Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Revlon RVST2005C Perfect Heat Essentials Straightener, 1 Inch
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Britney Spears Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 20, 2012
I usually don't write reviews, but I feel the need to for this product. I have very fine hair and whenever I have used other flat irons, I always end up with frizzy ends and flyaways. What's even worse is I have pretty short hair, so the ends are all close together - so when I used other flat irons, they basically left it looking like I had a bad case of static electricity.

My mom owns this flat iron, so I used it when I was at her house one time and I couldn't believe it actually left my hair smooth! I figured it was a fluke, so I didn't run out and buy one right away; however I used it again the next time I was there and again, my hair stayed smooth.

Not only was the appearance of the finished hair much better, but the feel while using it was so different. Other flat irons always felt rough as I ran them down the shaft of my hair, and I could tell that my hair would end up looking brittle and frizzy, even on the lowest heat settings. But the plates on this iron are such that you can literally feel the smoothness as you use it, no roughness or singeing, even on the ends.

Needless to say, I went ahead and ordered one. Still thinking it was a fluke, I held my breath hoping that I would get the same results I did withs my mom's and I did. I can't believe I tried several more expensive flat irons and this inexpensive one (by Revlon no less) is the one that works wonders for me!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 7, 2011
After trying several different straighteners including Clairol, Hot Tools, and another Revlon titanium type I went back to my old stand-by. This is my second purchase of the Revlon Perfect Heat Essentials model. I needed a back-up for travel and thought another brand of straightener might be better but found that this really does the best job on my fine hair. The multiple heat settings allow you to control the temperature and the floating plates give a secure grip for straightening on the first pass through. Other models that have only one heat setting get too hot for fine hair and can cause damage. Also- if the plates are fixed, meaning they don't float or move, it doesn't allow good contact with fine hair. Save money and don't buy the expensive brands before you try this Revlon model for yourself.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2012
we were thinking of getting the one inch size, i saw this 2 inch size and thought it would save time( my daughter has thick hair). it work better than expected. time wise and result wise.
great product. if you have thick hair and slightly longer than you shoulder this will be great.
did not use any hair products other than taking regular showers and making sure the hair was dry.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2015
Extremely HOT. and gets hot FAST. Love it. The only downside is no low setting! The lowest setting on this baby is like a million degrees. But actually because of that it works so well. It is very hot so it takes no time at all. Comparing this to my last one...omg the time it takes now to do my whole head is way under ten minutes and i have shoulder length hair. The last one i bought ( el cheapo at cvs) took forEVER to heat up. so i love this but swipe fast because the heat from this thing could probly cook a whole ham in three minutes. You could burn your hair straight off. Other than that, there is so much less hand strain as you don't have to squeeze a great deal like with other straighteners. Also, the handle doesn't get hot around the sides so I'm not worried about burns like with my last one. Nice long cord so you have freedom of movement- very important! +great especially if you tend to tilt your head and bend over to one side as you straighten like I do. The power button is on the SIDE not inside so it is not awkward. Also the cord rotates at the base of the straightener so no cord twisting/ strain/unnecessary damage there...So..five stars. Great inexpensive buy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2013
I have very long, regular texture , not thick but not fine hair. I bought my first Perfect Heat straightener in 2009 (so 4 years ago). Only recently did the coating on the plates begin to flake off which is why I've bought this one. It's a GREAT straightener. I have tried other brands, but none compare to this one. It grips the hair very well, doesn't snag and pull hair, and so far has never fried my hair. It heats up very quickly, only takes one pass to straighten and of course, it lasts. If there was a way to replace the coating on the plates I am positive it would last at least another four years :). Definitely recommend this product!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2015
2 1/2 stars

I bought this to replace the same Revlon iron that I've used daily for 2 years. The only reasons I purchased a new one were because the spring broke and the plates lost their coating. I was pleased that it had lasted so long. BUT when I received the new one, it worked all of 1 week before something began rattling inside and the iron would just stop heating up eventhough the power light was on. I'm disappointed that the quality of this Revlon product is so variable. Went back to the old broken spring one since it at least heats up!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2014
This straightener worked nicely for the first few months. It beautifully straightened my hair, leaving it smooth and without causing any noticeable damage. However, after about four months, it no longer heated up to full temperature. Now, after 10 months, it will not even turn on. Maybe my expectations are too high, but my last Revlon Straightener worked perfectly for over five years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2014
This product works good enough, however, after 2 weeks the hot plates started chipping. Now, if I turn it "off" it remains on. But when I have it "on" it goes off after about 10 or 15 minutes which makes me have to unplug and plug it back in. As far as hot irons go, I have extremely thick hair and this works well. If it wasn't for the weird issues listed above, I would give it more stars. Not sure if anyone else had this problem, or it is just my luck! If you don't want to spend 100$ on the really expensive ones, this is pretty decent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
The ceramic used for the heating clasps is durable. It only takes about a minute or two to heat up completely. Just be aware that this straightener only has a low, medium and high setting. You can't adjust it to a particular degree. But, for the price it's a nice straightener.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2013
Great product for the money. I couldn't find a straightener like this for this price elsewhere so I thought it would be okay but nothing great. I'm glad I was mistaken. I'm a person who doesn't like to straighten my own hair because I didn't think that I would do it right. However, with this straightener it is a lot easier than I expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here