Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Listen for a chance to win PCB for Musical Instruments $34.99 for a limited time only Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MMM MMM MMM  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on February 4, 2015
I have a pair of extreme heavy duty felt lined Sorel boots that I bought in Alaska in 1981. I used them to work a few seasons outdoors on the North Slope of the Brooks range. More then 30 years later I still have those Sorels (no doubt they will outlive me) and I now use them for snow blowing on the coldest Michigan days & nights. More recently I needed some boots that would be less cumbersome for cutting firewood out in the winter woods, but also comfortable and able to breath well enough to wear to my work place. I decided to give these Timberwolf Leather Snow Boots a try. I've been using them for a couple of months here in Michigan and I have to admit, I really like them. Not once have my feet been cold, even when working out in the snow all day, yet when I wear the boots indoors all day, they don't cause my feet to sweat either. I like the toe catch on the back of the boot that serves to support my other boot when pushing the boot off. It keeps the back of the boot from getting marred and prevents me from having to push on the heel of the boot. I've put these boots through some difficult outdoor punishment (if you ever dropped trees and trimmed them up out in the woods - you know what I mean) yet the boot exterior doesn't show it. It will take 30 years to prove if these are "made of the same stuff" as my felt lined Alasken Sorels but so far, they are heading in the right direction. Note: I am not being compensated in any way by Sorel or Amazon for this review. I bought these boots without any compensation from anyone except my paycheck :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 18, 2012
This will be my 3rd pair of these boots, the first being a gift - the second because I loved them so much, and this pair here to replace the worn out second pair. When I find something I like, I stick to it. I know what to expect. These have been the best boots I have ever owned and I hope they don't discontinue them anytime soon. Fit is larger than normal, I usually wear a 13 in tennis shoe yet size 12 fits perfectly. They have a ledge on the back heel which allows for the attachment of ice stabilizers which is unique but helpful on those icy days. Last pair lasted me about 2 years with continuous wear. Small hole appeared over right pinky toe and front lip separated so I replaced.
review image review image review image review image review image
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 29, 2011
I haven't had a good snow boot since... ever? I'm not even sure I've had a BAD snow boot since I was a kid. Anyhow, I was looking for something presentable enough that I could wear them with khakis/cords/jeans to my office (very casual dress at my work), and that my feet wouldn't be soaked. By default I had been wearing Timberland work boots, since they were the closest thing I had to a snow boot... but they got soaked and leaked even with waterproof waxes. (I'm sure they probably have a "waterproof" boot, but mine was the regular work boot.)

Anyhow, I bought these due to the good reviews and felt a little silly spending so much on them, but the review by the guy who does deliveries in the snow all day loving them got me and I bought. I'm so glad I did - had no idea such an INCREDIBLY comfortable boot existed! It seems like it's practically military-grade, like it'll last forever and I also had no idea that a thinsulate boot would add any serious level of warmth, but it sure does.

This winter, even sledding with my little boy, my feet were warm, dry, and the padding inside is outstanding. I've walked from the top of Central Park to my apartment here in NYC (110 to around 20th street = 90 blocks = 4.5 miles), and they were as comfortable as walking shoes.

Love 'em. If they fell apart after a few years, which I doubt, I'd buy 'em again.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 16, 2015
I agree after getting these boots and wearing them for a while that they are about a half size too big, but this actually worked in my favor - let me explain. The foot bed under the insert is really hard (which is not totally unusual), and it would actually get a little cold from underneath, bleeding through the crappy insert in there. In that the boots were a bit roomy in the foot area, - bout a half a size larger is fair way to put it, there was enough room to put an additional gel insert, that is flat, in there. This does three things, it makes the shoes fit way better, it offers so much better cushion, AND I no longer feel any coolness coming from beneath the foot bed. Now there are awesome, they look great, have great traction, are lightweight, are really well made - will last a long time, and are very warm. Really like the sort of special forces - type look to them too. the "issues" might sound quite involved, but they are really not, and wouldn't let them deter you from getting these. - My recommendation is get your size and you may be able to add an additional insert to provide better cushion and warmth.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 28, 2014
Fits like a glove. very light to work in, but definitely not waterproof or snow proof. Good only for moderately light rain or snow with temperatures exceeding 20 degrees. As a sanitation worker in nyc, I found out almost immediately the limitations of this boot during the last several storms this year.
I usually wear my army " mickey mouse " boots during this season,but I had knee surgery and found them too heavy, causing severe knee pain. I wanted something light, breathable; an all purpose, all weather boot. Unfortunately, that boot doesn't exist. I've searched hard and long for that boot, and came to the realization a person in my occupation needs three types:
waterproof winter,waterproof summer and dry/light/sturdy mid seasonal.This boot fits the last category and in that category,
it does exceptionally well; so far I should say.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 15, 2014
I purchased these for my husband, but they were delivered to ?? In any event, we bought another pair and he says that they do keep his feet warm. Since he has owned many pair of winter boots with insulation, I consider him expert enough to judge whether or not these boots are performing as expected. In his opinion, though these boots are 400g, your feet will absolutely get cold if you are standing still for more than an hour. For those that are going to purchase these to wear for unextended amounts of time, they may be for you. But, if you are going to wear these all day long to work outside in -12 degree weather, do not but them. Hope this helps.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 20, 2015
My husband works 11 hour days outside in the snow, rain and ice Monday through Friday. His feet were soaked and freezing with his normal work boots so we tried these. He loves these so much. His feet stay dry and comfortable all day even when the high was -2 with -35 degree wind chills. I got him a second pair as a back up for when these wear out, which doesn't seem like it will happen for a long time. Great work boot for outside occupations in the winter. Great traction, super light weight yet warm and keeps your feet dry!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 14, 2016
These are warm, dry boots that fit perfectly. They are very light weight, but have great insulation. Last year the temperature was -10 to -20 and the boots kept my feet comfortably warm without heavy socks or foot warmers. You can wear these all day. I had never had a pair of Sorel boots prior to buying this pair and now I will never own anything else for winter comfort.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 19, 2011
We live in Germany and frequent the Christmas Markets every year which means many long hours in the cold and snow. My husband loves these boots! Every time he wears them outside he raves about how warm his feet are! His legs are cold but not his feet. He is in awe with these boots. I am a thrifty shopper and have a hard time spending alot of money on 1 particular item. But I did mange to purchase these boots with a discount and got them for $89 from $110! SWEET! Definately worth the money I spent on them!!! You will not be disappointed with this buy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon October 2, 2012
These boots are the warmest boot I have owned. They are comfortable but a little stiff when new. After a month of almost daily wear they lossen up and fit perfectly. They keep my feet warm and dry in ice and snow and the sole is very "grippy", no slipping and sliding! The downside is that if it warms up outside my feet will get a little too warm but that is to be expected. These replaced an old Timberland boot and are much better.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here