Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: SE BT20 Battery Tester
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Tall Heights Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Price:$6.36+ Free shipping (Addon item)
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon September 3, 2009
This review is for the SE BT20 battery tester, which is a good, low cost, easy to use tester, that provides basic information about the condition of a battery. The tester has three ranges, `Good' (green), Low (yellow), and `Replace' (red). The sliding red contact is adjusted manually.

The tester is designed to work with various types of 1.5 volt batteries (AAA, AA, C, D, disc or button type). Do not try testing a battery of a higher voltage, as you may fry a resistor, blow a fuse, or otherwise damage the tester. There is a separate set of contacts for testing 9 volt batteries.

To precisely measure a battery's actual output, a voltmeter would be used. A tester like the BT20 only provides a rough idea of battery strength. A new 1.5 volt, non-rechargeable battery, delivering the full 1.5 volts, should read at the top end of the green scale. Rechargeable batteries (AA, AAA, C and D size) are designed to produce only 1.2 volts at full output. Because this is 80 percent of the 1.5 volt maximum the tester is rated for, a NiMH battery will normally read somewhere in the middle of the green section. This may lead some to believe that the battery is `weak', when it is actually at its full rated power. While a lower reading is normal for a NiMH battery, a 1.5 volt non-rechargeable battery with the same reading, is actually down about 20 percent from full voltage, and may not have that much useful life left. Rechargeable 9 volt batteries are rated at only 7.2 volts, and would similarly produce lower readings, even at full power.

If you want a basic tester for 1.5 volt batteries, this is a good choice. If you need more precision, look at a voltmeter or multimeter.
1313 comments| 181 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2008
Very handy. Works on all popular battery sizes. Great way to determine strength of batteries that have been lying around the house for a long time. I have also tested batteries that I use in devices that take multiple batteries and can quickly determine if one or all of them need to be replaced. There are similar products on the market that likely work as well. This was one of the least expensive, is easy to use, seems durable and does the job.
11 comment| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2008
This inexpensive device ships FREE! It does exactly what you want a battery tester to do - tell you if a battery is good or bad. No need to interpret a multimeter or fiddle with electrodes. The needle bounces to "good" or "replace." Easy. I don't know what these people need rubber bands for (other reviews). It takes one second to make contact with the battery and read the meter. There is no need to hold it in for more than a split second. You just push the slider to the battery with your thumb and your done. Easy, cheep, and accurate.
0Comment| 75 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2010
Universal Battery Tester for Energizer Duracell Battery, Analyze AA AAA C D 9V and Button Type Cell Batteries for Lithium Alkaline or Rechargable Type

This is the easiest way to check the state of charge of a small battery. You don't need to find your voltmeter, leads and hope the voltmeter batteries are good. Just insert the battery between the two contacts on the side of this tester and it will show you if it is good. AAA through D and nine volt batteries are easy to place between the contacts. The red contact is for the positive side of the battery being tested. The tester has no batteries to go dead and replace because it uses the power from the battery it is testing to get the state of charge reading. I keep mine with my replacement batteries so I always know where it is. I just find this tester more convenient to use than a voltmeter for checking a battery. Holding voltmeter leads to each terminal of a battery and reading the meter requires two hands and placing the voltmeter where you can read it.
0Comment| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2009
I'm rarely inspired to write a review, but this inexpensive little piece of plastic has improved the quality of my life. No more swapping out batteries with working flashlights or Wii controllers or whatnot to see if they're truly dead. And I've developed a nice green system around it: all batteries that flunk the test are put into a bag that periodically gets emptied at a battery recycling collection spot.

One more thing... FindingKing promised a fast delivery date and the package arrived even sooner than that. And shipping was free. Well done!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 28, 2010
We were tired of having dozens of batteries laying around the house and not knowing if they were any good or not. So, we found this on-line for a minimal amount and it works just as advertised. It's easy to use and very accurate. Great buy for the price!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2009
This is a very good product. I would agree that it feels a bit flimsy, but it works and hasn't fallen apart. It's also fairly effective at matching battery strenghts for applications that require more than one battery.

The only critical comment I have is interpreting what is a good vs. bad battery. For example, a battery that does not work well in a flashlight (heavy load on battery) may work well in a wall clock(light load). So, before you toss out a battery because it measures in the red area of the scale, test it in a clock, or similar device.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2009
Bought this tester because we have a camera that seems to chew up batteries (Nikon P50). Also, have learned that rechargeable batteries discharge even on the shelf. We use the tester to check batteries before putting in the camera and after taking them out when the camera says it needs new batteries. From this practice we have learned where the critical points are on the scale and don't pay attention to the green and red areas. We dont' see a need for a more sophisticated tester.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 14, 2011
This battery tester will give an "optimistic" indication of a battery's condition. The transition between the green and yellow zones on the meter corresponds to 1.0 Volts at a load current of 250 mA.

The transition between the yellow and red zones is 0.9 Volts at a load current of 225 mA. When this tester indicates a battery is in the "replace" zone, it's REALLY DEAD, and the yellow "low" zone means REALLY WEAK and probably not usable.

A new alkaline cell will read full-scale at a voltage of 1.55 volts and a load current of 387 mA.

Most AAA and AA battery operated equipment (radios, cameras, remote controls, etc.) will function down to a voltage of around 1.15 to 1.20 Volts and then will quit.

The tester itself is reasonably well made. The only issue I have is the choice of the voltages for the green yellow and red band markings on the meter. Having the yellow band set to between 1.1 and 1.2 volts would probably have been more meaningful for most users.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 1, 2010
A small load needs to be applied to the battery to test it, this doesn't appear to have one. As an acid test I checked the 9V batteries that were making the smoke alarms low battery beep, all showed in the green.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here