Luxury Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services Catastrophe Catastrophe Catastrophe  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 81 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 91 reviews
on August 3, 2014
This stress crack is amazing! I had 2 cracks running the length of my living room ceiling in my lovely old colonial after our county decided to do some mountain blasting for a new highway. They would be repaired only to reappear during our cold winters. We found this product on line, watched an educational video on it, and decided to give it a try before investing in sheet rocking the ceiling. Lo and behold it's remarkable, working wonderfully, holding up thru the worst winters, the cracks totally gone. Initially our painter, like us, was somewhat skeptical that a tape would work and hold up. Initially he used the Stress Crack Tape on a wall crack with much success and then proceeded on the ceiling. To say the least he was amazed and pleased! The procedure was easy and the ceiling came out perfect. It has continued to look beautiful saving us the mess and cost of sheet rocking the ceiling. The Stress Crack Tape has now become my painter's new tool, it's easy to use, quick to do, and best of all a cost efficient fix! The Stress Crack Tape is an excellent product!
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
I have used this tape before and three years ago I used it from a small pack I bought from Sherwin Williams. No one locally stocks 50 feet, not even the 20 foot roll. I have settling cracks in corners of my 25 year old home, they are fine cracks, you couldn't get a dime in them and I used this material for repairing these. They were painted and you cannot tell they are there and in three years there has been no sign of any problem. This longer roll I needed because I have vaulted ceilings and the problem is that in winter when the air is dry the joins in the drywall start to come apart, again only a thin line you cannot get a dime in between, These are long lengths and my choice was to re tape and spackle, and then re paint the ceiling. Instead I used this tape. I needed lengths of 10 feet or more. This stuff is easy to apply, covers easily with paint and best of all it has a random edge so that a paint line cannot be seen. It covers with two coats of pain and the material is an off white. The fact it stretches means that as the house shrinks and expands with the humidity, this tape moves with it and cracks do not show up. The tape does not disengage with the ceiling surface and I used it straight onto the old painted ceiling. Pros hate this stuff and want you to re tape and fill the cracks, which will result in exactly the same problem I experienced, again. This is an excellent solution. There are a number of YouTube videos of folks using this tape.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 23, 2016
I rarely LOVE products like this, but wow!!! I just used the whole roll to fix what I thought was unfixable. Rather than replace walls for big bucks, I just painted over warped, cracked & badly aged paneling from the early ’70s. I thought it would give a brightness to the rooms, which it did, but it also highlighted every bubble, crack, seam, warp, etc. with the shadows now visible against the white.

This stress-crack tape is very close to the eggshell white paint I used, & I may not even have to paint over it (will know better in the light of day). I'm buying another roll immediately for a couple more touch-ups & to keep it on hand for the future.

Oh - & it works great on the textured ceiling where there were cracks, & other issues including watermarks from past roof issues.

If you have cracks, warpage, uneven seams, bubbles - BUY THIS. (No I was not coerced to write this - just love it enough to want the price to go down - the more who buy it, the better!)

I would include pics, but I have no before pictures to show the dramatic difference. My only pic here shows two seams near each other, & it's obvious which is not yet taped with the StepSaver tape. The fixed crack was much more severe than the unfixed one, but it's completely smooth & ready for paint now.

BTW - NO TOOLS NEEDED. You can just tear it with your fingers like duct tape (easier) & blend it into the surface on the edges with your fingernails. No need for measuring or using scissors or razor knife. Easy peazy.
review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
We have an old house with plastered walls. Have tried in the past to fill cracks various ways. Not much joy. Used this product about a month ago. So far so good. Had to use a couple of coats of paint with the lighter colors. At this point in time quite happy with the results!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2017
I used this tape to repair several cracks in my drywall. All surfaces were previously painted smooth drywall. Applied the tape, then painted the walls. For repairs that were more eye-level, I rolled paint over the edges a couple more times than the rest of the wall to help blend in the edges. For repairs that were not eye level, the tape edges are barely visible. Worked great, and saved me a lot of time!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2016
This stuff is amazing! It's a very thin tape with jagged edges that make it easy to conform to a wall or ceiling. Separating an edge to peel away the backing can be a bit tricky, but otherwise application is simple. I use a skim coat of drywall finishing mud to conceal the edges, prime/paint and admire the results. Obviously, if you have a texture to match there are additional steps to take.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
This stuff is incredibly novice. It doesn't stick well to any surface, and mud/texture doesn't stick well to IT. The ruffled edges are not random enough to match "knock down texture and you have to use scissors or a knife to mimick those shapes whenever you cut this tape to length (otherwise you'll have a straight edge). It's horrible stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2013
So far so good. We had cracks from a small earthquake that happened the day after we finished dry walling our family room some 6 years ago. Over time these hairline cracks have developed and it has bothered me. We were excited about the video from Home Depot and went to purchase it in our store, but was not available in the store. When we saw it was on Amazon, we were thrilled. We are waiting for the paint to dry, but it looks better than the cracks and it was pretty easy to apply.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2017
not quite... but ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2013
Eleanor Davis

Get this on your shelf in your storeroom. I am in hospitality (1500 rooms, 7 restaurants, 4 ballrooms, meeting rooms) where everything is NOW! Ceiling leak, patch for NOW until the leak source is identified and a proper patch/repair is scheduled. Tape a crack, flaw in the drywall; whatever you feel you may be able to use this on. I highly recommend "Stress Crack Tape" and the patch repair kit (hard to find the kit).
I have brought the "tape" to 2 of my paint suppliers - one a paint store (well known brand) and one is a hardware store (supplies anothe well known paint brand). They have stated they are excited to have it on their shelf.
I was a painter/contractor for many many years and am now in the hotel business.
Awesome product...ask my painters..... el
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here