Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Limited time offer Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members Star Wars movies on sale for Prime members  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on November 18, 2013
Official, works perfectly on PC, but has its flaws.
I came on here, saw some fantastic reviews and bought the receiver in a heart beat in order to play games like Dark Souls with ease on my PC. When it came in the mail installed the disc(easy to install), but unlike most of the reviewers here(whom are running on Windows7/8), it did not work.
Let me give a clear warning to potential buyers now, if you're running on Windows Vista, the 'simple' install with the CD WILL NOT work.

If you're a Windows Vista user I highly recommend installing the drivers online instead and then search on youtube for some 'how to' videos as it requires some fiddling in your Device Manager in order to get it to properly work. The device works perfectly as advertised, but is not too friendly with Vista, once I got it up and running though the time spent was well worth it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2017
Just plug and play on Windows 10 on a Surface Pro 4, no drivers installed. After pairing the controllers the first time they are recognized every time, just like using an Xbox 360. I occasionally have an issue where my Xbox One bluetooth controller seems to get inputs from one of the 360 controllers at the same time, but I don't know if that is an issue with this receiver or just Windows getting confused between the bluetooth and the receiver. Restarting the game seems to make it go away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I have two of these -- one for myself and one for my husband. Initially, after switching from console gaming to PC gaming I tried to get the hang of using a keyboard rather than a controller. It worked well for some games, but for a select few I still really wanted to use controllers. This has allowed me to have that without having to use additional programs and at a relatively affordable cost. I really like these receivers and would recommend them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 5, 2017
This is the second one I have purchased the first one I bought years ago on the day it came out and it still works fine but I wanted to buy a second one because now I have a steam Link in my bedroom and this one work exactly the same as the original however unlike the original this one Blends in better because it's black instead of white
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 8, 2014
I wanted to use my 360 controller to play Games on my Steam account on my Laptop. I have a 17 inch Asus G74 ROG. As soon as I got the product, I inserted the CD it came with to install all the software. You can find all the downloads you need without the CD online, but the CD makes it easy for complete noobs. Anyway, I easily installed everything with the CD and then plugged in the receiver to my laptop via USB connection. I then synced my 360 controller by clicking the button on the receiver and then clicking on the sync button on the controller (the sync button isn't the same as the big xbox button on the center of the controller). After that, assuming you are familiar with how 360 controllers work, you should be able to have everything working after that easily. If you happen to be "new" to doing things like this, it doesn't matter because the receiver comes with a mini instruction manual.

*note: you don't have to keep syncing the controller after the first time you do it. After the first time, you just have to press the big xbox button on the center of the controller to connect.

I've been using this receiver for a while now, and it still works like new. I have also connected multiple controllers in order to play co-op with friends, so that's great. You can connect up to 4 controllers, so just like on a normal xbox 360.

This product works, is easy to use, and durable. The only problems I assume people will encounter is maybe if you have a different Operating System (OS) besides windows 7. Apparently people had issues with the receiver on Vista and XP, but seriously, if you are still using Vista by now, just kill yourself, or catch up to the rest of mankind. There are ways to make the receiver work on Vista and such, but it takes longer. You can find instructions for that either somewhere among these reviews, or anywhere on Google.

I love this receiver. Now I can play steam games with a controller with no problem.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 20, 2017
I love this product!!! I love being able to use my pink Xbox 360 controller with my computer for gaming!! I was not huge on playing most games on the PC prior to this. I mainly like to play shooter ish games like Halo and such.. I did love the Assassin's Creed games as well. It functions well with no issues for many hours of gaming. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that likes their Xbox controller but wants to play on PC!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 2, 2014
I picked this up to be able to do some PC Gaming on my 50 inch Plasma by using my wireless xbox 360 controller connected to my gaming rig/desktop that is running Windows 8.1...

Appears to be O.E.M. product from Microsoft..

It comes with some paper work, with basic install guide and a driver CD which you can most likely just toss away.

The receiver has worked flawlessly from about 20 feet away, for my particular setup..

Basically you just plug it into an available USB 2.0 port on the back or front panel of your desktop, Windows should automatically install drivers and recognize the unit. Once plugged in and recognized there is a green light that should glow on the top of receiver to let you know it is on.

Now thanks to the way I have my setup of my room, when in the mood, I can sit back and chill on my sofa which is about 20 feet away from the receiver, and play some of my PC games on my plasma..

Gotta Love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 15, 2017
Got this to use my wireless Xbox 360 controller with my computer. Setup was simple and the product works as described. Decent value as well to enable long-distance playing from your computer and not be restricted by the length of a wired controller. I'd recommend this product. Blessings!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 11, 2015
Biggest question with wireless devices is the range. Essentially everything is limited to 30ft (sometimes 33ft), but there can still be varying degrees of performance within that range... its not uncommon to see issues.

I was concerned because my media center/gaming PC is stationed in one room, with the display & audio (TV, AVR, 5.1 audio) in the other room (maybe 15 feet from couch to PC). Both the PC and entertainment center are up against the same wall, just in different rooms, meaning that the PC is *directly* behind the TV and AVR. So there is a wall, plenty of metal, and powered electronics right in the way of this receiver. You would not expect this to work.

So with that in mind.... while this was in route to my apartment, I went and tested some RF stuff I had laying around to get a better idea of what to expect.

1. First I tried my Macbook Pro from work with its Bluetooth mouse (probably not the newer Bluetooth spec). Terrible results, in fact its almost not even a good test because I could barely get it to work 10 feet away in the same room with no objects in the way.... using full batteries.

2. Next I tried my Logitech wireless mouse (non-Bluetooth) with the receiver plugged into my PC. This worked better and was usable anywhere in the same room with no missed clicks, but I only got about 25% hit rate while on my couch in the other room.

Not looking so good for this receiver, I thought.

However, when it arrived I was pleasantly surprised. It works anywhere so I've just tossed it behind my PC and I don't have to worry about it. It's not laggy and no input gets lost, unlike my other RF devices which failed that test pretty hard. Keep in mind this is only about 15 feet distance ... albeit with drastic obstructions.

Final thoughts.... Make sure you're using a good powered USB 2.0 port on your motherboard.... sometimes I wonder if people are having problems because its not getting enough power, or are trying to use USB 3.0. Use a port out the back of your motherboard rather than a front port.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 13, 2017
The only dislike I have about this product is that: I either failed to read the details and to understand that this product comes with software that one must download through a CD/DVD disc, or that the seller failed to make this fact known that this piece of equipment is not a plug and chug download drivers only. Other then that it works and does what it is suppose to. I am satisfied with this product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse