Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 151 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 183 reviews
on October 23, 2011
I've owned several higher priced headphones than the Sennheiser HD 205-II Studio Grade DJ Headphones. But let me tell you, these sound right up there with the pricier sets. I originally bought the HD 205-II to use around town on the bus, walking, and at my favorite donut joint rather than using my pricier DJ phones for fear of me walking off without them or someone swiping them. I am now wondering, in terms of sound, what is the difference in my real DJ phones and the Sennhesier HD 205-II headphones. I'm sure there is a difference, but heck, I cannot tell the difference in sound. This set offers lots of thumping bass, wonderful mids, and silky highs. They are a little snug initially, but they loosen up after a few wears. The truth be told, the ONLY reason I'm not replacing my pricier gig Headphones, with the HD 205-II is because of the thin LONG cord of the Sennheiser. I'm afraid that the cord is too long and not sturdy enough to last during a rough DJ set. Please don't mistake that as a CON, it's just that I do a lot of moving around when I'm spinning. Bottom line, I am VERY HAPPY on my purchase of these headphones to use as an extra pair of headphones on my daily runs. If you are border line about getting these, don't be, YOU WILL HIGHLY ENJOY the look, sound, and quality of the Sennhesier HD 205-II Studio Grade DJ Headphones!!!!!
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 11, 2016
This was my first experience with Sennheiser, and I firmly believe they are a great company, but the product sound quality didn't meet my expectations.
Certainly a couple things to note: I purchased an EXTREMELY inexpensive refurbished pair, which is probably my first mistake, also, my judgment is on this pair alone, and I have no other Sennheiser equipment to compare too.
That said, the physical function of the phones is superb! Everything feels cushy and soft in a good quality sort of way. They stay on great and still maintain plenty of flexibility. The cable is great for the studio (very long) but had to be wrapped and tied to use regularly (also taped up both ends of cable as a precaution after hearing how sensitive it is).
Now, the sound quality is simply not what I expected, and in my opinion, I'm convinced the only things refurbished on my pair were the speakers and they were replaced with a cheaper pair or a pair from a cheaper model. The sound is O.K. and nothing more. Better than any other headphones I would've purchased for $20, but not the quality of $70 MSRP that I see elsewhere. The low end is a) not by any means powerful enough and b) the bass becomes slightly muddled/distorted if increased slightly beyond flat via EQ. Also, they have the telltale sign of cheaper headphones (again from my experience) by just not being able to produce much volume. Even my cheap Wal-Mart ear buds max out at a much higher volume.
The average individual who just wants a decent, comfortable pair of phones would probably appreciate these, except for the cord length, but for those with a finely tuned ear or actually needing a stupid pair should look elsewhere.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 22, 2015
These are good, inexpensive headphones which I purchased to use with my laptop, when the headphones I used broke. They have decent bass response and overall sound very good. Certainly they are good, inexpensive headphones that are a clear cut above the $10 headphones you can purchase.

My only real complaint is the headphones, even when adjusted to my head size, seem to squeeze my head from both sides. It feels rather unpleasant, limiting the amount of time I will listen to audio with these. I probably wouldn't watch a movie with these headphones, for example.

I've owned several headphones by this company and Sony and never experienced this, so this is kind of a downer for otherwise great, inexpensive headphones.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
Awesome sound but these should have been designed as OVER the ear instead of on the ear. I wore them for 5 minutes and had to take them off. I'm a Dj and fortunately for me, I won't be wearing them over the top of my head but will have just the left one up next to my left ear so the design won't really cause me any problems. For someone buying these to actually wear for long periods of time, get something from Sennheiser that's an over the ear and you'll be much happier.

The sound quality is awesome for the price point but the design is poor.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 28, 2012
Quality Assessment:
- Sound is very balanced and crisp.
- Good bass.
- Good highs.
- Excellent mids.
- Very good quality sound.
- Blocks out outer sounds very well.

Summary:
The Sennheiser HD205 II are great and a fantastic buy on Amazon!

Detail:
I've historically used Sony Headphones (I'm a fan of Sony) at the $50 - $60 price point and these headphones @ full retail sit at the same price point. The difference between the two are like day and night. I've produced 2 studio albums with my last set of Sony Headphones (in the aforementioned price bracket) and when I put on the Sennheiser HD205 II, I was able to hear detail and clarity in music that I was previously unable to notice headphones at the same retail price level in the Sony's offering.

To make the deal even sweeter, I only paid $17 for these (found them on sale on Amazon, they're normally not less than $50 full retail). These are literally the best quality earphones that I've owned to date and I paid less for them than for any other decent headphones I've used in production work.

Buy them!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2017
These are advertised as "over the ear" or "around the ear". Not unless you have midget ears. These replace another brand of over the ear 'phones whose pad openings are at least 135% longer and 120% wider than the Sennheiser pads. For me, these are "on the ear" 'phones and that's not what I ordered, not acceptable. Very annoyed.
Sennheiser HD 205-II Studio Grade DJ Headphones (Black/Grey)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2017
They are pretty damn good in terms of sound quality. They do exactly the job I need them to do as an electronic music producer hobbyist.

But, they are really uncomfortable and make my ears / side of head hurt after about 45 minutes (I don't even wear glasses). Also, they do this weird thing where the hair on the top of my head gets stuck to something in them and it gets ripped out almost every time I take them off - unless I wear them in a weird position all the time.

Great sound, poor design. Hence the 3/5 star rating.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 21, 2015
I bought this a a month ago, right now I'm getting an intermittent failure on the right side (sound comes on and off) is more likely a cable issue but come on after a month of regular use?, this is my second sennheiser product (frist being an HD-202) and got the same issue with those, of course i couldn't expect much from a $20 headphones but its very disappointing from a brand like Sennheiser , as for sound is ok, nothing to brag about, sound isolation is ok too.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2017
Great sounding headphones, but very snug fit. my head is large and I wear glasses, and after 15 mins or so wearing them my glasses are digging into my head form how snug they are. 5 star sound 1 star comfort level... hence the 3 star rating.... may have to sell them and try another set, not sure i can get them to sit comfortably on my head which is a shame, as the sound is excellent...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 12, 2013
I purchased these headphones about a year ago and when I got them I loved them! The sound quality was great but they were very tight on my head, and I don't have a very large head. As time went on, I found them to be very uncomfortable. I tried letting them stretch out overnight and they just went back to being tight within a couple of hours. I also found them impossible to wear with glasses. After about 6 months the rotatable pad stopped clicking in place and would just dangle. Soon after, the right ear cup stopped producing sound. I bought these to monitor audio for video editing and I feel like I wasted my money on a pair of uncomfortable headphones that were pretty much destined to break.

PROS: The outside sound reduction was very good, I could hardly hear people speak around me. The sound quality was great. The rotatable cup was very convenient (while it lasted.)
CONS: VERY TIGHT, could not be worn with glasses. Stretching didn't work for me. Rotatable cup broke. Right ear cup broke within a year. WOULD NOT RECOMMEND.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 20 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here