Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New Album by Foo Fighters PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 379 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 455 reviews
on April 12, 2017
So this is my first time with a battery Analyzer. I purchased the powerex AAA's and AA's. Out of the package my 1000mah AAA's had a capacity of about 950mah. After running the break-in cycle their capacity jumped to over 1000mah. Granted the break-in cycle took like 30 hours to do its battery forming but we'll worth it! Have had nothing negative to say about anything powerex I have purchased over the past 15 years.
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 9, 2015
I'm only a casual user of rechargeable batteries and never saw the need for a better charger than the one that I bought ten years ago or the one that came with the batteries.I purchased. After too many times of grabbing the camera to take a shot and finding the batteries drained, I thought I'd invest in a good set of batteries that could actually hold a charge. It didn't take long to figure out that everyone loved eneloop batteries. What hit me was the number of comments on the importance of the smart charger. After doing way too much research, everything distilled down to two brands; both similarly priced, and this one rated as the more sturdy of the two. I found it funny to read that the main negative was that you had to press too many buttons to charge something. Yeah, really not a problem. I've been using it on my old batteries; it brought a few back to life; one set of batteries that would lose their charge in a day, have now been going strong for three weeks. Some of my batteries still won't charge without the old un-smart charger. I should throw them away, but I'm cheap. I haven't tried this on the new eneloops I bought; but seems simple enough.

The negatives; some documentation on the preferred settings for the various situations would help. Their FAQ helps some, as do the websites, but something official in writing would help. Also many of the websites recommend kickstarting a really old battery on an old charger, since smart chargers have programming that prevents this (safety issues, I think). It would be nice if you could perform a temporary lobotomy on my PowerEx so I could throw away the old boys. But since these are negatives with all the smart chargers out there, what you gonna do?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2015
This is one of those utility items that's hard to imagine getting excited about, but the Maha C9000 does what it does so well, that I really was excited about getting it, and it's lived up to everything I had previously read. Yippeeee.

People buy this charger because they want a LOT of options for charging, analyzing, and maintaining their collection of rechargeable AA and AAA batteries (and in my case D cells as well, with option adapters).

If you simply want to charge you batteries, there are other less expensive options, but the Maha C9000 lets you determine which cells will work best together and which cells need more attention. It can help revive old cells, and keep new cells in peak condition.

It's also one of the rare items that simply does it's job day after day without complaint or special handling. Worth the money for those who will use it's extensive capabilities.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2013
Excellent design, product build quality, and operation

- Plenty of space around and under each battery to allow proper cooling.
- High-quality plastics, contacts, and switches.
- The latest revision #0L0HA (on back of unit) is *ABSOLUTELY SILENT* during operation. Big plus for quiet bedroom/office use.
- In all respects, hands down, the BEST AA/AAA charger on the market.
- Menu operation can take quite a few button presses, but well-spaced buttons and bright, easy-to-read display make this easy to do.

Some things that I think should be improved:

- Allow user to set the default power-on mode and charge / discharge rates. (With a max of 1000mah for safety reasons.)
- Vertical-axis viewing angle of the LCD display is only 70 degrees or so, improve this to >130 degrees.
- PRESERVE current settings after power-off event, to avoid likely damage to AAA batteries after a power failure.
- Add a power on/off switch for more convenient resets.
- Add an on/off or dimmer switch for the display back light.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 3, 2017
Before I review this charger let me say that these cheap "15 min chargers" that are sold everywhere are garbage. They will destroy your expensive rechargeable batteries and if you own one you should stop now, go get it, and throw it in the garbage. THIS charger is an EXCELLENT charger. It was able to recondition batteries that my previous, cheap charger would no longer charge because it had damaged them. READ THE INSTRUCTION COVER TO COVER. They are full of battery wisdom that will allow you to get the most out of this device. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2017
I had this charger for a while now, and I have to say I do not regret the purchase. I do buy all my batteries from the same company, and they also do a great job. I follow the instructions for charging and never had any problems. AA and AAA work just fine. The most use gets my camera flash unit, and here the 2700 mAh batteries are just amazing. They will hold much longer than anything non-rechargeable. Once the flash starts to take a bit too long to load in between shots, I take out all four batteries and replace them with another unit. I have three such units, and they will hold for at least a year without use with only some power loss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
The charger is very easy to use and extremely versatile. Because others have already explained clearly its features, I will only comment on some of the concerns that have been expressed about its programming and display.

By default, the charger is set to charge each battery at 1,000 mA and discharge each at 500 mA. Because these are the settings you will use most of the time, it is really quite simple to use.

If you need to enter separate settings because you want to charge the batteries at different rates or you want to charge one battery and refresh and analyze another, it doesn't take a lot of time to configure separate settings for each battery. Place your first battery in slot one, enter the settings that you want for that battery, and then move on to the next battery until you have programed all four batteries. It should take no more than a minute.

As for the display, it's true that it's quite bright, and it would have been nice if one could dim it. However, I don't keep the charger in my bedroom, so I don't consider this a deal breaker.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2016
I had a set of old (about 7 years old) AA batteries and the day I got this I put them on refresh/analyze and at the end I had the capacity (1670/2000) and they were charged. I WAS using the included Duracell charger with them and have a pair in an electronic toothbrush. WELL, after giving them the royal treatment with this charger the darn toothbrush almost buzzzzzed my teeth right out of my head, amazing what a real full charge will do!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2013
I bought this toy (and also the La Crosse Technology BC-9009) after reading the reviews from NLee the Engineer,

And I am SO glad I did! This is the ultimage battery charger PERIOD!.. You will get the most of all your batteries, eiher regular and new generation LSD's.

What you will learn from just reading the user manual (don't be afraid, it's quite straightforward) is worth the price, you will get a solid foundation on rechargable batts. knowledge. (if you don't decide to buy it, do yourself a favor and find the user manual online).

I also like my BC-9009 (bought in 2009 also, so it is the 'old version' no doubt), using to this date (much less than the MH-C900 though) without any overheating problem, but the quality and versatility are incomparable, you can 'feel' the materials and craftmanship, it's incredible how a little line that says 'made in Taiwan' makes such a great difference between mainland ;)

So there's absolutely no need to buy the La Crosse (I bought at that time because of the tip of the great super helpful NLee to 'revive' dead but still useful batts that the MH-C900 didn't recognize, but in his updated tips you will learn that you can do that just by placing the low voltage batt in a regular 'dumb' charger for some minutes, which you probably already own or have a spare lost in some drawers) just spend the money in this one!
77 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2016
At first i thought I had a defective unit. I was wrong, if your batteries are not seated properly, the display will turn on but the modes won't switch when the buttons are pressed. Additionally, the LCD screen is bright enough to probably keep you awake in a dark room of you are trying to sleep. Gave itcac4 on account of the screen brightness.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse