Hill Climb Racing 2 BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family Now shipping All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 7, 2013
I bought these skates for my 4 year old daughter to learn to roller skate. I didn't buy them for use in a roller rink, but rather on the sidewalk, garage, and driveway. The wheels don't turn fast like regular ball bearing skates, but that is good for a beginner. She wears a size 11 shoe and they are set to that size. Both my husband and I have pushed the button to adjust the size and they don't move. I bought them in February and it is just now warm enough to use them so I can't send them back. I am hoping we can make them larger when necessary. I was wondering if anyone else had this problem? Also, I found the ankle adjustment rather hard to use. The problem is...no instructions come with the skates except that they should be oiled periodically. It doesn't tell you what type of oil to use, but I would imagine I can figure that one out. I wouldn't spend more than $30 on these. The bottom line is they are good beginner skates to be used outside or in an unfinished basement. However, the adjustments on the skates are not very user friendly. If your child can already skate, I would pass on these.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2016
I got these Chicago Girls Adjustable Quad, MD(1J-4J), skates for my niece. She likes outdoor sports however is not ready for roller blades. I got the skates in a size 4 shoe. They fit perfect on her. I like that the over sized composition wheels help with balance when skating. The wheels are very durable and help with semi precision bearings for smooth rolling. The break on the front, is very retro, however useful. The micro rachet buckles help with ankle protection. I like that the skates come with a 30 Day warranty. I did not have to use this warranty. Thus, I am not sure how well it works. The colors of the skate are perfect for any princess. Overall I am pleased with the purchase and it's been hours of fun for my niece and myself. We love to skate together.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
I got these after contemplating between this one and inline skates and not having any luck finding adjustable inline skates that looked halfway decent. I'm glad I got these. The price is good and quality is good despite the few bad reviews. They are comfortable and easy to use for a first timer. My daughter wear size 9.5 shoes and is on the petite side and these fit her fine. She's able to slip her feet in and out without unbuckling and they're still very secure around her ankles for her to skate as someone else also wrote.

I also bought Fisher Price Barbie Grow with me skates for my almost 2 year old so that she doesn't feel left out and surprisingly they also fit my almost 5 yr old fine and she would've been able to use that for a couple years as well, but she said they were more slippery and were harder to use than these. She also liked that these look like "real" skates and not like a toy. She's fallen down plenty even though they don't go very fast, but she loves them and had them on for 4 hrs just on the first day. I think they will last her 3-4 years for my older daughter alone and maybe even for my younger one. I highly recommend them!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2013
I ordered these for my daughter's fifth birthday. When I received them the first thing I noticed was that the decals were flaking off already...still in the box! I decided that was not worth returning them though so I gave them to her. We put them on her and she loved them, then older sister wanted a turn, so we tried to adjust them up and the button was broken, would not adjust. That was worth returning them. 18 days later we get the new pair. My girls are so excited, we pull them out of the box and test the adjust buttons, they work. We put them on and low and behold they sent me two left feet! The girls are so disappointed!!! My daughter still can not use her birthday present. I tried to call to call the customer service, no answer. I will have to return them again. This is ridiculous!!!!!!!!! I would not order from this company, they do not seem to have any quality control.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2013
Got these for my 8year old daughter. She has never really been skating before. She loves that she can make the skates as tight as she wants. It really seems to give her confidence. The hard plastic outside of the skates seems almost indestructible. As others have noted here, I wish the brake was a little more robust. Also, it would be nice if there was a heel brake instead of just the toe. In all I am very happy with this purchase and will probably pick up another couple pairs when my 5 year old twins want to learn to skate.

1/16/16 - Still have these skates. They are still hanging in there. My daughter has used the over the last three years and has them adjusted to the largest size now. I did buy another couple pairs for the twins. I would buy them again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2012
Purchased these as a replacement for my 6 year old daughter's old adjustable skates. Her skates were actually hand me downs from her older sister, and one of the buckles was broken. The Chicago Girl's skates looked perfect, and my 6 year old was super excited when they arrived. Interestingly they are pretty much identical to the Barbie skates we are replacing, which are also adjustable. They are obviously manufactured by the same company, although the buckles on the Chicago Girl's skates are definitely superior. The wheels on the Barbie skates are more rubberized and spin freely, whereas the Chicago Girl's wheels are plastic feeling and don't spin well at all. My daughter gave up on them and went back to the Barbie skates after about 5 minutes. There are reviews on amazon saying others have had the same "no spin" problem and some say their skates are fine. Maybe it's a quality control issue? If you are looking for beginner skates these are great because they are definitely limited roll. We returned this item.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought the J10-J13 size for my 5 year old daughter. She normally wears a size 11 shoe. These skates fit her perfectly and looked very comfortable. The lining is soft and it's nicely padded. They have a clasp closure, which makes getting them on and securing very easy for me. Adjusting the size was a snap, just push the button and the boot elongates.

The online photo does not do these skates justice. They are much prettier in person. It's an excellent buy.
44 comments| 99 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2013
Theres nothing that stood out to me about these skates.
They do work , the fit is decent. but the build quality is not that great. to me it seems like they aren't going to last long. the straps feel weak, and they dont buckle tight enough my little ones ankles. the cusion is thin and when you change the size it looks messy, it no longer fits the skate.

Over all the price was right, they work well enough, but i dont feel as though i recieved a well built item
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
These were a second-choice after the adjustable skates I wanted to buy from another retailer were out of stock with no restock expected. I ended up paying a little more for these than I would have for the others, but I don't feel one bit bad about that now. My daughter has already put a lot of miles on these since Christmas and they are really holding up well to her many crashes, scrapes and collisions. They adjust fairly easily and they fit very securely. The wheels turn smoothly and I like the stability provided by the high top. The padding is nice and thick and dense enough that it doesn't compact into hard lumps like I think the padding of the first-choice product would have. These are quite heavy, though, and she's had a bit of a challenge skating up an incline, but that will resolve with some practice and strength building.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2010
I got these skates for my daughter to replace the toddler skates she grew out of, and she LOVES THEM! I love the fact that they adjust to fit 4 sizes, so she will be able to wear them for a long time. (I got the size 1-4, but she wears a size 13 shoe, and they still fit very well, so we'll get FIVE sizes out of them.) We took them to the skating rink today and she took right off with no problems. The wheels don't spin too freely, so they are easy to control for beginners, but I think they can be loosened later when she gets more confident. Another reviewer was correct however that the stops ARE hard plastic, (which makes no sense) but, As I said, the skates don't go that fast, so it's pretty easy to stop, and if it really bothers you, you can always replace the stops, they're standard size.
My only complaint is that the hardware that adjusts the buckles can get pushed pretty easily, causing the skates to loosen. This did not bother my daughter, but I found myself pushing the band tighter every time she stopped to rest.
All in all, a terrific purchase. The skates look just as pictured, they aren't as heavy as I thought they would be, they go on and off easily, and my daughter says they are very comfortable. She skated for over 2 hours straight (only a few quick water fountain breaks) and was ready to keep going!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 24 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here