Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: 5400mAh,10.80V,Li-Polymer,Replacement Laptop Battery for APPLE MacBook 13" Series, (Fits selected models only),
Workplace Solutions Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 12 Days of Deals Gifts for Him hgg16 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services westworld westworld westworld  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 308 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on November 5, 2013
Only reason for not 5 stars is a minor issue with fit, really nothing to be concerned about just cosmetic. (Much better fit than the OEM swollen batteries). Battery arrived partly charged, I installed it, and let it charge until the green light came on the charging cable. Took about two hours. At that point the Battery info read:

Model Information:
Manufacturer: DP
Device name: ASMB016
Pack Lot Code: 0002
PCB Lot Code: 0000
Firmware Version: 0110
Hardware Revision: 0500
Cell Revision: 0102
Charge Information:
Charge remaining (mAh): 3787
Fully charged: Yes
Charging: No
Full charge capacity (mAh): 3787
Health Information:
Cycle count: 1
Condition: Check Battery
Battery Installed: Yes
Amperage (mA): 164
Voltage (mV): 12584

Note that the Battery Condition shows "Check Battery". I think this is pretty much normal when using a non-Apple battery.

Instruction manual included with battery gives detailed instructions for calibrating the battery, I will follow these and report back.

I chose this vendor because their reviews were better than most vendors selling these batteries in the $25 price range.

Added after "calibrating" the battery. After cycling the battery it between full charge and computer shut down for three more cycles the "full charge capacity" increased to 3888 mAh. (times 12.5 v = 48.5 Wh. This is a bit short of the advertized 60 Wh, but I belive this common with battery capacities. The battery took about 3 hours to charge and ran my older MacBook for about 3-1/4 hours. This is quite satisfactory for my needs, and overall I think that this battery is good value for the money.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2010
My roommate had a older-model macbook with a battery that could maybe last 5 minutes without the charger. Since he never really needed it off the charger and the cost of the official battery is outrageous, I figured I'd surprise him with a gift to help a fellow mac user.

This battery installed decently enough. The color and the fit were not quite right, but it's hardly noticeable; unless you like starring at the bottom of your computer that is.

My biggest complaint was that his battery wasn't recognized as present in the OS. Sure, it works, but without knowing how much power there is left in the thing, it's kinda worthless. The only indication we get is the power button on the battery itself, which requires turning the thing over and pressing it. This maybe due to the fact that he's running Tiger, but I don't know.

Anyway, it was a risk worth the money, but it didn't really change anything, so if I could do it again, I'd pass.
22 comments| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2011
I've had this for a month and it acts completely normal. I'd forgotten about it, but tonight for some reason I remembered that I was unsure whether to "go cheap", so I'm writing this review to let the community know: it worked out for me. Since my old battery was bulging, getting hot, and appearing on the verge of explosion, needless to say I'm happy I bought this item!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2010
Alright! People are saying that it "doesn't fit right." It is a slightly different shade of white, fits a little TINY bit crooked, but who cares? It's $40 and it allows me to use my macbook without my power supply connected for at least a few hours at a time. If you aren't super concerned with how the underside of your mac looks, then get this battery. This battery holds a charge for three to four hours usually, and generally shows the correct amount of usage time left. Although it isn't as long as I used to get with my original mac battery, it's better than having my laptop come unplugged and having it shut off. I say, for $40, this is a great replacement battery.
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
Lasted about 2 weeks, barely runs the laptop for an hour (and it has an upgraded SSD). NOT WORTH IT.

Absolute utter GARBAGE!!! This seller is selling junk, AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE. I took the battery apart and the pack inside it is 2/3 the size of the OEM one and marked "4000mAh" when the seller advertised it as 5600mAh.
Photo EVIDENCE attached or viewable at http://imgur.com/5sOGLlI,wSWwKRk#0
review image review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2013
After reading many negative reviews for after-market batteries, I was apprehensive. However, the lower price won me over and I decided to take the chance. This battery fit the compartment on my Macbook almost perfectly, and has performed flawlessly for a week now. I followed the instructions for "calibrating the battery" to the letter. The instructions are in tiny print & difficult to read. This made me wonder if many of the negative reviews might be due to some users' failure to read and follow the directions, but I have no proof of that. In any case, this battery was much less expensive than the OEM model, and I am satisfied with it.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2012
I bought this battery to replace my original Mac battery in a 5-year old MacBook after the original battery finally dropped down to 50% battery health after 1000 cycles... my laptop doesn't have a long life left, so I was looking for an inexpensive battery to carry me through to the end (maybe 6 months/100 cycles).

Unfortunately, this is not that battery. I followed the seller's directions and fully charged the battery with my computer off before using it, and the initial stats were 100% battery health (4800 mAh max) and 4+ hours of battery life. After using my computer for a few hours and running the battery charge down to about 30%, I shut my computer down for the night. In the morning, the battery was completely dead (lost 30% charge overnight). After a full recharge (only the 2nd cycle for the battery) the battery health dropped to 91%, with 3+ hours of battery life. I've been using the battery for the past week+, charging it only when it gets down below 20% (as you're supposed to do to extend battery life; see my 1000 cycle original battery), and after 7 cycles the battery health is already just 76% battery life (3652 mAh max) and the computer just shuts down when the battery charge gets down around 7-10% (which shouldn't happen).

I'm thinking about trying to return it, but it's barely worth the cost with shipping.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 5, 2012
Thanks K.W!
So Far this battery is working pretty good for about a week. Gets a solid 3+ hours of usable time.
The white color is a bit off and the battery info says to "replace now" but it works fine.
I would take a chance on another battery with "THIS" vender,
and I recommend buying your Apple macbook batteries from EPC.
Thanks Again!
Bill
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2013
I have a 6 year old MacBook with the original battery which still worked fine, but it had swelled causing problems with the trackpad. I bought this battery as a replacement because it was a lot cheaper than an Apple battery. After using it a couple of months, it doesn't seem to hold a charge as long as my 6 year old battery, so I suspect that it's not going to last as long as the original battery.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
I had this battery for 2 years and I'm not sure when the battery started swelling but I just noticed it now and it warped my whole macbook. The mouse pad barely even clicks anymore. The battery never really lasted that long on a full charge from the very start and it would be drained if I left it unplugged so I always left it plugged in. Maybe that had something to do with it? I'm not sure why it does this but I would not recommend it to anyone except if you are trying to sell your computer then I would buy it and get rid of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse