Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Saucony Women's ProGrid Hurricane 12 Running Shoe Silver/Gray/Aqua women's 12
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ryley Walker Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 2, 2011
This is the fourth pair of Saucony Hurricane's that I've owned -- I had version 7, 9, 11 and now 12! I first purchased them at a running store when they evaluated my walk and said that I over-pronate (my feet collapse inwards when I walk, creating stress on my knees and hip joints). The Hurricanes offer maximum stability and support for people like me, and they (along with custom orthotics) have helped me through a two-year long recovery from knee surgery after a sports injury.

The Hurricanes fit me well because I have a triangle shaped foot -- wide toe spread with a narrow heel. Most shoes are too tight in the toes and too loose in the heel -- case in point, the Asics Gel Resolution for tennis, which I really wanted to love because tennis is now my main sport and they were highly reviewed! Unfortunately, they just didn't fit. In contrast, for my foot, the Hurricanes are absolutely perfect, and also true to size (I wear a 7 and buy a 7 1/2 to allow space for my orthotics). I LOVE being able to buy shoes every year without even trying any new shoes on!

I noticed that this version, the 12, seems "plusher" than earlier versions -- very cushiony, which is fine with me. Over time they have tended to get less cushiony, and with my 3-5x/week workout schedule, they last just about one year before the treads are worn down, they're losing their shape, and my feet are starting to hurt after long workouts.

The best evidence for my positive review: I put these on, new straight from the box, and proceeded to play a 3-1/2 hour, very strenuous tennis match on a hard court. I felt zero discomfort, had no blisters, and no foot/knee/hip pain of any kind. Awesome!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 28, 2010
The Hurricane Wide has been my shoe for years and I'm sad that the fit in this model is not so good. Previous models had just enough room in the toes and a good snug fit in the heel, but something bad has happened and now the heel is a weird puffy cushion kind of thing that slips on the uphill. I can't wear the next size down without squeezing my toes. Why do shoe manufacturers always mess with a good thing?
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2011
I've worn Saucony Hurricanes for years, and I used to be about 20 pounds heavier when running. At that stage, I got blisters in any shoe, after five or six miles, so I just adapted by relying on moleskin and other fixes.
Now, 20 pounds lighter, I'm running again, and this shoe works. I don't have blisters after 12 miles (the furthest I've done for an upcoming half marathon), and I think that's the weight, not the shoe, but I read reviews before buying the hurricane again, and runners considered it much improved. It does have a tight heel. I feel my heel, in other words, and it interacts a bit (when I first start) with my sock in a way that I notice, but after a while, it seems fine. Each time I put the shoes on again, I feel that same tightness, and I'm not sure if it's a good or bad thing--I'm wearing a medium. I'm also wearing an incredibly thin and very comfortable sock by thorlo that may also be playing a good role in the no blister game. I'm going with a five star because I'm happy with the shoe/sock/weight combination.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2011
This is nice shoe. Very comfortable. I was comparing it to the Saucony ProGrid Ride 3 because both have high arches. The differences I found is that this is a shorter shoe, but it gives you more room in the toes. This shoe has the "Arch Lock" but the arch is not as high as the ProGrid Ride. The down side of this shoe is that my feet did not breath well. I noticed that the foot with this shoe on it was a lot warmer that the other.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 9, 2011
I am a low mileage runner (3 miles at a time) and I have flat feet and knee problems because of it. The Hurricane 11s were recommended to me, and they were fantastic. I had no knee-pains running in them. When they wore out, I wanted to stick with the line. The 12s are not as comfortable as the 11s. They put more pressure on the front of my foot when I run than the 11s did. Other than that, I have no knee pain to complain of, so they are serving me pretty well!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2014
The Saucony Hurricane has been by favourite running shoe for many years. This model is one of the last with an elevated and highly cushioned heel. Newer models have much less elevation and cushioning. Wish Saucony had left well enough alone and was still making this model!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 21, 2014
I usually wear an 8 in heels, flip flops, and flats, but I got a 7.5 because I like a snug running shoe and thin socks. I overpronate significantly and have had knee and shin pain in the past because of it. I wore the hurricanes for about a year before switching to the omni 11 which has more stability control, and works better for me. I love these shoes, but I just need more support.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2013
These running shoes are awesome! after reading a bunch of reviews on these shoes my mind was made up! I heard about these shoes being good but I never had them before and I could not find them locally so I came here to amazon where my husband buys lots of stuff, once I opened the box I liked the way they looked, I run about 3 miles a day and of all my running shoes (which all have some discomfort issues) but right out of the box these were REAL comfy, Saucony you have a new customer!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 7, 2013
My good college friend turned me onto this brand back in 1998. I have never looked back! Especially someone with flat feet, these shoes give my arches such great stability that I can do nearly any task with them. I can't say enough good things about Saucony, save maybe the price. Amazon the best place to find deals on this brand. Awesome shoe.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2012
Arrived much quicker than estimated. Arrived in excellent condition. Fit very well and very comfortable. Bought two pair as the hurricane 13 now out got mixed reviews. I had hurricane 12 sneakers I was replacing and was glad to get the same style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here