Bubble Witch Saga 3 BCA Month Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pick of the week Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on March 8, 2009
I've been looking for a replacement for my WRT54G only because of its dropouts. I've tried the new Linksys G & N routers and all of them had worse range than my WRT54G.
I read the CNET review about how this Belkin N+ has such range that they overlook any faults.
I spent 3 hours trying to configure it so that it would connect to a wireless laptop sitting 2 feet away. Went to bed and got up at 2:30, determined to get it to work.
I surfed te web (via the LinkSys)and found some answers.
If you're on AT&T (SBCGlobal), and you have a SpeedStream 5100-b (5-lights), you MUST set the modem as a bridge (pass thru) and let the N+ (PPoE) do the login to AT&T. Once I set that - I was in! My DirecTV DVR hooked up via a WET54G access point, My XBOX 360 connected without a burp. My wife could sit in the living room, or in bed with her Pink ACER ONE and surf/email with no problem.

The next day, I unwired everything (while setting it up, wires were all over my desk) and put it all back together neatly. And for the first time tried to get my work laptop to connect. No go. In short, nothing connected wireless. Well, that's not quite true. Everything would see the SSID, and everything reported STRONG signal, but as soon as they did connect, their signal dropped so low that most devices reported no connection. I was about to re-hook the WRT54G and send te N+ RMA.

@ 4:30 Saturday morning, I called Belkin Tech support...AND THEY ANSWERED!!!! Sure it was from India, but the guy was polite and spoke fairly decent english.
When I told him the symptome he immediately had me switch from AUTO to channel 11, and DISABLE QoS.
PAY ATTENTION: Then he had me go to the Belkin website and to the support page - then select UNITED KINGDOM as my location. Put in the model and download the BETA Firmware 1.01.24.
After installing that, everything lit up! It all works.
---------------------------
I don't think the range is any better than via my WRT54G. But I have NOT had any dropouts (yet), and it will support "N" so I'm keeping it for a couple of weeks before making the final decision.

------------------------------
For those who noticed: I have no idea why it worked until I rewired it. I certainly did put everything back as it was during setup, and I tried positioning it everywhere - no joy. I expect it's an intermittant issue that the firmware fixed. - It's working not and I've repositioned, rebooted, rewired it many times since and it still connects everything just fine.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2010
I work from home in the IT field so my internet connection needs to be rock solid. This router worked great at first, but has become a royal pain in the keaster and don't even get me started on the technicians at Belkin. You'd be better off asking a child for help. It's obvious that they read their troubleshooting instructions straight from a script and have no training beyond that, because if you ask them anything that even slightly deviates from their script you can tell by the dead silence on the phone that they are just deer in the headlights.

I think the problem with the router might be due to a conflict with my modem provided by Comcast. The reason I suspect this is because when I first bought the router, Comcast issued me two separate modems for voice and data due to lack of DOCSIS 3.0 support in their voice modems at that time. My connection was great with that configuration, but after moving to my new house the Comcast install technician suggested I reduce some wire clutter by switching to one of the newer modems (Arris TM702G/CT) which was capable of providing DOCSIS 3.0 voice and data in the same unit. That is when I first noticed my problems.

The Belkin router started randomly rebooting throughout the day and will occasionally get stuck during the reboot cycle. The indicator lights come back on one by one, but when it gets to the modem phase the light will just blink red forever until I reboot the router AND modem. To test that it isn't an actual problem with the modem I have tried directly connecting a laptop to the modem when this stuck reboot situation occurs and it's still capable of passing traffic just fine, so I definitely think it's just a conflict with the modem and router butting heads.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 19, 2012
I had always bought Linksys routers, before they went to the no antenna models. Their reception was way down and it died way fast. So, I got one of these to replace it. I've had the first on for almost 4 years. I just ordered another to put in my garage. The USB port is an easy way to have a network storage without getting a NAS. The only issue with this router is it would be nice to have front connection and data lights for each of the four ports, but it's not a huge thing. Buy this router and you will be happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2013
I have owned this for several years. It requires a reset about once every other month or so. I live in the country and sometimes my signal form the cable company is disrupted and I'm sure that adds to it needing to be reset now and then. Tthe adjustable antennas help somewhat to direct the signal although I still needed to add an extender to get the signal to the far reaches of my yard. I do have a big back yard though.
Blue indicator lights are very easy to see and read. Works well and the signal covers most of my home. I have it in the attic and the signal reaches the basement through the floors, wiring, etc. The unit comes with a base that is stable and the unit is well made. I have no way of measuring actual transfer speeds or anything like that but we have multiple laptops on this at a time and it works very well, even streaming a couple of movies at the same time. I do notice a lag when my son is "gaming" online and two or more others are using the signal at the same time - but I think that is to be accepted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2012
I purchased one of these in spite of the many bad reviews because it was $10 less than anything else and I finally had enough N and Gigabit devices to make the 100 megabit and 56 megabit connections of 802.11g a nuisance. I was also waiting because I wanted to be late enough in the N generation not to have any of the incompatibilities that are always common with new wifi protocols.

I was not disappointed, as all of my devices connected right up and have never lost a connection in 2 months of use. In fact, the Gigabit took my windows network file transfer speeds from about 6 megabytes per second with 100mbps ethernet to just under 70 megabytes per second (it may even be faster with a faster source and target hard drive (both of the test drives were WD Sata II 16mb cache 7400rpm and go just under 70 megabytes per second for local file copies)): such a large increase that I decided to start doing all backups and media over the network.

This is where the caveat steps in...conveniently this has a USB 2.0, supposedly at least, port for network backups or media storage. Don't even bother. My USB 2.0 drives all get between 17 megabyte and 31 megabyte per second transfer rates when plugged into computers, but when plugged into the USB port on the Belkin routers, it's barely over 3 megabyte per second and very inconsistent. Being a long-time Linux user as well, I figured maybe it's because I do all of my backup drives in NTFS (FAT32 has 4gb file size limitation), as the firmware might use the Linux source for reading file systems and Linux has well-known NTFS speed issues : NOPE. I formatted a different USB 2.0 drive to EXT2 and the Belkin couldn't read it (note: if it can't read EXT2 it's unlikely to read any Linux filesystem). Obviously, the next step was to try FAT32, so I reformatted the drive to FAT32. Just like the NTFS USB 2.0 drive, it gets just over 3 megabyte per second send and receive transfers when plugged into the router.

Notes: I was happy enough that I grabbed another one refurbished for $15, which I used a 100' cat5e cable to wire up to the initial router to extend the range to the workshop (separate building). Before using either Belkin Router, I flashed the firmware to 2.01.09, which may be why I didn't experience any issues reported by others, aside from the terribly slow USB 2.0 port (same results on both routers). The configuration options for the Belkin are very limited compared to most routers I've used, lacking full control over some security settings, repeater options, and client lists...but it is easy to set up and has basic WEP 128 and WPA AES settings.

Bottom line: If you're looking for a 300mbps N and Gigabit ethernet router that will work fast, don't pay more when the Belkin delivers. If you were hoping to use that USB port; set up a repeater; or configure advanced firewall, dns, or IP mapping you may have to install dd-wrt(I haven't checked the compatibility list for this device as I'm happy with what I've got for now) or look for a different router. I give it a 9 out of 10 or a 4.5 out of 5.

Pros:
-Gigabit is gigabit (at least Sata II hard drive fast)
-Generally connect at 300mbps within 100 feet (11+ megabyte per second transfers)
-Seamless firmware update
-Very easy configuration
-No down time or connection issues with 802.11 devices, regardless whether B(Wii, Broadcom, D-Link, Ralink, and Realtek) G(Blackberry, Eken m001, Airlink101, TrendNet, and Atheros) N(Roku, Novo 7 Basic, Renesas, and Atheros)
-Cheapest brand-name Gigabit/300N (Paid $29 and $15(refurbished))

Cons:
-USB media/storage port is SLOW
-Mid-range array of configuration options
-Antennas don't unscrew as far as I can tell, making antenna upgrades surgical
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2011
I purchased this Belkin Router for it's features and price. And when the router works, the features are great! It's fast, and the USB/network drive is great. The problem is that every 3 or 4 days the router just stops. The lights all show it working, but it looses it's connection to the internet. And, simply rebooting the router doesn't help. For some reason, you have power off the router and the cable modem to wake it back up.

Worked with Belkin support from some far off land, and they were of NO value. Could only read from a script on how to reset and start over. Did this process several times. Contacted support by email, and got the exact same script as the online person.

I've use Linksys routers for years, and never a problem. Bottom line, you get what you pay for. Stick with linksys.

Just as an FYI, I have returned the router to the manufacturer, at my cost, and they are suppose to send me a replacement. I will update this review if the replacement works any better. Otherwise, I have a new target for the shooting range!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2011
I bought this about a month ago on a whim after finding it on a "best router" list. And the router, when it does work correctly, offers an excellent range and good transfer rate, allowing me to stream video from one PC to another nearly seamlessly even at G speeds.
The problem, however, is that wireless stability on this unit is truly shoddy. I read this before buying it, falsely assuming it was simply a matter of conflicting wireless channels. Buyer beware, I used Netstumbler and put this router through every single channel unused in my apartment by other routers (at least 4, which should rule out DECT, microwaves and the like, no?), turned dual bandwidth on and off, and turned protected mode on and off. NONE of these variables corrected the problem.
I tried resetting both the modem and router multiple times, turning off the firewall, turning off PnP, and even reinstalling the firmware, casting voodoo spells upon it, and threatening loudly to drop-kick it out the window. NOTHING corrected the regular dropouts on Mac, PC, and iPod alike.
What finally DID correct it, knock on wood, after reading and Googling for weeks? Lowering the wireless security to 128-bit WEP. Since WEP is such a weak algorithm, Belkin's (among other manufacturer's) solution for using it is to mandate you enter a hex key as long as your arm to use it.
Being forced to enter such a long key because Belkin are suspectedly too lazy to correct the glaring bug in their firmware is absurd. Nor should I be forced to use a weak encryption algorithm when WPA has been around for years, simply because someone forgot to test something as critical as wireless encryption.
That MediaLink router looks really good about now. Think I'll get that one soon and sell this router to a farmer who needs some wireless for his satellite connection, since he'll be unlikely to have any wardrivers any time soon. Unless they ride tractors now. 0.o
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2010
This router seemed like a great find. Lots of features at a great price. When I got the router, there were several very annoying issues:

(I have apple computers, one pc, and a ps3, and generally observed these issues across some or all of them)

1.) I had trouble getting the router to work with security. I setup the security and then tried to connect to the device with a computer, but could not connect. I would try different security levels with the same effect. Inexplicably, after a few permutations, one of the security options would work. This happened several times.

2.) The guest network never worked consisently. I setup 'Hotel Style' guest access at first. Initially it seemed to work, but some of the time, it would keep redirecting you to the 'Hotel' login page even though you logged in correctly. Also, after connecting to the Guest network, I could no longer connect to the non-guest network.

3.) Sometimes when I closed my laptop and re-opened it, I would get IP address or DNS errors and could not connect to the internet.

4.) I have a 2000 square foot house, but could only get a signal in one half of the house. My old linksys wireless B router had a slightly better range.

5.) Long uploads and downloads would get interrupted, resulting in them hanging and never completing.

6.) My PC would have the connection completely drop for periods of time.

7.) After the router ran for a few days, I could no longer connect to the admin page to fix or configure anything.

8.) When some relatives came over, they could not connect to the router (though my computers were fine). After hard reseting it and setting it back up again, they could connect.

There were some 'good' times with the router, I had a few weeks there, where my mac laptop worked fine with it assuming I was on the side of the house the router was on.

Overall, this was a very frustrating experience. I don't know if I got a defective device, or if there are just serious firmware issues that belkin hasn't rectified yet. Either way, I don't even want to try again. I'm getting a different router.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2011
After having my old Belkin G router for 7 years, I thought it might be time to replace it after a suggestion by a friend who just bought a new router.
My old router would occassionally drop the connection once or twice a day and I would have to re-boot it. It was a fantastic router for 7 years, so I thought I got my money out of it. I leave it on 24-7.
When I first got this NEW router, I could not get to to establish a connection to the internet, but I went through the setup wizard a couple of times and the second time it worked. I personally don't see why you should even have to use the wizard. It should be plug and play.
I cannot say enough good things about this router, though!! After doing speed tests with speedtest.net, my connection speed basically doubled.
One of my laptops doesn't have a wireless N, but 2 of them do, and the N laptops connect twice the speed of G.
In the web-browser setup searching for a firmware update says that NO UPDATE is available, however, when I went to the Belkin website, a firmware update WAS indeed available. Personally, I think it was faster BEFORE the firmware update, but it might just be my imagination.
This router gets a 5-star rating from me and I would heartily recommend it to ANYONE looking for a great wireless-N router.
GREAT 2-day FREE shipping from Amazon, as usual!!! Be SURE to change the shipping to FREE in the checkout, because it defaults to a more priority shipping, NOT to the free shipping. I accidentally place the order, and it charged me $11.95 shipping, which is ridiculous, because I would have gotten it within 2 days anyway from the Dallas Distribution Center, so I had to send Amazon an e-mail and they fixed it within 10 minutes of placing the order and gave me the refund!
AMAZON rocks!!! So does this BELKIN router-BUY IT TODAY-you will not regret it!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2010
I bought this router to replace my Netgear WNB2100 router. I had reached my limits with the Netgear router: my wireless devices were continually losing their connection to the router, a problem that could easily (but irritatingly) be fixed by re-starting the router. This became a daily task, so I searched long and hard through router reviews to find one that boasted a reliable connection. We typically have several devices simultaneously connected wirelessly to our router: a PC laptop, a Mac laptop, a Mac desktop, and two Android phones. In addition, one desktop PC running Windows 7 and a PS3 are connected via ethernet. I was encouraged by the review of this router posted on CNET, among others, so I dove in.

Setup

Setup of the Belkin N+ wireless router can be quirky. Unlike most wireless routers which simply print an IP address (xx.xx.xx.xx) on the bottom of the router which you can type into the browser of a computer connected to the router, the router comes instead with a setup CD which contains software to walk you through a purportedly user-friendly setup. This would have been great, except that one of the questions asks who your ISP is, and then prompts you for a username and password associated with that provider. If you cannot provide that info, the process is stalled and you cannot continue. Such was the case for me. Further, clicking on "manual setup" resulted in the software's attempt to default-launch my 64-bit Internet Explorer browser, which immediately self-closed each time I tried to run the manual setup. I suspect that the software did not like the browser, but in any event I could not force it to launch my Firefox or Chrome browsers instead. This also proved to be a fatal stall. Finally, I was forced to call customer service to obtain the router's IP address, an experience I would have preferred to avoid. The customer service rep had a less-than-ideal command of the English language and repeatedly asked me what settings I wanted to change rather than relinquishing the router's IP address, which is, incidentally, [...]. I was eventually able to obtain this information and as expected the rest of setup was a breeze -- my ISP uses a dynamically-assigned IP and the rest of the settings were typical of any wireless router. The UI is pretty standard -- nothing special, but not particularly complicated either.

Range and Signal

The connection is absolutely bulletproof. All of the aforementioned devices have held their connection continuously since the router was turned on and I have not reset it once. Speeds are good, both wirelessly and wired. This alone made the router worthwhile to me. Range is not as good as my Netgear router, which is surprising, considering that the previous router had no (external) antennae and the Belkin N+, which is sitting in the same location on top of my bookcase, is nearly five inches taller with its two antennae extended. Range is not bad, however; it reaches my upstairs, downstairs, basement, and deck adequately. The WiFi analyzer on my phone shows a signal ranging from -80 to -40 dBm, depending upon where I am in my two story+basement 2,000 square foot home. That's worse than my Netgear router, which (when it managed to stay connected) boasted a more consistent -50 to -40 dBm throughout the house. But it reaches me everywhere I need it to and it isn't going to blow the doors off of the neighbor's house -- which is probably a good thing.

Other thoughts

The form factor is so-so; it's big, it's black, and the blue lights are very, very bright. The enclosure is plastic with a part-matte, part-gloss finish that feels a little cheap, but it isn't horrible. The size is pretty unwieldly, particularly considering the range limitations discussed above, but at least it isn't white or blue or shaped like a saucer. The Belkin N+ also features a USB slot into which you can plug a USB flash drive or, theoretically, some other storage media. I did eventually get a thumb drive that I plugged into the router to show up on my wired PC, but I haven't tested it further to see if it is available on wireless devices connected to the network.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse