Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Buff Original Headwear (Brown/Purple)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 6, 2011
I ordered a seagrass UV Blackfly Buff for use while wade fishing the sunny bonefish flats. It is recommended by several fly fishing gurus so I thought I'd try one. I'm 6'2" and have an 18" neck and this thing is just too tight to be comfortable enough to wear. It is also too tight for me to wear as a headband and especially as a balaclava when it begins to feel like a treatment for a broken jaw! I can stretch it out but it immediately returns to it's original size and puts the squeeze on.....of course that's a good thing if you are one of those that it fits well. I have stretched the heck out of this thing every way I could think of trying to make it fit me and it always goes back to the same size and it's no worse for the wear of all the stretching. I thought I might have mistakenly gotten a junior size Buff but I checked the Buff USA website and mine is the adult 9 1/2 inch size. That's as big as they come.

Even though it doesn't fit me I think this is a great, well made product. It is extremely durable considering all the stretching I've done to it......it's like a Timex in that regard. Just wish they'd consider doing an XL line. If you are a small man or a woman who loves the outdoors, I think you'll like your Buff.
88 comments| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 16, 2009
I like the Buff - it's a neat idea and for those who sweat profusely and who are out in the sun on our travels, we need something like this. I could have used it when I was in Egypt to keep sand out my face and the sun off the back of my neck. It's got a variety of uses (look at their website for the instructional video) but I find it helpful as a headband to keep the sweat out of my eyes. Plus, making a pirate cap out of it is an added bonus.

I've got roughly a 18" neck, and the Buff felt a little snug around my neck. I don't know if I have to break it in or not, but if you're tinier than I am, you should have no problem.

As for the price... well, I wish I would have bought it from their website to save a few bucks and got a better selection. This time, Amazon marked up a product instead of reduced it.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2011
I often will wear a buff when competing in 5k in the spring and fall, when it can get chilly, or on windy days. It works as an earcover/headband, to keep wind out of ears, as a neck scarf to keep warmer, or as a balakva to protect ears, neck and lower face (and if you get a runny nose, it can absorb that as well). If you practice a bit beforehand, you can figure out how to move from one configuration to another without stopping.

As others have mentioned, it's not for really cold weather (there is a thermal version for that, which works very well) but it works great in every other season.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2009
So useful, and so lightweight. I take mine hiking, skiing, airsofting, camping, etc. You can use it as a facemask or a hat, and there's a whole list of stuff you can make with it that came with mine (I didn't buy mine here). I highly recommend this item. One thing to be aware of is that this is not thick and super warm. It is thin and versatile.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
Have had the blue camo UV buff for about two weeks. I never had a buff before and didn't really believe all the hype about them. There was a lot of sweating going on doing landscaping in hot weather and this buff really got tested. Compared to many different caps and sweatbands I've had in over 60 years, this is the best hot weather headgear I ever tried. Will have to wait a few months to try the cool weather performance.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 1, 2013
This neck gaiter is pretty slick. I'm a follically challenged guy that uses a lot of sunscreen, bandannas and hats.

When camping and doing canoe trips I'll frequently wrap a soft cotton t shirt around my head for protection from the sun and the bugs. As good as I look with a wrapped t-shirt around my head,I look even better with this buff neck gaiter!

In all seriousness, this accessory is very versatile, keeps you cool, is very lightweight, and for bald guys, is about as good looking as you can get.

It's great for neck protection or if you slide it up can protect your ears and the top of your head.

While it simply is a little piece of polyester, it is stylish and will join me for many camping and fishing trips to come.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2014
I just started chemotherapy and was warned that my hair will be falling out. In preparation I've been ordering a variety of head coverings to try before I'm actually bald to see what is easy to put on and will be comfortable as opposed to being yet another source of discomfort. These are the best thing I've found so far. Soft and stretchy, easy to put on and many ways to adapt them for some different looks and fits. I now own 3 patterns and have added a slew more to my wish list so that the friends and family who keep insisting that they need to send me something out of that horrible sense off helplessness you get when you find out someone you love has cancer -- I can say "Positive vibes, prayers and the lighting of pink candles always accepted, I don't need anything else, but if you really feel the need to send me a 'thing', I have an Amazon wish list, you can send me ONE item if you really feel the need to". Of course this means I dare not put anything pricey in my list for future reference....the Buffs are perfect....... and the way its going, it looks like I'll have quite a collection.

The ones with the UV protection will come in particularly handy this Summer and the ones with the "hippy dippy" patterns make me smile.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2013
I own two Buffs now. My latest color scheme is "Weft". Although the image makes it appear to be blues, blacks, greys, and yellows - the actual Buff that arrived today has the correct "Weft" pattern, but not a speck of blue. Perhaps it is an optical illusion on the computer screen, but I felt it was fair to give buyers notice of possible variance.

Regardless of that, in actual usage the Buff performs as advertised. I do a lot of hiking and usually start with a Buff around my neck, but have ended up with it styled into a beanie and as a cap with a wide flat tail draping over the back of my neck to protect from the sun. I like that it is configurable into different uses unlike a neck gator that can only be used for one purpose. I've also used my Buff at work in office attire for situations where I cannot escape an air vent blowing down my neck during a meeting. :-)

From trails and mountain tops to the office - this is a multipurpose piece of clothing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2012
Great product. I bought mine as a lighter alternative to my shemaghs which are a bit heavy and hot in the South Texas humidity. Buff headgear is incredibly light weight and is easy to tuck into a pocket when you aren't using it. I usually wear it in the saharaine mode as it keeps the sun off the back of the neck and can be pulled over the tops of the ears for UV protection there as well.

It seems pretty durable so long as it isn't abused. Its a piece of headgear not a general purpose rag, treat it as such and you should enjoy a long lasting and super convenient garment that will keep the sun off and look pretty good at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2012
I bought this after having it recommended by Sean Kennedy from Patrolling.ca. It's a versatile piece of kit that works in both the winter to keep your neck and face warm and in the summer to keep you from getting burned and keeps you cool. I love that it can be worn a ton of different ways and that it's so light. It seems like the fabric won't do much since it's so thin but I've worn it in pretty cold weather and it's kept me warm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here