Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 395 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 414 reviews
on September 30, 2012
My laptop adaptor finally became unusable right around the time I had to study for the California bar exam. I needed something that would power up my laptop but not kill it before I took the exam. This adaptor worked out of the package and didn't seem to be a problem for my laptop. However, within a couple months, the part of the adaptor that consists of a double cord split in two halves. While it may have been safe to continue using it, I didn't want to take the chance. Luckily my original adaptor had broken where it plugs into the computer, whereas this one split on the part that goes into the electrical outlet, so I was able to use the good half of my old one and the good half of this one and continue to power up my laptop. My laptop has since died of (I believe) other causes.
I would not recommend this adaptor if you want something that lasts. The original one that came with my laptop lasted nearly 3 years. This one lasted a mere two or three months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2013
I cannot tell you how many chargers I have been through over a two year period....too many. A few months back I had the displeasure for looking for another one since my "imposter" charger ceased to work and I stumbled upon this one. I have always been a person who heavily relies on reviews because that's just how I role. However, with choosing chargers, relying on reviews has come back to haunt me because they RARELY live up to their stellar reviews. The thing that got me to order this charger was that it looked exactly like the one my brother had received with his laptop (and still has and still works perfectly) so I figured I would take my chances on this one. I purposely waiting to write this review because I really wanted to put this to the test. Since getting this charger I have also replaced my laptop battery and I must say I was a bit worried as I have read that replacing the battery sometimes will mean that the charger you use will not ALWAYS be compatible with the battery. Low and behold, battery and charger work just fine together and I couldn't be happier.

Do yourself a favor, stop fooling with the "imitation" chargers that claim to use genuine Dell components/parts and choose this one. The entire experience from choosing, ordering, receiving and using this charger has been amazing! Thank you!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2014
I received this "OEM" charge cord the first week of September 2013 to use as an extra for when my 11 year old uses my laptop in the family room, my son tells me the other day that it stopped working at least a month ago. This cord was not in constant use by any means. We tried the cord in other outlets and even on a different compatible laptop with no success. We are outside of the return window, so I have contacted the seller and requested an exchange, I am still waiting on a response. I will gladly edit my review if customer service is good and a replacement is offered for this defective cord.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2011
When I first opened this charger, it looked great, very similar to the original one for my Dell Studio 1555. So I plugged it into my laptop right away, and the blue light on the charger came on and it worked fine. Then within the hour, I noticed the blue light turned off, and I thought this was very odd. So I rechecked the wires, and everything was plugged in fine, I even checked the pc to adapter wire, then the adapter to outlet wire, and both of those were plugged in correctly also. At this point with in the hour, with the blue light off, the adapter itself was very hot. This is no lie, the adapter itself was very hot, which means that the adapter is fuctioning, but for some reason the blue light still won't turn on. I either recieved a very faulty OEM adapter, or these are not built for durability but looks. In the end, there was no option to return the product so I filed a claim with the seller, and now am waiting for either a replacement charger, or a refund. It is ridiculous that the adapter stops working after an hour. When I bought a previous cheaper and bulkier adapter it lasted well over a year. This adapter died within the hour. This is very dissappointing, till I recieve a functioning Dell OEM adapter, I would recommend you stay away from this adapter, and get the large short bulky adapter instead atleast it lasts longer and doens't get as hot as this adapter did.

-- Update I got a new adapter replacement from my seller, and this new one is great! There are absolutely nothing wrong with it, it is the dell OEM adapter, and I would recommend getting it. But becareful you might get a bad one so double check! Rating it 4/5 For the deffictive one I originally recieved, but the new one is functioning very well.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
Had to buy this for my Dell XPS because my dog ate my cord! It got here sooner than expected. I plugged it in to my laptop and it works while it's plugged in, but it says "Plugged in, Not charging" in the charger status. I get the pop up of that says something about reduced system performance because of too weak of a charger. I'm sure you know what that is. If it accidentally comes unplugged, my laptop dies and I lose whatever I was working on. :( It works fine if I'm just sitting at the table doing something, I just can't unplug it. I'm disappointed that I can't charge my laptop and use it as it's intended, but it'll do for now. I'll give it an extra point and say 2 stars because it didn't spark or get too hot like some of the other reviews. Should have just bought a "real" charger!

12/11/12 EDIT: Today it's charging my laptop. Yesterday it was not, nor the day before. I'm not sure why it changed! It doesn't have the pop up message about reduced performance and it's working perfectly! I updated the review to a 3 seeing how sometimes it says "charging" and sometimes it doesn't. It could be my laptop but I never had this problem with my old charger. Very odd, but at least it's working now!

One more EDIT: It works fine to power my Media PC, it was just my laptop dying a slow, painful death.....I'm not sure if this would charge a battery or not though, but I'll give it another star. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 20, 2013
It took awhile but I finally found a charger that is labeled just like the original charger. I made sure that every single word on the mfg label was exactly the same as the replacement. There was some comments that made a little leery of punching it. So far I'm content with this purchase.

First it gets 4 stars because we've only used it for about 30 days, and there were many comments about its usability from other users after sometime has elapsed.

Pluged it in, and laptop didn't give warning message about the cord like it did with original. Comments about the unit being hot to the touch--well th original did the same thing. I've noticed that many electronics charging unit most time generate heat (like the iPad, iPhone).

Unit is used every single day so far (daughter is youtube addict). It stays plug in 24 hours every day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2017
This worked great for 8 months. Then one day, it completely stopped working. Nothing changed; it just stopped working. I thought something was wrong with my computer, but tried out the old the charger that squeals whenever I use it and it worked just fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2013
I received the power supply around January 13, 2013, and on March 3rd, 2013 while charging my laptop, the power supply failed. Maybe I bought one built on a Friday since the other reviews look favorable. I've never had a laptop power supply fail before; generally the coating over the wire at the base of the brick wears out after a couple of years of heavy use. But even then the power supply still works-it is just dangerous since the bare wire is visible. To have one fail in less than two months was a first for me. I am trying to find out if there is a warranty for the product, hopefully they will exchange it.

Update: I wrote the company (Star Adapter Depot) and they have fantastic customer service! They immediately sent out a replacement using priority mail and the new power supply seems to be working just fine. Due to such incredible service, I changed the rating to 4 stars...the last power supply might have just been a lemon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
NOTE: My issue may be due to a surge or faulty housing wiring.

I bought a replacement adapter for my Dell Studio XPS 1640 due to my original one smoking and melting. I received this replacement and started off with no issues (other than a cheap aftermarket wall cord that the wire casing almost immediately separated from the wall plug... exposing wires). Then, I began to receive a message stating that my AC power adapter type cannot be determined. My battery will sometimes charge, but not always. Additionally, the transformer casing overheated and began to melt.

The device appears to be a legitimate Dell product. It just helped attribute to some issues with my laptop. Again, this may have been caused by some faulty house wiring, but I'm not sure. Also, my motherboard has begun displaying some issues. So, that's pretty awesome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 9, 2013
If you have a dell E6400 you need a 65 watt supply. This is a 90 watt supply. yeah it charges, but now my battery just dies without warning. I used to get blinking battery light, but not anymore. Now it just dies.
I really think these people owe me a new battery, but I don't have the time to deal with this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse