Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 407 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,395 reviews
on January 29, 2017
I have read this novel a couple of times now and each time it is more rich. It is very long, but there aren't any parts that ever feel like filler, to me. It is an interesting reexamination of a classic branch of mythology, and a from a different point of view. The novel is from the perspectives of the female cast members: Morgaine, Gwenhyfar, Igraine, and Viviane, called the lady of the lake as the leader of the priestesses of the Goddess on the island of Avalon. As such, there is a strong dialogue about the role of women in the time in which the drama unfolds, and an interesting comparison to some earlier civilizations whose primary deities were female. These elements: the role of women in society, particularly in relation to the position of prevailing religious beliefs, and gender roles loom larger than the development of the core story with which most people are familiar. For some, this may be a detriment but I find it is the true merit of the novel and makes the fundamental material on which it is based more interesting.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2015
I’ve always been a sucker for King Arthur. In between my Robin Hood phases as a kid, I went through reams of stories about Camelot. And in college, I happily hiked around the ruins of Tintagel in Cornwall (supposedly the place of Arthur’s birth). But Marion Zimmer Bradley’s The Mists of Avalon was something new for me: the King Arthur legend from the perspectives of important women in his life, namely Igraine, his mother; Viviane, his eldest aunt; Morgause, his youngest aunt; Gwenhwyfar (a.k.a. Guinevere), his wife; and Morgaine (a.k.a. Morgana), his half-sister.

Morgaine is the main protagonist. And unlike in most retellings, she’s not an evil sorceress. Instead, she’s an initiate of Avalon, a mythical island that’s home to a sect of Goddess worshippers trying to stave off Christianity’s growing influence over Britain. Bradley includes the familiar love triangle between Arthur, Gwenhwyfar, and Lancelet (a.k.a. Lancelot), but the contest of religions is the core struggle in The Mists of Avalon. Viviane, Lady of Avalon when the story begins, places Arthur on the throne so that he may serve his Christian and non-Christian subjects alike. But Gwenhwyfar convinces him to become ever more Christian, and Viviane and Morgaine consider this conversion a betrayal of the oaths he swore to win the crown. In the years that follow, Avalon sets itself against Camelot and grows intolerant in kind.

Not everyone is as narrow-minded about religion, however. Morgause has little use for gods or goddesses, while the druidic Merlins (plural, in this version) believe all deities are one. Such a diversity of viewpoints is also present in how Bradley portrays the different spheres of influence available to women in her historical fantasy of early Britain. In Avalon, Morgaine and Viviane lead a matriarchal society. In the North, Morgause defies convention and rules as a queen who takes lovers as she wills. But in the South, Igraine and Gwenhwyfar (mostly) accept their priests’ advisements that they should be content to stay in their castles and make children and clothing for their husbands.

The overall story is more philosophical than I’m used to for a tale of King Arthur. It’s also slower; The Mists of Avalon spans generations and glosses over the usual knightly contests and heroic deeds. But if you want a Camelot that makes you think, Bradley’s seminal work is worth a read.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2016
Complicated characters with so much depth it was overwhelming to keep up. This is meant for women. We get little to no POV from males. It is all about the female characters from Arthurian tales such as gwenifere, morgane, ingrid, vivian, ect. This is my favorite version of Arthur because it is so deep. Every female has her own POV moments throughout the book so you are getting like 7 stories that intertwine constantly. There is sibling incest that just blew my mind but in the end made total sense. It took me a while to finish this because it is a very llong book. But not at all dissapointed.
We read about gwenivere having trouble conceiving so we learn about women who can nto have children. We read about Vivian who carries weight on her shoulders to be the ultimate leader. We hear about Ingrid getting married before she was ready and finding herself in an affair before her husband died. There is lust, friends with benefits, guilt, cougars, and more.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2017
I am a voracious book reader. Almost to the point of obsession. I have thousands, in all different genres and formats. This book is in my top 5 all time favorite books ever, which says a lot!! Do yourself a favor though and get a hardcover copy, it add to the experience. :-D

For my review, I won't get into the actual story line or historic facts VS. mythology and fiction (many reviewers have already gone that route). I want to express my overall impressions of this book, because the feelings this book evoked caused 10+ rereads!

The writing in this book is incredible. It sucks you right into the time period and character's minds. You really feel you're there with them experiencing everything. There is historical accuracy mixed in with fiction, little elements like clothing and food that are woven throughout the story in a way that's not tedious to read, but adds to the feel of the book. It's like stepping into a time machine. The interpersonal relationships are masterful and you really become part of the story. When you think of King Arthur myths, this is the type of story you envision. One that makes you question your beliefs about magic, mystery, and humanity -- that in my mind is perfect historical fiction. The author poured her heart and soul into this book, and it shows on every single page.

Bottom line, it's not a book ... it's an experience.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is one of my favorite books. I've just read it for a second time and it's like Ms. Bradley actually lived during that magical time. Mists is on par with Lord of the Rings for me, full of plot twists, romance, intrigue and of course, heartbreak and longing. It's the story of Avalon, the magical island where the women who serve the Goddess lived before it disappeared into the mists forever. In that aspect, Mists tells the story of the middle-earth, or the time before now when there was still magic(spirit) in the world, before the darkest age(iron-age) which we live in now.

The is the story of Arthur and his half-sister, and Vivian the representative of the Goddess and the one who pulls all of the strings of people's lives. The reason I read this book over is because I'd read some books that said that Arthur was really the story of King Jesus, a story that had to be suppressed so the names were changed. The 12 knights of the round table were the disciples. The code of chivalry was the honoring of the Goddess.

The Mist of Avalon is a rich and satisfying novel that spans nearly a thousand pages and generations of lives. One of the best books I've ever read.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2017
I continued to read much further than I would normally do with a book that didn't capture me. I won't say the entire book was bad, and there were parts that were actually interesting, I'm just very disappointed. I've wanted to read this for years.

First off, the time line is rather difficult to follow. It jumps ahead so quickly and frequently that it becomes nearly impossible to keep track. The hatred and vitriol that rolls off of Gwenhwyfar (don't get me started on some of the name spellings). Judging Morgaine and finding ways in which to blame everyone but herself for the bad things she does. Really all the women are whiny little children that are stomping their feet because they don't get their way. Stabbing one another in the back almost ceaselessly.

I made it about halfway through the fourth "book" before I just finally couldn't take it anymore. And that was with a break to read another book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Wow. This is the first of Bradley's works I've read. I came upon it mentioned by Prof Dorsey Armstrong in her Great Courses "King Arthur" course, which I also recommend. It is a massive book (I read the Kindle issue), likely comparable to the full Lord of the Rings trilogy.
Imagine if Saruman the White had been the major character in LoTR, complete with loves, beliefs, mistakes and triumphs. Morgan le Fay is that character in The Mists of Avalon, though a redeemed and lovable heroine at the book's end.
MANY, many liberties are taken with the more or less traditional "The Once and Future King" story, but because so much of what we understand about King Arthur is embellished over 15 centuries of poetic license, I suppose the author must be forgiven; and it's a dang fine tale she tells. You better learn to put it down or else skip work or school for a week and keep the espresso coming.
There are two things I liked phenomenally about this book. First is the interplay of the incoming Christian faith (I'm a reborn Catholic) and the Celtic or Druidic faith that it was slowly replacing. I'm uneducated about the realities of Celtic or Druidic beliefs, so I can't address the likelihood of the author's presentation. Ms. le Fay is of the old beliefs and a priestess of Avalon. A nicely believable story weaves the impregnation of Mordred to le Fay by her half-brother, Arthur. It was part of an old-believers ritual for king-making, and neither Morgan nor Arthur knew what was up until it was over. The views of le Fay about the incoming Christianity develop beautifully during the book. At first the warts, superstitions, and darkness of Christianity are all she sees. It makes me want to find a history of religion for the 1st thru 6th century in Britain. Repeated about 30 times in the book is "all Gods are one". (Check out my article, "The Lord is One" at dandelionsarefree.wordpress.com, which I wrote years before reading this book.)
The contrast I took away from Bradley's portrayal of the 2 belief systems was that while Avalon adhered to a "natural law" (such that natural sexual attraction and its follow-thru was not a sin, nor a lot of other things), vows to the Goddess and faithfulness to that world view were things that MUST not be broken, and there was no forgiveness. The late 5th century Christianity painted a whole bunch of things as sinful, but forgiveness was always available. Reminds me of a dating a girl taught by nuns at Catholic high school ... real life. Avalon had hardly any concept of grace and personal improvement was only earned, likely thru successive improved lives one might live. Justification by faith seemed to them non-sensical because it appeared to easy.
The other thing I liked most about the book is its ability to place me in the geography of the time. I've never been to the UK, and certainly have little idea of things like Glastonbury or Tintagel. Digging a little into other sources of the history of the area shows that the author could not have been very far off at all.
I see she's written a bunch of other Avalon books. I'll give at least one more a shot, but not right away. As in the case Orson Scott Card, you can only ride the same horse so long before it's become skin and bones.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
I just reread The mists of Avalon. Even though it is not that old it is a classic. I would consider it historical fiction, as are all of Bradley's Avalon series. Mystical imaginings are set in a historic context. In Mists most of the characters are from the King Arthur legends set in the Britain being taken over by Christianity. The once persecuted become the persecutors. It is not for the squeamish. There are intrigue and murder a plenty. The characters are very complex and even when they do evil it is hard to blame them completely after the tortured lives they lived. There are not many stories told from a woman's point of view. This has many women as antagonist and protagonist. The women in this epic tale do not apologize for being strong, smart, powerful. It is wonderful and somewhat heartbreaking to know what turmoil follows this story. I have read many of the prequels and all are good but none as epic.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2017
This is absolutely the BEST novel about King Authur, his knights, Merlin, and his era. It is mostly told from the viewpoint of the women in his life, his mother, Igraine; Viviane, the Lady of the Lake; his sister, Morgaine; and Gwenhwyfar, his wife. It's an engrossing novel, very well written, and the characters seem real throughout. The conflict between the Old Religion and Christianity, the plottings among the various kings and queens, and the invasions of England by the Saxons, give the legend a historical feel. The story starts just before Authur's conception and ends with his death. It is 876 pages that immerse the reader in a fascinating tale beautifully written and masterfully plotted. An excellent read!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2017
I'm not quite sure what to make of this book. On the one hand, Bradley takes the famous Arthurian legend and flips it upside down into a female-centric tale of women and their struggles during the times of sorcery and kingdoms. And these characters are fascinating, especially Morgaine, a Priestess of Avalon. Whenever the story followed her life, I was mesmerized or, shall I say, bewitched?! But when Arthur's weak wife Gwenhyfar takes center stage, I found her extreme piety and devout Christianity to be so off-putting that I could hardly get through her chapters. I get it - the author really wanted to put down Christianity and take up the mantle of paganism. Yet the story lagged and dragged without the fire of Morgaine's witchery.

I won't be reading the next two books in the series, and since this one is considered a masterpiece anyway, there's no need. However, I heard through a friend that there's an '80s miniseries starring Angelica Huston as Morgaine and that quite lights my fancy! I'll have to check that out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$15.33

Need customer service? Click here