Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Fall Reading Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch $5 Digital Albums PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 630 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 857 reviews
on September 13, 2017
For 20+ years I've been going to a stylist for $65 haircuts. This was the best way I could get a haircut of good quality. To save money over the past 3 or 4 years I've downgraded to shops like Sport Clips, Hair Masters, and even local barbers and these all charge $25 to $30, which would be fine, except getting a decent (never mind good) haircut is a hit and miss proposition at best. Too many times I'd get home and wash my hair only to then find out what a bad cut I got. Occasionally, I'd get an okay or even a good cut but the next time around that person wasn't employed there anymore.
So it's a $65 fleecing or a $25 mystery cut... I did some digging around and came across the Flowbee, but it was expensive at $130 so I rigged up my old Wahl Electric Trimmer to my vacuum and gingerly "went to town." My DIY cut actually came out okay, better than the $25 cuts for sure. But it was a hassle and the vacuum only sort-of worked leaving me with a hair mess to clean up. Since that DIY cut was mostly successful I got the extra confidence I needed to spend the $130 on the Flowbee. Previously I was getting more and more interested in the Flowbee after watching many YouTube posts of user demos.
My first cut with the Flowbee went very well, I was extra careful and I took my time and haircut came out great. What I found out on my next Flowbee haircut was that I didn't need to be overly concerned about doing something wrong, the Flowbee "system" really is simple to use and the product's design kept me from making any mistakes.
I did buy a Norelco Multigroom MG3750 to trim around my ears and detail my neck area, a very good purchase. My old Wahl Trimmer was just too clunky and difficult to use.
It's really easy to a great haircut with the Flowbee!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2015
I love the Flowbee Haircutting system. The only possible con is that the plastic attachments don't seem to be as solid as I'd like to see them. However I have seen extra attachments available at the Flowbee web site should I need them. I viewed a video about the cutting system that showed a man cutting a path right across he top of his head, maybe to discourage customers. Well he obviously was not doing what he was suppose to be doing! The movement should be up and down, NOT push it across your head like you would pushing a clipper. I recommend searching the internet for a video of the Flowbee in use. I especially like the video of a mother cutting her 13 year old sons hair. Wouldn't recommend using on a small child as just the vacuum noise likely to scare the little fellow! I am 76 year old female who will use the Flowbee as long as I can lift up my arms. Icut my hair 4 times now as my hair grows fast I like the trimmed look. Note: Be sure your vacuum cleaner hose can accept your Flowbee hose adapter.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 30, 2014
I've used the Flowbee for almost 20 years now. It's saved me money and more importantly time; I don't have to travel and then wait to get a haircut. I started using the Flowbee after getting so many bad haircuts; I decided I could at least do just as bad a job and save the money. After using it a while you get better and better at it and no one can tell that I cut my hair myself. My 15 year old likes it as well which is saying a lot because what 15 year old isn't focused on how their hair looks? I'll be using a Flowbee forever. The only time I'll be paying some one to cut my hair is when I travel to Malaysia and go to an Indian barber; good price and the best barbers in the world.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 23, 2017
I would give it 11 stars out of 5 if I could. It is so much better than going to a barber. My first flowbee lasted about ten years, and when it quit working I immediately bought another. I haven't had a bad haircut in 12 years. If you're a sissy-boy and need a stylist and highlights, look elsewhere, but if you're a man who wants a simple, normal-looking, manageable haircut, this is for you. So without further ado, here's my TOP TEN REASONS YOU SHOULD USE A FLOWBEE:
1. It's easy. Like, I think a monkey could do it. It might have to be a smart, trained monkey, with some sense of style, but I think a monkey could do it.
2. It's repeatable. Give yourself the same haircut with almost no variation. Just learn which of the spacers/attachments you use, and that's it.
3. It's clean. It doesn't leave hair all over the place, inside your shirt and in your ears, itching and begging for a shower as soon as you're done. It goes into the shopvac.
4. It's fast. I can give myself a haircut in under 10 minutes, without rushing.
5. It's nearby. I don't have to go anywhere. I go downstairs to the half-bath where I keep it. The shopvac stays plugged into the wall. I hook up the Flowbee and go.
6. There is no waiting. No lines. No delays. No five guys in front of you. And no appointments.
7. It's never closed. I can give myself a haircut at midnight on a holiday if I want.
8. It is an investment that gives a predictable monetary return. I give myself a haircut every 2 weeks, whereas with $10-$15 at the barber I would wait until my hair was getting too long, because I didn't want to fork out the cash. Your initial investment of around $100 is returned in a few months, and after that, you're saving... well if it last ten years, and you figure one $10 haircut a month ($120 per year) over ten years, that's $1200 minus the $100 investment. $1100. Cha-ching.
9. It doesn't talk. I got so sick of listening to the barber tell me his same stupid stories and political opinions over and over. And I'm paying for this? Shut up and cut my hair.
10. No more bad haircuts! No oopses. No mistakes. No misunderstandings. It's cut the way I want EVERY time.
11. It's DIY. If you're a man, you like DIY. And yes, this top ten list goes all the way to eleven. Because, you know. Rock on.
0Comment| 60 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2013
People laugh when I tell them that my husband uses a Flowbee to cut his hair. However, after 15 years of using this product, we are the ones that are laughing at others spending money at the barbershop. I used to cut my husbands wavy hair by hand, but got tired of the pressure to make sure it was even. So he ordered the first Flowbee, found that it was amazingly fast and easy. Finally, after fifteen years, the blades got dull and we had to replace it. I had hoped that the price had reduced in the interim, but alas, it was still relatively pricey. Still, we were glad it was on the market and we hope to be able to find another one in another fifteen years if my hubby still has hair.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2014
Used this for years and when my original Flowbee finally died out, got the new, improved version. Great for cutting shorter men's hair (myself and my son's). Saved a lot of money in haircuts over the past years. The vacuum that I connected the Flowbee to makes it a little loud when cutting near the ears so I use foam like ear plugs on myself and my son when cutting around the ears to muffle the sound. I don't fully insert the ear plugs, just kind of smoosh them with one finger into the ear opening until I finish cutting around the ear. Probably one of the best things I have ever spent money on. A friend has the Aircut (which is like a mini Flowbee, not to be confused with the Air Cutter) and really likes it but says it stopped working after a few years and he had to buy another one.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
We purchased this Flowbee to save money on grooming our dogs. We have a shihtzu and a long haired German Shepherd/ Chow mix. It evenly cuts their hair and does not create a mess. My husband uses it on his own hair and it looks amazing. I can't tell the difference between his Flowbee cut and his stylist cuts. This product will save you money in the long run! We paid $130 monthly on the dog grooming bill and my husband's cuts were $30 every 4-5 weeks. It has already paid for itself!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2014
I have a Shark Rocket vacuum which I love. The Flowbee needs a vacuum. The Shark Rocket works just fine with the Flowbee. I watched the instruction video on youtube twice and 2 other user videos. The Flowbee hose does not have a swivel so it becomes twisted. It is heavy. I use 2 hands to do the back. You are not limited to the bathroom to cut your hair. All the hair goes in the vacuum. There are plenty of spacers. Because I cut my own hair with scissors this first Flowbee cut was more to even things out. I will take off the smallest spacer for my next hair cut. The Flowbee takes off the tiniest little bit. Not the giant beautician in a hurry chop. I am very happy with my first try.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2015
I have gotten a string of bad haircuts the last few years. I go from Salon to Salon and never like the result. This last haircut was the worst yet. I had enough. So I searched for another way.
Flowbee quickly came up in the web searches. I laughed and blew it off. But my search kept circling back to Flowbee and its competitors. So I ordered one.
Three days later it's on my doorstep. The wife rolled her eyes but I was happy to try this thing. I watched a few Flowbee videos on youtube and read the booklet. Five days after one of the worse haircuts of my life I Tried to see if Flowbee could fix it. I was Pleasantly Surprised. Flowbee got all the unevenness out and I had one of the best-shaped haircuts I have had in years. It wasn't hard and didn't take too long either. The wife had to even up the back a bit with scissors and I was done. She was so impressed she wants me to order more spacers so she can cut her hair.
I may update this review later if need be.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
I replaced our old flowbee that we had used for over 10 years. At first I was pleasantly surprised at how light the newer version was and how much smaller the wall adapter was. However after a few haircuts I realized that the motor is much weaker than the original one. As a matter of fact my wife noticed that it takes at least twice as long to cut our kids' hair. Overall it still does the job but you have to be patient and work slowly. Also, the plastic spacers are cheap and flimsy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse