Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-8 of 8 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 24 reviews
on September 24, 2013
I admit right now, giving the Jaguar five stars is probably overly generous, considering all the problems the embattled system had. But personally I enjoy playing the Jaguar just as much as any video game system, and I want to show some love for the machine, perhaps simply to compensate for the unfair amount of critisism the Jaguar has endured.
In the early 90s Atari was sort of caught between generations. It's arch-rival was the 3DO, which proved to have more longevity but was so over-priced that it was almost in a whole different market. While the Jaguar ran circles around the Genesis and Snes in terms of power, the hype of the Playstation and Saturn loomed over the Jaguar in 94, it's pivotal year. Atari had a chance, but was unable to get enough software on the shelves to give it sufficient leverage against oncoming systems.
In a little over two years, the "official" lifespan of the Jaguar, only 54 or 55 games were released. More have been released since, but the "post-mortem" Jaguar titles are rare and expensive. This small library is probably the Jags biggest problem as a retro-system today. A lot of key-genres were missed. There aren't any baseball games, the one football game sucks, and is basically a Genesis port without any enhancements, there are no RPGs whatsoever, and the lack of 3rd party support left the Jag without any recognizable franchise games, such as Mega Man, Contra, Castlevania, Madden, Street Fighter, ect. Okay, it does have "Doom", "Pitfall", and "Bubsy", but that just isn't enough.
The controller has been universally panned for the 12 digit keypad. It's inclusion is a headscratcher, it's a bad idea for button input. But in reality the controller is very comfortable to hold, and while it may not be completely ideal, it isn't too hard to get a feel for the keypad.
While it's understandable that in the mid 90s the software lineup just didn't seem as exciting as what the Playstation had, taking a second look almost two decades later the Jaguar has a lot of fun games. Many Jaguar games were heinously underrated at the time, and are prejudged as crap by today's gamers who've never given them a try. Isolated from the reasons it failed at the time, the Jaguar is actually a really cool system and a retro-classic. Forget the Math. Forget the arguments over whether it's 64-bit or not. Forget the incompetent marketing. Just play the Jaguar and have some fun.
33 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2015
I love this system. You need to own one. I have an XBOX One with kinect, a PS4 and I still have my Jaguar and Sega still connected. I still play my old systems. These games never get old for me at least.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2013
This system is a little under rated in my opinion. Has same great games: Alien vs predator is amazing and the Bruce Lee story is a lot of fun. The controller is very different then anything I have played growning up. Still a fun a classic, somewhat rare system to own.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2011
The Atari Jaguar was a great machine and was 2 years ahead of Nintendo with their Nintendo 64.

This system had serious potential. The only problems with it were it was too expensive, the controller was terrible (a SEGA controller with a keypad), and lack of 3rd party games. To top that off, Atari released a CD add-on to a system that not many owned. To be honest, I have heard of a Jaguar 10 years ago, but never saw one until about 2 years ago when the Angry Video Game Nerd reviewed it. Now I finally have one 17 years after it released to experience it first-hand.

The system itself looks OK and fits in any entertainment center. I don't like that there is no dust cover for the game slot. So just keep a game in the Jaguar at all times and you are fine. There is another uncovered port on the back which I have no idea what it could be used for. Maybe they were planning something, but the system died too fast.

Atari Jaguar claimed to be the most advanced thing at the time and even though it was as far as graphics went, here is what I have come up with. Most of the games were 2-D and that stereoscopic looking 3-D where it appears 3-D only when the camera moves around. The fully 3-D games like Cybermorph are basically 1 step above Star Fox (SNES) and played a little better than the arcade version of Race Drivin'.

All in all, the system is fantastic for its time, however, it has a library of only 87 games, so there is not much to choose from.

The games I highly recommend are DOOM, Tempest 2000, and Cybermorph (just because it's fun to make fun of when you hear it say "Where did you learn to fly?").
77 comments| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 29, 2012
This is not a great game system...some people say it's terrible while others try to hype it up as something amazing...I tend to put it more in line with not that great. This is actually my third jaguar as the first two eventually stopped working. With that being said, it is a piece of nostalgia and there are games for it you can't play on other systems. I enjoy owning one, glad I have one, but I am not kidding myself on what it is...a not so great system with no so great games.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2014
Good system don't see how it failed I like it out of vintage game systems it should have competed with sega genesis and Super Nintendo
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 19, 2013
Vintage system in excellent condition. Relive the video games from over 20 years ago. I'm very happy with the purchase.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2012
When I ordered the jaguar it seemed from the images of the product that I would get the system,two controllers,everything I would need to play the game system insted after the order was delayed it arrived and all I got was the jaguar and no controllers no cords nothing else don't order anything from this sight unless you want to get screwed like I did I want my money back
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here