton John Tackle Any Terrain with Cycling on Amazon STEM

Price:$11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,086 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,192 reviews
on December 21, 2008
This is NOT the original! I was horribly disappointed with this purchase. Thankfully, I kept my original Discwasher and continue to use this 25+ year-old product over this new piece of junk!
0Comment| 158 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2008
The item pictured is the original Discwasher system. The item you get is the new one from RCA with a different handle and completely different material on the business side. And the new item is vastly inferior to the original. This used to be one of the best products out there, now I'm looking for other, better record cleaning solutions.
11 comment| 116 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2015
I had an original discwasher in the 1970s. While this is essentially the same design, the quality of the materials used makes it nowhere near comparable. The wooden handle is much lighter. The cover on the pad is not level over the breadth of the pad, such that contact is not consistent when used. The cover is very poorly installed over the pad. The corner seams are shabbily sewn and irregular, vs. the original where the pad cover was installed with care and the seams were regular and straight. The attached photos are after just opening the product and using it once. Complete crap.
review image review image
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2016
This is not the Discwasher product of old. The original Discwasher (black pad) has a slanted bristle hair texture that lifts dust out of the grooves. This newer product (tan pad) has more of a corduroy texture with no hairs and although there is a directional arrow, neither direction works anywhere close to as good as the original product. To add to that, the original product used a black pad as opposed to this brownish town pad. It was much easier to actually see how effective the old version performed as you could easily see the dust contrasted on the black pad. It's hard to see dust on this. The original Discwasher was also hollow so you could store your D4+ inside (but to confess, I rarely did that). I've actually gone back to using my 35+ year old original Discwasher. But, given the choose between this newer version and nothing, it at lease picks up some dust (but requires more D4+ fluid to be effective). If you can find the original Discwashter - even one that is 35 years old - go with that.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 21, 2016
Buyer beware. This product has no business having the Discwasher name on it, as it has none of the attributes of the original product. I should know, this was my 5th purchase of a Discwasher since the late '70s. The wood handle is cheaply formed and of an inferior grade of wood. The pad is nothing like the original directionally integrated groove cleaner fibers. This pad is like some corduroy purchased at a fabric store and is obviously not designed for cleaning records. Discwasher is dead. This bogus, offshore, cheap thing looks similar but is a fake. Look for a new cleaning system.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2016
This isn't what you think. Bought one to replace my (sadly) missing original, but this is certainly not the same thing, at all. First, and foremost in my reasons for this negative review, the wooden handle is NOT BORED OUT TO FIT THE FLUID AND BRUSH like the original, or EVEN LIKE THE PICTURES IN THE MANUAL THAT COMES WITH IT. I would not have bought this inelegant piece of crap for that single reason, but it gets worse - the material isn't as thick or robust as the original, I am skeptical that it will do well cleaning my precious record collection.

RUN. Run away as fast as you can and DO. NOT. BUY.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 13, 2017
Just like everybody else, the newer model isn't as good as the older model. The wood block was made from cheaper wood and wasn't hollowed out to fit the bottle of cleaner inside and the brush. I can't say how well the new material on the brush works as I haven't used it yet. I'm still using my old one which originally came in a nice storage box. The original discwasher just looked and felt classy and you felt like it was a high quality item and you got your monies worth. Not to forget the old model worked well. This new one may work as well but the quality doesn't seem to be as high.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2015
I have an original-to-the-1970s Discwasher record care set, and I ordered this because I don't know why. I should have just looked for the fluid (my fluid needed to be replaced). This is a pale imitation of the original. First of all, in the original, the fluid and the little brush were stored inside of the handle of the record brush. Now they give you a lame bag that you are supposed to put the fluid and small brush in. And the fibers on the brush are so short that they don't actually brush any dirt away. One positive note: the fluid bottle fits perfectly inside my old record brush. I kept the fluid and tossed the rest of this junk. My advice is to keep your old Discwasher and just buy new fluid! this is a paltry imitation of a once-great product.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I recently purchased a basic $100 turntable to try and play my old 33's. Many of them were dirty from sitting in a closet since 1975. Not a surprise.

I followed the directions exactly and they did clean the surface grime of my records.

I have read with great interest the reviews here for this item. I do remember having something like this back in the day....is this the same?? I really don't know. I have slept since then............. But for me ...... a person..... just wanting to revisit my past and pull out my already scratched records... and relive the 60's and early 70's this works just fine.

Now a days I only listen to my tunes via my iMac and my external speaker system.... so this is just a hobby for me...... the records.

I have to agree with the others.... if you are a pro record player person, who kept their old records in pristine condition from day one you probably would not want to use this on them...... if you are like me.... go for it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2015
I have the original Discwasher Kit from the late 70's with Zero-Stat Gun, and had heard that these new RCA Discwashers were not good. I don't see what the problem is. They work. That's all that matters!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse