Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 39 reviews
on June 8, 2008
Out of the box - my first reaction was flimsy. Bu then took to Chicago and dragged it many, many blocks. Then took to Ireland - not so much ddragging but thanks to United this piece of luggage got to visit Chicago for a couple of days before United located it and sent it back to Reagan. So... it feels light and flimsy and the latches don't inspire confidence. But... it is roomy, light, and has taken plenty of abuse without breaking. Using a pullman after years of wide two wheeled luggage took a little getting used to - but it was suprisingly easy to pull, tracked straight and didn't wobble as much as I expected as I dragged it around (expected it to be very unstable because of the narrow wheel base). So I am very happy. Also got it shipped o/n via Prime as I had an unexpected trip and my other luggage was in a different state! I will continue to use this piece.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 10, 2007
I've used an earlier version of this suitcase for 10 years. It's gone with me to Europe twice, to Mexico five times, and to South America, China, and most major cities in the US. I have loved that suitcase. I like it's hard shell, its sturdy structure, and its bright color (easily recognized at airport baggage claims). But after a decade of abuse, it finally developed a little crack in the side. I patched it up with duct tape and used it on several more trips, but I thought I'd buy a replacement just in case (no pun intended).

The replacement is almost the exact same suitcase. But almost isn't good enough. It lacks two vital features of the old version. First, the doesn't have locking tabs on the side latches, but rather key locks. Why would anyone design a suitcase with one combination lock and two key locks? The locks aren't even TSA compatible. Second, the new case doesn't have a separate compartment, with divider, for hanging apparel (like a suit). Why would Sampsonite choose to omit this important feature?

I still expect the new suitcase will be durable. I know it will be colorfully easy to recognize at the airport, but I really wish Samponite had stuck with the original design.
22 comments| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2013
I bought this case for a very specific purpose: it is exactly the right size to carry my folding Lendrum spinning wheel. It is a great case for this purpose...the Lendrum fits into it perfectly, and there is plenty of room to add bobbins, fleece, etc. I have checked it at airports numerous times, and it has protected my spinning wheel perfectly. Also handy for attending classes, etc, as it is much easier to roll the case than to carry the wheel.

When empty, the case is very light and easy to tote around. It has also proven to be very sturdy.

My only complaint is that the case is not very deep, which means that it tends to "wobble" when being rolled.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
I have gone through so many suitcases over the years and this is the second one I have bought since the first one fifteen years ago. I am an international flight attendant and travel a lot for work and for leisure and this suitcase is all you will ever need. I can't speak highly enough of it because for the money you can't go wrong with this case.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
Had to replace the old one because the locking catch, though still working, was not completely reliable. But then after 20 years (and at least one flight per month) can't really complain. And the new one is lighter as well. Very happy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 1, 2009
The suitcase came within a week of payment with no cost to me (free shipping), and it is in perfect condition. I am very pleased with my purchase and would highly recommend the seller.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2011
I love the suitcase and traveled to and from Africa with it. The combination lock was broken from the beginning but Samsonite is sending me a new lock under warranty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2010
This Samsonite Oyster suitcase is suitable for frequent travellers as it is strong enough to stand rough handling. It is also economical.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2009
I was disappointed with this product. First, there was no notification that the divider for suits that was a normal feature until now has been dropped so the buyer does not reaize that he is buying something different. Second, one of the side locks is defective -- it does not snap closed and requires the key lock to securely lock it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2010
Placed an order with LuggagePoint, changed my mind. They refunded my money in a timely manner. Very happy with the service. Will shop at LuggagePoint again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here