Customer Reviews: Blackberry 8820 Unlocked Phone with Quad-Band GSM, Wi-Fi--International Version with No Warranty
Amazon Vehicles Oct16 Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Subscribe & Save Cozy Knits Book 2 or More Hours of House Cleaning on Amazon fin fin fin  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 All-New Kindle Oasis hhnsweeps Shop Cycling on Amazon

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on March 29, 2011
Just a stunningly, amazing & surprising value! It is decidedly more sturdy than the Curves my daughter has previously owned. Blackberries are known for their high quality & ease of use, but she can be a challenge to the sturdiest of electronics. This has all of that and more. At first, it was in my Best Buy cart, then something told me to come to Amazon. My angels were looking out for my bottom line, because all in all, I saved $30 on my purchase. My daughter likes to travel & this will be another positive feature for her.

Now, I had to update the phone via Blackberry's Desktop Manager & it took four hours, but it was well worth it. This phone has reinforced my #1 daughter's conviction that she will only use a Blackberry (my friends tease her for being hooked on crackberry).

The only drawback is that we are not able to stream any video, which caught me off guard, but, as my kids have pointed out, that is what iPads & the like are for!

You won't be disappointed.
11 comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2010
I've used this phone for about a year. It may look good and have a great qwerty keyboard, but it has some serious flaws:

* It has NO camera;
* It does NOT support 3G;
* Texting is difficult. You need to push too many buttons to reply even if you are in the conversation thread already.

If you really want a Blackberry, get a newer one. The 8820 may have been good in the past, but not anymore.
11 comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2012
Bought this Blackberry 8820 from Amazon, seller GigaGrab at a very good price--used--.I received the phone 2 days earlier than was listed (USPS).I immediately plugged in the charger and to my surprise a little hour glass appeared and, a wipe and scrub initiated.Lord, what the hell is scrub.Panic now.I did online research and my mind was put to rest.This action is to wipe data from memory( security) . After 1 hr ,got a screen with all parameters,inserted old sim card and did the wizard.Now, I used the wireless application for setting my wifi to router ,but,I cannot make calls and it says"radio turn off".Also top screen corner SOS.Called AT&T ,Cus Rep tried to unlock the Sim card, but unable to do it.I got a new Sim card from official ATT store and then called ATT and they programmed it.Phone works great.Seller came through good !!!!!!!happy!!!!!!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2012
My title summarizes everything I feel about this phone. I bought this phone mainly for phone calls and texting. I don't need a fancy phone for apps, because I have an iPad. I got tired of texting without a QWERTY keyboard, so I know this phone will help me a lot. This phone also has very nice address book, calendar, task, note functions you can use to organize your life. I put doctor appointments, library books due dates, birthdays, etc on the calendar and it will remind me at a set time. The wifi works well and I can browse the internet using the browser provided in the phone. No camera, but I knew that before purchasing this phone. It is not an issue for me. I also bought the phone for traveling overseas. Blackberry is very popular in the country I will be going to most. This phone is quite an old model though, so many popular BB apps that work on newer models don't work on this one.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2013
The phone worked correctly,and it arrived on time. My only difficulty was dealing was my unfamiliarity with the phone itself. I used this phone for two weeks in Italy, and received a call 20 feet underground, while touring Etruscan necropolis.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 3, 2013
I had shipped this cell phone oversees for my parents. The first problem was
1) It does not have a camera (which I did not see while purchasing)
2) Sound is very small for elderly to hear
3) It stopped working after 1 week of usage
It is not in the US otherwise I would have returned it immediately

This is my review after using the phone for a couple of months
1) My parents fixed the earlier issue about dead phone -- there was a problem in charger
2) Now another problem has arised -- the keys start falling off : one by one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2013
My son purchased this as it didn't include a camera due to regulations at school and was very happy with the purchase.
You can still access the internet but the software on the phone cannot be upgraded too much as this is a very old phone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2012
Nice blackberry. I got to my country at the end of the communicated delivery time. I am not sure if I bought it with an AC adapter, because the cell came alone. But it is working well and I had no trouble with the conection in Bolivia.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2013
Bought this for a friend it came on time but they didn't take the monies out for about a month after. Phone was just cleaned up and it stop working a month later very disappointed will not buy from you again. No good cheats
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2013
The ball stopped working within a month. It started by getting stuck, at times it gets back to work and the next it has stopped altogether until it decided to all together stop. I then had to put it in trash because I couldn't scrall to any where I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse