YED MagazinestoInspire Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Shop for your business Starting at $39.99 STEM Valentines Day STEM Shop Popular Services JustAddMagic JustAddMagic JustAddMagic  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Go Explore Outdoor Recreation on Amazon STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 236 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 254 reviews
on September 5, 2010
This is a nice addition to my S8000 Nikon camera which augments my professional stuff for when it is just easier to have a camera on my belt. However, Nikon should have included this with the camera instead of giving a power cord so that the camera has to recharge the battery! All my other cameras have had a separate charger. With all of our ability to read memory cards built into the computers now, there is no need to use a power cord for a camera at all any more. The other concern with this charger, even though I believe we need it, is that it has a long cord to plug into the wall and carry around instead of a module that plugs in with the battery attached. We buy cameras like this for their size so why add a bulky charger and cord to have to lug around? Thankfully though at least this seperate charger is available even though it shouldn't need to be....
0Comment| 51 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2010
Having a spare battery charger is a must and being able to stuff it inside your camera bag along with all the other junk you take with you is a given. Unfortunately, this Nikon charger fails the consumer miserably. Instead of allowing you to plug the charger directly into an outlet, this charger comes with an extremely long cord that you plug into the charger and then into your outlet. It's large and bulky and will not travel comfortably with you in your bag. Thumbs up on the charger, thumbs down on the design. I guess we're caught between a rock and a hard place with this one.
22 comments| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2010
Nikon went really cheap by not providing this charger alongwith the digital camera unlike previous models where this was part of the camera. this charger comes really handy for charging batteries faster especially when you have spare batteries that need to be charged as well.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
Needed this battery charger for my Nikon S6200 due to a firmware flaw that does not allow the battery to be charged through the camera if the charge on the battery gets too low, rendering the camera inoperable. The only way to remedy this yourself is to purchase a charger that will recharge the battery outside of the camera, like this Nikon MH-65 does, and update the firmware on the camera that fixes this issue. I enjoyed the irony in that you need a charged battery to turn on the camera to update the firmware so that you can charge the battery using the cable supplied with the camera. Thanks Nikon!

After charging the battery outside of the camera and updating the camera's firmware, I shouldn't ever need this again. I guess I can always resell it on Amazon... :)
11 comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2013
It works well for the feature that you can charge your extra battery while you can still use your camera. I do not like the charger that comes with the camera because you have to plug in your camera in order to charge your battery. That's why I bought this item.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
I bought this charger because I don't like charging batteries in the camera, as the charger supplied with the Nikon CoolPix P300 camera dose. Judging by the product photo, the Nikon MH-65 looks compact, its not! It's thicker and almost the size of the P300. Add to that its 4 foot AC power cord, it requires more space than the camera, and there's a cord to get tangled up.
I did find on Amazon, a charger that is smaller and has a fold out AC plug and two spare batteries for about half the price. (it also has the option to work off your cars 12 volt cigar lighter) "Charger + 2x Battery" by Eforce.
It works fine, and the Nikon MH-65 is in the junk drawer.

Nikon 1050 mAH EN-EL12 Lithium-Ion Battery + Battery Charger with Car Adapter for Nikon CoolPix S1000pj / S610 / S610c / S620 / S630 / S640 / S70 / S710 / S8000 Digital Camera
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 24, 2011
Unlike other comments, I find this product to be exactly what I had wanted... though cannot believe Nikon didn't include it with the camera itself!
The cord has now been shortened and is convenient to use and store.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2015
Just what I needed to charge my camera batteries outside of the camera. Charges faster too! Yes, it's a Nikon, so it costs more. But Nikon products work and last a long time. It's not worth "saving money" by purchasing an off brand. Get the real thing & be done with it.

12/2016 UPDATE: Still working just fine 18 months later. Well worth the extra cost.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 1, 2011
This charger seems to recharge battery just fine, but it never blinks when placing a spent battery in it. I've read other reviews here on this product that indicate that it blinks while charging, and stops blinking when done. I certainly expected that as my other Nikon chargers blink while charging and stop blinking when battery recharging is complete. Not a terribly big deal, but you never know when it's done. Maybe mine's just not working properly on the ol' blink function. Battery indicator on the camera did show a full battery when I put it back in camera, and it was completely spent when placed in the charger.

UPDATE: Decided I wanted to know when the battery was done charging so Amazon did their great customer service thing and sent me a replacement. This one works properly, but this charger is still not ideal. It takes awhile and is not as compact as I'd like. HOWEVER, the travel charger available here at Amazon is the bomb. Little with a socket in the back that flips out and sticks into the wall. Comes with a converter for European sockets. Charges battery quicker than either the charger being reviewed here or the wired charger to the camera. Less than 10 bucks. Have been only using the travel charger since I got it.
22 comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2014
Since there's no external charger that came with my Nikon Coolpix S8100 (have to charge it's battery internally thru the camera) , I saw external MH65 Chargers for En-EL 12 batteries being offered at amazon.com and purchased one. Received in new condition as advertised, at half the cost being offered by Nikon directly, or local stores that sell Nikon cameras and related accessories. I used it to charge all the batteries of the S8100 just prior to departing for our Holiday Cruise. Used it during our cruise and shore excursions (tours) took almost 400 photographs. Also used it to recharge all 3 batteries when we returned home. This charger works flawlessly!

I noticed at Nikon's web site that here are a number of other model Nikon Coolpix cameras that use En-EL 12 batteries. Some may include this MH-65 charger in the camera's package and perhaps others (like my Coolpix S8100) not. So amazon.com was an excellent choice for me to find and purchase this external charger and batteries at reasonably lower costs.

In addition to above, have purchased other items from Amazon including additional EN-EL 12 batteries for my Nikon Coolpix S8100 camera and EN-EL 10 batteries for my older Nikon Coolpix S600 camera, various movie DVD's, books, also manuals relavent to the major upgraded operating systems 2 prior and new (currently OSX Mavericks) on my iMac. Have been a consistantly satisfied customer of amazon.com for availability of products needed, reliability and timeliness in receiving what I order, also includes receiving followup emails from Amazon and, or their affiliates of the progress of my orders from date of purchase, date & time of shipping... including tracking links, thru receiving the items in expected condition as advertised. Thus my experience using Amazon deserves a 5 stars rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse