Spring Deals Automotive HPC Best Books of the Month Casual Friday Style nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Weekly One GNO for Samsung S9 Prime exclusive: $24.99 for a limited time Grocery Handmade Personalized Jewelry Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheGrandTour TheGrandTour TheGrandTour  Echo Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now TG18PP_gno

on July 26, 2015
Very pleased with this purchase for my 7-year-old... the skates are well-constructed and have already paid for themselves (as opposed to shelling out three-bucks in rental fees at the rink each week). Size-wise, we ordered one size larger than she wears in shoes... this worked well; she did have to wear two pairs of socks for a few months, but I'd rather have her grow into them, than outgrow them too soon!

The skates arrived with the wheels too tight; this was initially a worry and I contemplated sending them back. Instead, I contacted Roller Derby customer service and spoke with a friendly, knowledgeable representative who had me use a wrench to give each of the nuts a quarter-turn. This loosened them right up and the wheels have turned freely ever since. Also, the Velcro strap at the top of the ankle often catches the lace. As a result, the lace is frayed a bit; I just try to minimize this by keeping the Velcro strapped down when the skates are not in use. (See pic of frayed lace.) Although they're frayed, my daughter will probably outgrow the skates before I'd need to replace the laces.
review imagereview image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon December 26, 2014
This roller skate is very appropriate for kids who want to try out roller skating before committing to buy a more advanced model. The materials are all man made (i.e. no leather), therefore it does not breathe as well. The sizing is quite accurate but it might be wise to consider getting a size bigger for comfort since the shoe itself doesn't bend much and might be uncomfortable if too tightly fitting. The rollers seem slightly uneven in terms of "rolling" - some rolled more than others, some stopping sooner than others if you test rolled it with your hands in the air rotating the wheels. This can be alleviated improved by spraying some lubricant onto the wheel's ball bearings section from the outside.

All in all, since these rollers skates are quite affordable, it might be worth a try for many beginners wanting to start learning. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
My daughter started getting into skating two years ago. We had bought her a beginner skate that let us adjust the wheels and so on. She did okay on those, but never really seemed to like them enough to skate every day or week in them. However, now that she has out grown the first skates we looked into buying a second pair.

I am happy to say after looking at hundreds of skates, she found a pair she enjoys wearing almost everyday. Since the day they arrived my daughter has put them on to skate around our house, inside and out as we have wood floors inside. She says they are comfortable and we didn't go up or down a shoe size either.

They have been holding up nicely and nothing seems to be wearing out as of yet with all the use.

Tip: I did have my daughter get use to the skates on our area rug before skating on the wood floors or sidewalk. I think this really helps young skaters learn to balance and get a better feel for the skates before setting out on smooth ground.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 17, 2014
I tried to research the weight of all the skates we were considering for my 6 year old. She had Old Diminion skates size 11 that she learned to skate in (they were big for her but she grew into and then out of them) but they were heavy for her little legs. When we decided to buy new ones, weight and quality were the biggest concerns. She wears a size 11 shoe, but grew out of her 11 skates, so I went with size 13 in these and they weighed about 3 lbs less than her previous skates. She LOVES them. They may be a little big, but she skated for three hours and they left no blisters, so we're good! The quality doesn't seem to be amazing, but the fit is comfortable and the weight is much lighter which gives her easier control.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 11, 2015
Great sturdy skate for my daughter who is just learning how to skate. We are skating outside, and I am very impressed with how sturdy and well made these skates are. They support her ankle very well too. I was worried about this because the laces only go 3/4 of the way up and was unsure how the Velcro would hold up. My daughter wears these just about every sunny day and they look a little beaten up because our (long) drive way is black topped (which I was expecting). Over all very please with purchase. They fit her well. She is a size 11/12. These are great skates.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2014
I purchased these skates for my 5 year old daughter for Christmas. The reviews said they ran a little small, so while she wears between an 11.5 & a 12 in shoes, I got a 13. They fit great, with a little room to grow. She just went to the rink with them for the first time and did really well. They rolled well, and she seemed to have fun with them. My husband said that she always stopped using her left foot, and by the end of the first time using them, the brake already showed a little wear. She uses her brake probably more than most, so I figured that was why. We plan to just switch the brakes when they get a lot of wear, and she will be good to go again. I suspect by the time the brakes completely wear out, she will have outgrown the skates. I would definitely recommend these skates!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 26, 2015
These skates are cheaply made and I felt the quality should have been better for the price. The vinyl or plastic the skate material is made out of had a wrinkle in it which shows the weakness in the material. Not much lining in the bottom of the skate and the wheels can not be adjusted to slow them down or speed them up. The frame the wheels are on is plastic and if you try and tighten the wheels you could possibly crack it. With much use I don't think the laces would hold up either as well as the velcro strap.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 15, 2014
These are a great quality pair of skates for my four year old. She wears an 11 and the Jr 12 fit nicely with a little bit of room to grow. The wheels move nicely and she really enjoys the skates. The bumper in the front is a little large so she tends to walk on it instead of skating, but I'm sure over time that will wear down as bumpers do. The color is nice and the material is great quality. These are so easy to get on and off of her and she wears them not only in the rink, but in the house also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 15, 2015
For a good old fashion regular skate, this is perfect! The size was great, although I did listen to the other reviewers and go up a size. I saw nor felt any irregularities, ill placed nails, or missed stitching. The laces do stick on the velcro, but you can replace those if it really bothers you. The stoppers work great, which is good news for any beginners.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 19, 2014
Great first roller skates! My 7-year-old loved this gift for her birthday! She just started wearing a US size 13 shoe (she has smaller than average feet for her age) so based on other reviews I ordered a size 1 (Jr. 1). This fit her well with room to grow! Thank you reviewers! She spends most of the day in these rolling around our house (hardwood floors) so I know they are comfortable. Definitely good value for the price! I just don't like how the shoelaces stick to the velcro, but that is a minor thing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 81 answered questions

Need customer service? Click here