Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Tailgating PSFF17_gno Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 2,737 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,918 reviews
on September 24, 2013
edit: WARNING, they have changed sellers on this item. When I bought mine, the seller was "Gimika". As of this edit (March 15, 2014), the most recent reviews still seem positive, so it's probably still okay. But double check to be sure, especially if it's May 2014 or later.

Original review: There are many many wireless receivers on the market, but many of them require you to do surgery to get the drivers installed, as they do not have the correct (Microsoft) USB IDs for the official drivers to recognize them. You have to either edit the driver files, or force-load them, and the whole process is a big pain in the butt.

This offering does it correctly. You just plug it in, and if you're on Win 7 or later, the drivers automatically install, no hassle. If you're on XP, there's a driver disk included. After it's connected and the drivers have installed themselves, you just press the 'introduction' button on both the receiver and the controller, and wham, it's operational. No fuss, no muss, things just work.

I don't know with certainty that this receiver is actually made by Microsoft. It could still be a fake. But, if so, at least it's a *good* fake, coming with the right USB IDs, and a driver disk that certainly looks genuine.

There's no hassle, the price is reasonable, and the seller seems good. If you're going to buy a wireless receiver, this is probably the one you want.
33 comments| 92 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 5, 2016
A lot of people are complaining that its not the actual Microsoft version because of the Japanese writing. and the cut rate packaging. However, I compared to my friends that he got from BestBuy and and EVERYTHING MATCHES UP! this is not an imitation and if it is they should be sued for full on likeness rights. This thing is the real deal, connects my 360 controllers to BOTH my windows 10 desktop and windows 10 gaming laptop. Range is just as good as an actual XBOX 360(roughly 25-30 feet). I didn't even need to software because the second I plugged this in and connected my controllers to it, it automatically recognized the hardware as a Microsoft hardware peripheral.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2013
Official, works perfectly on PC, but has its flaws.
I came on here, saw some fantastic reviews and bought the receiver in a heart beat in order to play games like Dark Souls with ease on my PC. When it came in the mail installed the disc(easy to install), but unlike most of the reviewers here(whom are running on Windows7/8), it did not work.
Let me give a clear warning to potential buyers now, if you're running on Windows Vista, the 'simple' install with the CD WILL NOT work.

If you're a Windows Vista user I highly recommend installing the drivers online instead and then search on youtube for some 'how to' videos as it requires some fiddling in your Device Manager in order to get it to properly work. The device works perfectly as advertised, but is not too friendly with Vista, once I got it up and running though the time spent was well worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 17, 2017
I have two of these -- one for myself and one for my husband. Initially, after switching from console gaming to PC gaming I tried to get the hang of using a keyboard rather than a controller. It worked well for some games, but for a select few I still really wanted to use controllers. This has allowed me to have that without having to use additional programs and at a relatively affordable cost. I really like these receivers and would recommend them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
The item said New on description and box label but when I opened the box the item was clearly used with a big card saying refebished. Was in a plastic bag not sealed. It had directions that said it was to come with a wireless keyboard. The item worked but I'm Very disiponted!
when you buy new it should be New.
review image review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 18, 2017
I don't even have an optical drive for my PC, but luckily for Windows 10 users, all you have to do is plug it in, then follow the easy pairing instructions and you're good to go!

I got this mainly for Forza Horizon 3 (Not as enjoyable on a keyboard). This is perfect, as I don't have to buy an Xbox One. Plus, I get a little extra life out of my Xbox 360 controllers ;)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
This is the second one I have purchased the first one I bought years ago on the day it came out and it still works fine but I wanted to buy a second one because now I have a steam Link in my bedroom and this one work exactly the same as the original however unlike the original this one Blends in better because it's black instead of white
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2017
Works with the XBOX 360 controller on my 2016 Touchbar MacBook Pro, in MacOS, Bootcamp and Parallels (though Parallels is extremely laggy with high intensity graphics games)
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2014
I just got this in the mail today, and it's not what it was supposed to be. First off, it says on the page that it is made by Microsoft. It is not. In the Q&A section, it says it works with windows 8 with no problems, and no extra driver installation. Uh, no sir, it does require extra driver installation. The set-up disc doesn't even open properly on Windows 8. The easiest way for me to explain the problems with this device is to list what I did. So, I got home and my package was waiting for me. I opened it up with excitement. I pull the device out of the wrapping, and I notice it doesn't look like the picture. I am very upset, as I believed I ordered an official Microsoft product, but I didn't get an official product (turns out I didn't buy an official product, as this is not one). I decide it's not worth the headache to return it as long as it works, so I go to my computer to try it out. The disc won't open the set-up wizard, so I plug it in, it says it's installing drivers. Alright, cool, time to connect my controller. My controller won't connect. I figure I probably have to reset my PC, so I do. Still nothing. So I google the problem. Lots of people having this problem, but no one has a solution. I keep looking and finally find the solution. I have to FORCE install drivers from Microsoft's website onto the device. Let me say that again. The product I bought that said it work perfect with Windows 8 had to have drivers FORCEFULLY installed on it. That's ridiculous. This product is a lie through and through. The ONLY reason it's getting two stars is because it actually works if you put the effort in. But considering the lies, I would recommend buying the actual Microsoft brand. The link below should be the right one, and as of now, it's $5 cheaper than this knock off.

http://www.amazon.com/ORIGINAL-MICROSOFT-WIRELESS-RECEIVER-CONTROLLER-Windows/dp/B00H2PUQW8/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&qid=1404184294&sr=8-15&keywords=microsoft+360+wireless+receiver
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2015
If you sort reviews by date, you may see this.

Purchased for a budget "Steam Machine" build using win 10. Device was plug n play. I did not use the drivers on the supplied disc. When plugging in the device, there were no usual USB detection and driver loading info pop-ups, but after hitting the power button on the controller, both devices appeared in the settings/devices menu.

I also purchased the Steam controller companion and it worked well. I also have the Steam controller, and both can be active at the same time, out of game in big picture node. The game you select seems to default to the controller used to enter the game, but I have only tested 3 games in this manner. Two of these games, however, show no controller support in Steam, but it seems to be there anyway, including the proper tutorial hints for controller use.

The only drawback is the packaging if this was purchased as a gift. It would be inappropriate for some as it comes humbly bound in plastic. No boxing etc. Looks counterfeit. But plug and play on Win 10 , and works with Steam flawlessly while cohabitating with the Steam controller (and mouse at times)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse