Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: WeeRide Kangaroo Child Bike Seat
Amazon Vehicles Buy 2 kids' books and save Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Celine Dion Shop Now

Price:$67.98+ Free shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 28, 2006
I wanted to get something for my ten month old so I could ride my bike while my three year old rides his. We have a trailer but I wanted to try a seat because I thought it would be easier than dragging the trailer out- especially just for riding slowly around the neighborhood with a three year old!

The front kind seemed like a good idea. The whole reason I bought a trailer in the first place was because I was afraid of my balance being thrown off with a bike seat. This front mounted seat is super for balance! I felt very comfortable with my daughter up front and she loved it! We just went for a test run around the block after installing it.

I was able to install in less than 20 mins with a 10 month old crawling around. So I'd say it was pretty easy. It's also very easy to remove the seat when you don't want it on your bike.

I was a little afraid of how my knees would hit the seat but I figured for the price I would just order it and give it a try and if it didn't work out I'd return it.

It's much better than I thought it would be. My knees don't really hit but I have to pedal in a way that I'm aware that the seats there. Not really a big deal, just something to get use to.

The seat does seem a little wobbly, not terribly so though, so not a huge deal. I may be able to adjust it to keep it from doing this. The seat was so easy to install I actually haven't read the manual yet...

Over all for the price you can't beat it. What a cool thing.

I just want to add that I recently went to our local hospital where they do helmet fittings to get a new helmet for my three year old and they wouldn't sell me one for my daughter until she's a year. The AAP doesn't recommend children ride in trailers or bike seats until a year. Trailers are also recommended over bike seats because the majority of accidents happen in bike seats. Although I would imagine that would be the back mounted type. It would be interesting to see a study about front mounted seats as they become more available.

Get this seat! Just be safe!
0Comment| 222 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2006
I have been looking for a way to take my 2 1/2 year old riding with me. The salesperson at my local bike store refused to sell me a back mounted infant seat because they are so dangerous. I don't want a trailer which are safe, but I enjoy riding the many fire trails by our house.

So this was a great fit.

PROS
1) easy to attach- I also switched screws and bolt from the front/back attachment as the seatpost of my TREK needed the bolts from the front attachment.
2) comfortable ride- my daughter is very comfortable and the center of gravity is outstanding... I don't feel unsafe on the bike
3) Easy to remove- there is a screw that once you unscrew it you can take the chair off and you can ride normally.

CONS-
1) The seat belt system stinks- It is really bad and not very safe.
2) Going up hill is tough- definitely be in shape for those uphills, more then 2x as tough...but it is a great workout
3) You can't use clipped pedals- because you have to splay your legs a little to pedal, clipped pedals are not feasable

Again, My daughter is comfortable (she's 35 inches tall) but in about 3-6 months she will be too tall for this chair... but for now we are having a blast!
33 comments| 170 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2006
The seat is wonderful-it just was not made to be used with a petite rider I guess. I am 5' tall, and when the seat's foot rests are in their fully-extended position, they interfere with my steering mechanism-making it very dangerous for me to make turns. The seat itself is right in my gut. I can lean on it to push it forward, so it isn't too awful, but the worst part is that in order to pedal, I have to extend my legs outwards. It is a terrible strain on my knees and makes this a very uncomfotable-and sometimes overly painful experience.
55 comments| 107 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2009
I've owned this product for approximately 1 year now and I am completely satisfied with it. I began using it with my son when he was 18 months (24 lbs). He is now 36 months (~30 lbs) and we are still having a great time. Once mastered, the assembly only takes about 2-3 minutes. I have been using this on my mountain bike, so I usually assemble and disassemble the entire thing several times a month. I feel that the seat is very secure, and have ridden both on and off road with my son. Although not recommended for off road use, I think it is safe enough for the sandy/dirt trails where I live (no rocks, jumps, non-technical).

PROS:
- Spend quality time with my son, and give my wife a break
- My son LOVES the bike time.
- I get a good workout with the added weight of the seat and child, which has actually helped me on those singletrack climbs when I go out mountain biking.
- People will stare at you as you ride by and say very nice things about you, the seat, the child, etc...

CONS:
- Interferes with your knees just a bit when pedaling, but you only have to adjust your legs a few centimeters. This is a small price to pay for the great feeling of taking your child out with you on a beautiful day.
review image review image
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2015
My Sister In law recommended the Wee Rider to us, in the past we’ve used the back mounted bike carriers but I was never a big fan of it since I always had a hard time keeping my balance with it. After researching and comparing multiple seat carriers we decided the Wee Rider was the best deal.
My husband set it up without looking at the manual and it took him less than 15 minutes to do so and even less time to remove the seat when he wants to ride solo.

I value that I can use the carrier for many years, the carrier supports up 40 lbs. I have been able to use it 18 month old and we even took our 5 year old on a ride in the Wee Rider.

I also enjoy the benefit of being able to see my child. In our back carrier I couldn’t risk a glance back at my child for fear of crashing into something of toppling over, the Wee Rider allows me to keep my eyes on the road but gives me the peace of mind knowing that my child is always in my line of vision.

Sometimes, our family bike rides can wear our babies out so I love that my baby can rest their head on the padded front bumper. I also like that my children can rest their legs in the adjustable foot cups, no more dangling feet.

When riding depending on how tall you are, you might have to splay your legs to avoid bumping into the Wee Rider. Personally I’ve never had an issue and I am 5’5, but my husband who is 5’11 has to give a small birth to the Wee Rider but nothing that is considered annoying or uncomfortable.

Overall, I really love it. It allows our toddler to be a part of the action instead of riding quietly in the back. Great product,Great buy.
review image review image
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 10, 2008
I was very disappointed to find that this seat does not fit on either my wife's or my bicycle. Both are fairly standard off-the-bike-store-rack models. The company's misleading advertising states it fits virtually any bike. What it should say is that you must have at least 3/4"-1" of head tube extending above the top tube so that the front mounting clamp will fit without interfering with the headset bearings (steering mechanism.) My trek mountain bike has essentially no such space. My wife's Giant city/trail bike had a little more space due to the sloping "ladies" top tube, but the clamp still did not fit. Had I known this, I would not have wasted the shipping fees, and gotten a seat that fits.
99 comments| 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2012
when i first got it i was skeptical, because of the size i didn't expect it to fit my bike. but now i leave it attached unless i go into the store. my daughter approves by trying to steer the bike & often falling asleep. she also has been known to grab her helmet and try to take the bike out herself if i'm lagging.

i deducted a star because my unit came incorrectly assembled. 5 stars otherwise.
review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2007
I had been trying to put together a combination of a good comfort bike and a child seat for over a week and found a great success with this one.
There are some workarounds with which I got them working together. Needless to say, after putting together this, my 2yr 3 month 39" tall kid enjoyed the ride and never wanted to get back home :)

Pros:
1. Significantly better than the Bell child seat (back mounted).
2. Looks and feels much better. Satisfied.
3. My son is 39" tall and 2yr 3 months and weighs around 27lbs. I was hesitant to buy this seat given his tall height for his age. He was able to sit comfortably and still has lot of room to grow!
4. Assembly time: 20-30 min (with workarounds: Read below)
5. The seat is detachable from the child seat frame. That way, you can remove the seat if you wish to go biking on your own.

Cons:
1. The belts are sized for fitting infants when I removed the seat out-of-the-box. You may have to try multiple combinations to fit it for your child. It took me a while and was frustrating.
2. The bottom of the horizontal bar has bolts protruding out. If you rest the bar on the horizontal bar of the frame of the bike, make sure you add some padding (like a piece of soft cloth). Otherwise, the bolts could bite into the paint of the bike frame.
3. The Saddle height adjustment is not possible after adding this child seat. Make sure your bike is adjusted for your height first.

Workarounds and Howto (and comparison with Bell child seat)
I had a terrible experience with the Bell Child seat (rear mounted). I had to return this one since it just wasn't engineered to latch on to the frame near the rear wheel. Poor incompatible design. After force-fitting the Bell child seat, there was hardly 4" space between the saddle and the back of the child seat leaving only around 4" space for my kid. Absolutely a waste!
WeeRide child seat was much easier to assemble, if you can play around with the bike you have.

1. Buy a bike that you think can take such a child seat. Example, I bought a Schwinn 26" Mens Comfort bike from costco for $199 and assembled the seat on it.
2. In my bike, there wasn't enough space to bolt the front of the bar since the vertical space between the moving elements of the handle and the frame was too small. I had to let go of the front bolts. Since the rear ones and the horizontal bar center bolts were secured very tight, I felt comfortable letting go of the front ones.
3. Add a soft cloth padding between the horizontal bar of the child seat and horizontal frame of your bike.

I am really happy with this seat.
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2013
The product information is wrong , on the box it says it supports children 1-4 and up to 15kg (33 pounds). I contacted amazon and they sent me a replacement which was the same. I don't understand how amazon and also the manufacturer say its up to 40 pounds and write on its box up to 33 pounds?? Now I have to return the second one also. I was hoping my son will enjoy this, but got disappointed and couldn't even open the box.
review image
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
a great way to cruise the boardwalk with my son. he loves riding shotgun and the breeze in his face.

my only complaint is how the chest strap is a permanent fixture which is quite annoying as I have to shimmy my son between the left and right shoulder strap.

I ended up purchasing a buckle chest strap which is a much better setup. not quite sure this wasn't a standard feature.

overall the price point is great, product is solid and the memories my son and I will share will be priceless.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 53 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here