Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 943 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,015 reviews
on December 2, 2013
UPDATE 1 MONTH LATER:
It's fake. *DO NOT BUY* See the end of this review. -- I had to return this for a refund.

----
Original review:

Well, it's not exactly exactly exactly like the unit it's replacing, but it's close. Very very close. Close enough that, to my suspicious eye, this is OEM.

The similarities with my original power supply:
Apple logo of the exact size embossed into the plastic in an identical way
Small gray printing on two sides of the brick, formatted in the Apple style and with Apple part numbers and supplier info
The magsafe adapter looks well made and solid
The brick and magsafe were covered with the protective plastic sheeting that seems to be peculiar to Apple products -- it wraps around the brick and sticks to itself tidily, just like I remember from my original MacBook's packaging
High quality fit and finish all the way around, no fakery that I can see
Specifications on the brick printing are accurate to the requirements
The tabs work exactly the same, the wire winds up around them nice and tight, and the wire clip holds it all together well. Functionally identical as far as I can tell

The differences:
The wire is a bit thinner
The little metal part of the magsafe connecter, the rectangle that contacts the computer, looks a little shallower
The labeling on the gray print is different: different manufacturer, etc. (I'm sure Apple uses various manufacturers, though, so this isn't a guarantee of non-OEM)
Biggest tell: There is NO UL LISTING on the adapter. UL listing is clearly marked on my original power supply. This is an American thing, though -- it could be that this is an actual OEM supply, but intended for Canada or some other market, so doesn't have the UL listing.

I'm posting a bunch of pictures of this replacement unit in detail, as well as comparing it with my old unit, so you can see for yourself.

I've been ripped off with fake "OEM" parts in the past. This does not feel like that. If it IS fake, it's a masterful job, and they deserve my money for going to this kind of effort. Especially if the internals are as well-imitated as the externals. :)

If something goes wrong, I'll edit this review accordingly.

UPDATE 1 MONTH LATER:
Welp, this one's a dud. It's now flashing from green to amber as it charges, and it only charges when the cable's connected from one direction -- wire facing the ports, the least convenient if I want to plug anything into the Displayport or USB.

So... final answer: fake. Do not buy.

Seth
review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image review image
1515 comments| 328 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2017
I needed a replacement charger for my daughters Apple laptop Air. It works perfect!
As for other older reviews claiming it did not work / was not an actual Apple product, I would say they are incorrect or out of date. It as a genuine Apple product and works as such.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 24, 2017
Original Apple product, works great and came in original sealed packaging. I will update this review if it stops working too soon. My cable that came with the macbook pro lasted about 5 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2014
I just purchased our third charger for this MacBook. These chargers are pieces of junk that only last for a year or two before they become so frayed that they are safety hazards. They usually break right next to where the charger cord connects to the laptop. Never in my life have I had a non-Apple laptop charger go bad. At least this time I only have to spend $30, instead of $70, which is what it cost me last time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
I desperately needed a new charger for my laptop as mine had broken and so I ordered this one from blueberry tek but fulfilled by Amazon. When I received the product it was packaged well and looked brand new; however, it did not work. I tried several outlets to make sure it wasn't something other than the charger itself. Luckily this happened over winter break and my brother was in town and I was able to borrow his Apple computer charger. As a college student this was a very scary experience and I'm just thankful it did not happen during finals week. There are a lot of companies selling this particular charger and unfortunately I had a bad experience with blueberry tek. I would recommend checking the ratings of the company selling he product before purchasing it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 7, 2014
I bought this cord because it was Apple Certified. It has lasted me just over a month and now it's too late to return. The rubber from the charging tip is constantly sliding off and now the magnet is pulling off the tip of the charger as well. Now I have a laptop that I can not use because my new charger does not work. Very frustrating. My original cord lasted over 9 years. Amazon, really wish you would help me out here.

UPDATE: Amazon, this is why I shop so much with you.

Here's the update, they are sending me a replacement with no extra charge.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
I've had this product for about a year now, and it's always been a little iffy. The light on the magsafe adapter is always on, and occasionally my MacbookPro won't even register that it's charging. Non the less, it has performed acceptably for awhile, but recently it's been getting nuclear hot to the touch. So much so, that I am thinking of throwing it away. My suggestion to you would be to avoid this product, and based on the other reviews, I am not alone in that feeling. Stick with the OEM on this, putting your ~$2000 computer and possibly your family and home at risk to save $20 is not worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2014
I had this charger about a week. It was working fine and I was thinking I had saved myself some money not buying another apple charger, after all my apple charger frayed at the edges and exposed the wiring, so apple products aren't exactly perfect. This product nearly burt my house down. I was sitting at my desk charging my laptop when I smelled something burnt. I honestly thought, for about 10 min or so that it was my sister burning candles in the next room, but eventually it smelled so bad I got up to check it out. I went to unplug my laptop and I saw that the charger had melted in on itself, burning the floor. Thankfully I caught it in time. Now I have no charger and a scarred floor.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 25, 2015
I purchased this charger for my 13" Unibody 2008 Macbook and it worked. This was already a replacement charger. I purchased this one to replace a frayed rubber casing of the original. I tried to be very careful with this one, making sure that it wasn't pinched under the laptop or in the laptop. I even draped it over the far corner of the screen to make sure that it was in the safest position. Long story short, I purchased this one in Jan 2014 and one year later, it was fraying at the laptop connector and making a buzzing noise. I googled the buzzing noise and it was suggested that it means that the charger is winding down its life. I think that the rubber casing just gets harder as it ages and then frays. Overall, great but only for 12 months.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2014
I bought this charger because my original Apple Macbook charger broke. I did not want to pay $90 to replace it. But I was weary to look on Amazon because the staff from the Apple store warned me that some chargers sold on Amazon have caused problems for people. I decided to try this charger out anyways. So far it's worked really well. I haven't had any problems with it so far and I've had it for a few months now. The reason I chose this charger over others was because it had a one year warranty which made me feel better about my decision. There was only time that it stopped working when it was connected to my Mac but it immediately started working after I reconnected it. The reason I gave this product three stars is because I want to wait a full year and if it still works as well as it does, then I will be back to write a better review. For now, I'm being skeptical in hopes that this product will prove me wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse