Bubble Witch Saga 3 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Trade in. Get paid. Go shopping. Shop Now FFII_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 145 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 158 reviews
on June 10, 2011
I discovered these boots in a high priced Camping/outdoor shop. After trying them on I knew I wanted them but was not willing to pay the extreme high price. When I found them on Amazon for less than half the price of the local retailer I just had to buy them. These boots are so comfortable and supportive. I wore them constantly when on holidays in Scotland and I never had sore feet after 12 hours/day every day for 3 weeks. There is room for orthotics if needed and the inner sole is cushioned. They almost propel you when walking which makes movement easy and smooth. The soles have great grip making you feel secure when walking on gravel or loose surfaces.
The shoes themselves are well made and waterproof/repellant keeping feet dry.
I would definately buy this product again.
0Comment| 53 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
Just ordered a pair which I hope will be a great and long lasting as my present pair. I got these several years ago, and they've gotten a little thin-soled by this point. Actually I believe they are same style, the inner tag has long since worn away. They look the same with one difference, the tongue. This is a plus because the tongue on mine is a mesh. I really wanted full leather as with the mesh parts can get weeds like foxtail and prickers in them. If you don't see and get them out quickly they work their way into the material and are soon sticking into your ankle or top of foot. Once they've worked their way in, you'll never get them out unless you do bird surgery on your shoe. I live in Northern AZ; mountains, snow, etc., but desert is just an hour or two away so I hike both climate zones, a lot. I am not a trail hiker sort of person, I go for rugged terrain, lots of steep inclines/declines. The protection of full leather is needed.
My boots have held up amazingly, I really like them and can depend on them. My foot is a size 6 but in hiking boots I go up a half size to 6.5 for thick socks, but they are comfortable with thin ankle socks too.
I noticed another person say they keep you warm in winter and are not hot in summer, both these things are important to me and I couldn't agree more that they do just that. I also like that they are not heavy or bulky. I don't want my foot print to be any bigger than it is when I'm balancing on a close edge or rock. Some of the rock here is volcanic which is very sharp and irregularly shaped. Other places may have loose rock, so the traction these boots offer is is and must be good gripping.
Waterproof is another big plus, after being worn as much and as long as I did mine, they lost a lot of that. So time to replace and after viewing many different brands and styles with different pro's and con's I came back to these. I did see some others which offered the things I'm looking for; full leather, no mesh, waterproof, good traction, solid build, expected longevity. But most of those were way more expensive, and since I know these are fast to no work in time, comfortable, and do what I want, no question of if will be OK, it became an easy & cost effective deal.
I'll do an update about a month after I receive and let you know if all is as good as anticipated.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
I bought these boots over the summer for a trek in Peru. I have never owned a pair of hiking boots so I wanted a good quality pair but also did not want to spend a fortune on them. I was very pleased with these boots as they were very comfortable and kept my feet warm and dry. I was very happy with the quality of the boots and was even happier that they were in my price range. I would have given 5 stars but on the first day of the trek, the shoelaces kept coming untied so the boots would get very loose and I'd have to stop and re-tie. I got a few blisters from where the boots would rub when too loose. I think the laces a bit slippery when brand new and have a tendency to want to untie- even when double knotted. I tied my boots more securely on subsequent days and did not have any more problems with the laces untying or blisters from rub areas. I would recommend a few things: 1. Invest in a high-quality pair of wool socks 2. wear these boots in a bit, especially so you can get some dirt in the laces so they don't want to untie.

Happy trekking, these boots are great!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 25, 2014
This is a great boot - water proof and durable. I have one issue, however: I purchased these boots because Hi-Tec no longer offers the WOS Altitude IV (a great boot which I sorely miss, I wore out two pairs in two years). This boot is similar except that the inside lining at the top of the Glide WP boot is made of a cloth material whereas the WOS IV boot (if I remember correctly) had an inside lining at the top of the boot made of a synthetic material similar to a light leather. This makes a big difference because the new cloth material chafes at the ankles and it will take me about ten days to thoroughly break in it in (I run to work one mile almost every day and then walk at work for about 7 miles a day) whereas the WOS IV boot was comfortable to wear from the very first day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2014
I have problem feet….metarsalgia and pronation, so the fact that this boot felt good immediately is amazing to me. I would call it a mid weight boot, not light weight, but I guess it depends on what you are used to. I plan to use them for landscaping work and walking in my neighborhood as well as for errands in colder weather. They seem to be a great value for the price. I am very pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 24, 2014
While comfortable, accurately sized, and initially water resistant, within a few months of light wear farm work and walking the soles completely separated from the leather. After a very short time the separation was causing the sole-leather interface to leak badly. While these used to be a good product, obviously the Chinese factory is producing worse quality than a couple of years ago.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2016
Bought these boots for my wife based upon the write-up and reviews. Unfortunately we received a rather defective boot which de-laminated after moderate use. I had to re-glue the rubber soles multiple times using alternative glues (super glue, rubber glue) as they continued to fall apart after a modest hike. I ended up buying a high quality polyurethane glue and they appear to be holding together.
The boots are light and comfortable --- but they fall apart after moderate use.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 10, 2014
My foot size is usually 6-7 (6 for summer sandals, 7 for sneakers and boots). I had ordered these hiking boots in 7.5 as I thought 'well, I would be wearing thick socks for cushiony-comfort and if they were small I could just tighten the shoe laces...'

Wrong! 7.5 was still too small and too narrow. What's more, the boots had some defects. It was like they decided to put size-8 insoles into 7.5 boots. The insoles were folded around heel parts and the extra bits of insoles were sticking up, stabbing the back of my heels every time I made steps.

I had to return these boots (Thank you Amazon for Free Shipping & Free Return!!) I wanted to like the boots, they were light and looked really nice. But didn't work for me... at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2014
I used to wear this style of boot about 5 years ago... it was my all-time favorite! I switched to another boot when these wore out, but the new ones were never as good...
I just got these again and am pretty pleased. The fit is pretty comfortable, the seams look decent, the sole is well treaded.

I am having a new issue, though, which might just be a random personal thing - the metal lace eyelet (if that's what it's called?) that sits on my big toe joint can really dig in when I go uphill... super uncomfy. If I step a little differently then it reduces the pinch, but I wish I didn't have to. I'm going to look into some kind of stick-on patch for the inside and hope that extra padding and support keeps the metal off my toe bone better.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2013
my husband and i are novice hikers. bought these shoes for a trip to the dolomites in italy. they were superb! wore them for 5 days straight in snow, on ice, in mud, on rocky terrain, through puddles and streams, they held up fabulously. my feet stayed warm and dry and the boots were extremely comfortable. i did not have time to break them in before we left and i had no problem with them whatsoever. i wore them 12 hrs straight each day. i ordered them 1/2 size larger than my regular shoe size as per everyone's recommendations. i wore them with thick hiking socks and the fit was perfect. i could not give them a high enough recommendation!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See 1 answered question


Need customer service? Click here