Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts STEM Shop Popular Services siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 31 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 77 reviews
on July 16, 2008
Very good product. The things I like best about this product are:
1. You don't have to charge the watch, like some other models
2. It isn't bulky, like some other models
3. The foot pod is great for measuring speed, cadence, and distance

The only cons I have are that the telemetry strap is not compatible with cardio machines in a gym that have heart rate monitors built into them (so you always have to bring the watch with you), and the software for viewing your comleted workouts is pretty bare bones. I am willing to bet that Garmin will roll out software upgrades in the future though.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2009
The ANT never worked and the watch stopped detecting my heartrate after 3 months. I replaced the batteries in both the watch and the chest strap and it still won't detect my heartbeat. The Garmin techs said to let it rest before replacing the battery (!), but that didn't work either. They weren't much interested in helping me after that. Complete waste of money.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2010
I can't imagine why you'd buy a $300+ digital device and not get the tool needed to get the input into your computer, where it can be stored so you don't have to write out everything in a notebook.

I WILL say that the ANT stick already came included in the Garmin 405cx that I ordered. Strangely, the company selling it was offering a promo for a free ANT stick with the Garmin purchase, so when I realized I had two, I sent the free one back and got a "courtesy refund" of $20, which was fair enough.

But anyway, if you get a Garmin product that supports the ANT interface, get it! As long as you have a PC, you'll be glad you have the ANT. Just plug in the ANT into any USB port, put the Garmin device near it, and they automatically talk to each other and download your exercise stats in the background. It's easy and awesome.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 4, 2009
I have this and the Forerunner 405 with GPS. To be honest, I bought this solely for the foot pod - purchasing this watch was only $10 more than buying the foot pod alone, which makes the Forerunner 50 a great deal. It also comes with an ANT+ stick ($40 from Garmin) and a heart rate monitor ($50 from Garmin). If you lose anything from one of the more expensive watches, it makes more sense to buy one of these. That said, to the review, and comparisons with the 405.

Pros of the Forerunner 50:
- No need to charge it! It runs on a normal watch battery, and appears to have a very long life.
- Pretty accurate once the foot pod is calibrated. Over a 6 mile run, it is within 2/10 of a mile. Not as accurate as the GPS watches, but still, if you want to measure yourself, this is a great way to do it.
- Slim design and easy to use. You can wear it with normal clothes and not look completely out of place, like with the MUCH larger GPS enabled models.
- Garmin connect software is pretty great. I can pop all my runs up, compare times, cadence, distance, and heart rate. For $100, this is a great feature.

Cons:
- No way to map out where you've run to track hills and such. Not that big of a deal.
- Have to calibrate it the first time - but seriously - 1 mile and it was calibrated. NOT a big deal.

In all, unless you're very serious about running and want to map everything out, this watch does 90% of what the more expensive GPS watches do at a fraction of the price. I love my 405, but won't slight this simpler model one bit.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2008
If you need a training watch that measures heart rate, distance, pace, calories, and is inexpensive this is it. The chest strap and foot pod come pre-synched and work great right out of the box. The foot pod's measurement was right on with my car's odometer during my first 8.5 mile run. The watch is easy to use and looks like a watch. A solid 5 stars, way to go Garmin!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 24, 2009
This is my second "speed and distance" watch.
I had used Timex Trail Runner before.
Trail Runner is GPS-based, while Forerunner 50 is foot pod-based.
As a watch Trail Runner is better.
GPS worked flawlessly for me, both on road and on forest trails.
It did not require any calibration and 3-line display was more useful on the run.
Forerunner has 2-line display, and the foot pod requires different calibration numbers for road and trail.
That being said...
When I "ended" my Trail Runner, I didn't get another one.
Forerunner is 2-3 times cheaper and because of that I decided that I can live with the 2-line display
and change calibration numbers depending on where I run.
Moreover Forerunner has 3 advantages over Trail Runner:
1. It collects all the data in the watch itself and you don't need (expensive)
data collection unit (like with Trail Runner).
2. Free software from Garmin (Garmin Training Center) and Garmin Connect website are great products
with well rounded features and user interface.
3. If you ride a bike, you can purchase little wheel sensor (also wireless) that will send speed
and cadence data to the watch as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2009
I wanted to purchase a basic sports watch to measure distance. After looking into different models I found the Forerunner 50. It was within my price range. It took a little time figuring out how to work it and I couldn't get the foot pod to pair with the unit. I contacted support through email and they replied the next day. I followed the instructions they gave me and ended up replacing the battery. The battery is common and easy to find. Once I did that, it worked great. I have only used it a few times running on the treadmill. The distance between the two is off 0.4 miles. My treadmill is pretty old so the real test will be to run a known distance and calibrate it from there. I do think Garmin should be a little more clear with the owner's manual though. I think it is well worth the price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 12, 2009
I purchased this item for my boyfriend's Christmas gift. He has only used it a handful of times over the last couple of months. After having to read and reread the manual a bunch of times, we finally figured out how to access the easier functions (amongst quite a few options). He loves being able to keep tabs on his speed, distance, etc. My only complaints are that the display is not user-friendly (menu titles are not intuitive and toggling through menus is a pain) and the batteries died after only 2 months. My boyfriend is still trying to figure out the more complicated settings but at least the batteries were easy enough to change out (got replacements at a local drug store that carries batteries for medical devices).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2008
This product is very functional. It provides all of the basic information needed for running. Although the watch isn't very stylish, it is much more discrete than other similar products out there. The buttons don't work as well as my Timex watch and the screen is a little dim for my liking, but these don't detract too much from the value of the product. My largest complaint, though, is with the software. The ANT Agent has difficulty picking up the unit after I have stored information from my runs. I would suggest it to a budget conscious consumer, but not for more serious runners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2009
I bought this product about 5 months ago, the batteries just lasted 4 months when it spouse to last for 12, I call Garmin International and they ask me to send it, which I did, 2 weeks after, I received a refurbished watch that didn't work either, I call them again and they told me to send it again (I paid shipping twice), 2 week later I got another watch that did NOT work, it was the third one...
2 months later I finally got a new Forerunner. Please don't get in trouble, don't buy this product!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here