Lyft Industrial Deals Oprah's Book Club Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now TG18PP_gno



on March 11, 2011
I recently purchased this item thinking it was a special type of seed.
This is a regular shade type grass seed mixture.
It contains:
53.2 % Creeping red fescue
23.4 % Annual Rye grass
14.1 Perennial Rye grass
4.4 % Kentucky Bluegrass
These numbers were on the bag as required.
This is close to the same ingredients in most shade mixtures you can buy at any hardware store. I recently saw a shade mixture with almost identical amounts of these seeds for about $3.00 a pound at my local hardware store. Also the commercials and ads says you can just spread it by hand but the bag tells you to till the soil to a depth of 2" , rake it in and then use a roller. Not as easy as it seems in their ads.
I wish these important mixture percentages were listed before I purchased mine from Amazon. Hopefully it helps you in your buying decision.
3333 comments| 1,204 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 29, 2017
If I knew how to send a photo here, I would send a 'before' and 'after'. First I watered thoroughtly the dirt that was once my lawn. Then I spread the seed, topped it with a topper soil and then, using a hand held spreader, topped it with lawn starter fertilizer. Of course watered it twice a day until it came up, then cut down to once a day. It went from almost straight dirt with just a few sad patches of grass to a lush, green, full lawn. Excellent!!! Neighbors are asking who put in my lawn and are surprised when being a retired woman, I tell them I did. Oh, and BTW, it began coming up in just 3 days. Also, I live arid Arizona.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 20, 2014
Junk.. Did nothing in my yard
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 6, 2013
This is the best grass seed I've ever used. I had a very shady area that would never grow grass, I tried sod and other grass seed, but nothing worked. I bought a bag of Canada grass seed and literally just hand spread it in the areas of my lawn without grass and within 3 weeks, grass was growing and it was turning green!! I am going to buy another bag to put down in my back yard!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 14, 2013
I am inexperienced in lawn care, but, when I began to work with the Canada Green Lawn Seed
Mixture, the results are amazing. My yardman could not believe how fast and green the growth has
become. He is now a believer since my yard is looking better than it has in years. The bare spaces
are filling in and the overall look is fresh and new. Hope this continues and the remarkable changes
will continue.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2014
Followed all of the directions to the letter and not one blade of grass ever sprouted. We thought that maybe we had gotten a bad batch but surely a few blades would have dared to grow.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 23, 2013
The product arrived on time. I wanted to use it to fill in some bare spots in my back yard. I raked up the areas and watered frequently, but nothing grew for the next 4 weeks. I finally gave up, bought some grass seed at Walmart. It sprouted in under a weeks time.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2013
Canada Green Grass Lawn Seed grows fast and looks great -- for about two weeks. Then, it starts to go brown, dies a horrible death and looks like sawdust.

I made the mistake of using this in an area of my lawn that gets direct sunlight most of the day. My soil is dusty and sandy so it doesn't retain water well...

The result? Clumps of dusty brown stuff that used to be plush green.

To fix the problem, I had to dig up about 4 inches of dry soil and brown, dead grass (more work than I bargained for !!). I then mixed the newly exposed dirt with peet moss, top soil and organic lawn fertilizer, then I re-seeded with Bermuda Grass seeds. Watering twice a day.

Weeks later, my lawn is only just beginning to look green again... It does takes time, but it will be worth the wait.

Do yourself a favor and Don't Get This Stuff!...it's probably just annual rye!! Stick to the slow growing grass seed, like Bermuda Grass or Centipede if you live in an area that's dry, hot and gets a ton of sun.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 10, 2017
Very brilliant green, thick and soft grass. Grew very fast. Dense and durable. Is withstanding our large dog. Highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2015
The grass seeds is just what they described, after a few days the lawn looked like a new place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here