Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Plus  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Just Dance 2018 Shop Now HTL17_gno



on August 29, 2010
Like many people, I was a bit skeptical of wearing wool in hot weather for hiking, but this thing lived up to all of the wonderful things I've been told about merino wool. It doesn't feel like the wool I remember from years ago, it is soft and very comfortable. After several hikes on warm days without washing the shirt, it didn't smell... that never would have happened with cotton or any of my synthetic shirts. It's expensive for a shirt, but the fact that I can wear it backpacking without offending my travel companions makes it worth the price. If you are thinking of wool as a scratchy material reserved for cold weather, think again and give this shirt a try.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2012
I've been wanting to try a merino wool tech T for a while but have been discouraged by the high price tag. I have used many synthetic Ts and have been satisfied with the wicking and cooling properties but they offer zero warmth and smell terrible after one use.

All Icebreaker garments can be tracked to the New Zealand farm were the wool came from, pretty nifty. Anywho, I wore this 100% merino wool shirt for five days straight backpacking and I could barely detect an odor. It wicked well and kept me cool during intense hikes and was warm at camp in the evening. All this and no disgusting ripe polyester smell! The fit is relaxed without being baggy and the small was true to size. The wool is very soft and not itchy at all after first wash.

If I could afford it all my Ts would be Icebreaker. I'm just sorry I had to wait so long to give them a try. Follow the care instructions and I doubt there will be a problem with durabilty. My washer has a gentle wool setting and then air dry. Too easy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2014
Love these shirts. I love the feel of them on his body and they look great. They have a lovely sheen to them. The wash beautifully and retain their look. The also feel nice to the touch. He says they keep him warm on a cooler day, and just adds a long-sleeved merino top over the top if he needs extra warmth. We are talking about temperatures around the 17-20C degrees here though. He has always only warn cotton or cotton and synthetic mixed blends before, which don't hold their shape and look tired after several washes. But the merino shirts, of which he now has a few, keep washing and washing and washing beautifully.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2012
I was skeptical about some of the claims of this rather expensive t-shirt, but after trying it out for several days, I am convinced! The most amazing thing to me is the fact that it doesn't get smelly, like a normal cotton or synthetic t-shirt. Granted, I can't say I would recommend wearing it every day on a weeks-long trip, and I haven't been wearing it while running a marathon or working out... but it certainly doesn't seem to need washing after every wear (assuming you didn't get it otherwise dirty). I've worn it for three days without washing (just to test the properties, mind you!), just hanging it up at night to air out. When I put it on in the morning, it still smells fresh! It is also VERY soft and luxurious to the touch-- not at all like you expect wool to feel. Time will tell if it retains it's look and feel, but as of now, I'm a believer!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2013
These shirts from Icebreaker seem to have the instincts of a well trained Butler. They keep you cool in the heat & warm in the cold. They simply do not smell. Everything you have heard about wool is true. I have gone 99% wool. i used to be a strictly high end synthetic wear for summer & winter. The stuff smells, it burns, it does not last well. It does not have a 'nice' look to it when you want it to.These shirts can comfortably be worn from -30 degrees Farenheit (with layers obviously) to 90 degrees Farenheit.
They can be worn daily without washing & never smell. Or they can be washed daily-----as long as they are allowed to air dry.
One of these is easily worth a dozen or more cotton T-Shirts; that is the bottom line.
Unbelievable for travel & or light living.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2013
I must start by saying I'm a huge icebreaker fan. This shirt only cements my love for their products. You may think wool and think itchy, but this is incredibly soft and only gets softer with time. This is one of my go to travel shirts because I can wear it forever and it does not stink...ever.

I usually just rinse these in the shower/sink after Sweating in them, hang them to dry and I'm ready to go. I will be buying more.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2013
I do weekly day hikes in the Shenandoah National Park of 6-10 miles and 1,000-2,000' elevation gain. In warm weather, I sweat a lot. This shirt gets soaked with sweat yet really breathes well and dries fast. It doesn't get that awful smell that wick-dry polyester does. It does require more care - mild machine wash and air dry, worth the effort for such a great shirt. I have done 25 hikes in the shirt and it looks as good as new so I have seen no durability issues. It's the only shirt I will hike in. I have long sleeve versions - mid and heavy weight - for cold weather, same very positive news. It keeps me warm in 20 degree weather and breathes well, no need for a parka on most cold days after I get going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2013
I have purchased a number of Icebreaker shirts for my husband. He works as a guide and we are both avid outdoor activity enthusiast. This material is fabulous. No smell after a 4 day backpack! He says they are cool in the heat.
He was in a climbing accident recently and was taken to the emergency room. They took great care of him, with the exception of the nurse cutting off his Icebreaker T Lite Shirt. He made sure the nurse knew how unhappy he was to lose his great shirt.

August 12, 2013: Addendum: Another great experience with the Icebreaker Tee. We were canyoneering this weekend in canyons that required swims through very cold water. My husband was thrilled with how much warmer he felt in the Icebreaker wool tee and was amazed at how quickly it dried.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2014
I'm sold on merino and particularly Icebreakers. Having used one of their heavy jerseys for winter bicycle commuting I was curious to see how merino did in hot weather. I bought this short sleeve Tech T Lite last year and wore it pretty much every day. It NEVER smells! I'm often tempted not to ever wash but do once a week on the weekends just because it offends my sensibilities not to. I ordered a long sleeve version this year for these cooler days before summer. If this works out I'll need only 3 shirts for year-round cycling (other than winter layers).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2014
I own four of these shirts. I use them for hiking and casual wear. For hiking, I think these to be the best bottom layer shirts ever. They are very soft and comfortable. They don't stink after a few days of hiking. They are very durable. I hand wash them in Woolite in cold water. Can't beat New Zealand Merino Wool! Icebreaker marketing is kinda cool in that each shirt provides a website and ID number where you can see which sheep farms in New Zealand the wool for that particular shirt came from. A bit pricey, but well worth the money!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse