Shop Auto Winter Products Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. STEM Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Early Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Three new members of the Echo family Save $50 on All-New Fire HD 10. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop now HTL17_gno



on May 11, 2011
surprisingly works straight out of the box. the dvd-like case comes with a 3.5mm to 6.35mm adapter, a 3.5mm stereo minijack cable, a stereo phono to 3.5mm minijack, and a software disc. So 3 of the 4 included items you could probably buy on your own. the instruction booklet is minimal, but it's easy enough to understand what to do. the software disc loads in a matter of minutes.

the only thing you would need to provide is a tape/record player that has a headphone socket or audio out/inputs to use with the included cords, and a pc with a microphone socket. oh, and the cassettes and records you want to record of course. you hook these items up and you're ready to go. it even has a usb cable option, but i haven't tried that. i dont have a record player so i cant say how well that works either.

i bought this mainly to convert certain songs on my old tapes that i haven't been able to find on mp3 yet and for the most part it works. mp3 quality depends on devices used, quality of tape sound, and volume level you set it at(too high or low and it will tell you on-screen). actual recordings are silent, but the on-screen instructions say there is a way to hear the sound while you're recording but i haven't figured that out yet. otherwise it's just trial and error regarding the volume you set with the visual equalizer on hand(make sure it's moving but not too much or crazy-like). the software gives you numerous options like noise reduction, separating tracks, naming them, pausing at certain times during recordings, setting recording lengths, etc.

honestly though, i haven't used some of those options let alone perfected them for great recordings...yet. im pleased it works out of the box, but you will have to put some time & effort to make your mp3s sound great. at least the options are there and experimenting can be fun. btw, it allows you to make your mp3s and add them to windows media player, itunes, or a cd. i chose to go with windows, too much trial and error experimenting straight to cds. so far i have made a couple of cd compilations with these mp3s so i'm glad i bought it. definitely recommended.
____________________________________________

update(6/14/11), i'm not going to change anything in my original review, just wanted to add a few things since:

* i see it's at $30 now, i think most of us bought it at $25.
* i've made WELL OVER 25 mp3s and quite a few cds with this so its paid for itself already(assuming i could even find the non-available songs i recorded on amazon as a $1 or less mp3 to begin with).
* once the cd is installed you should use it without the disk in the drive. i tried to open the program once by putting the disk in the drive after it was already installed, and i tried to use it once with the cd in the drive and got an error warning each time. both times i had to reboot my pc and uninstall/re-install it(i didn't say i was bright).
* i was kinda wrong...when you're recording, make sure the visual equalizer MOVES ALOT(but not all-over-the-place-crazy). if you get a warning thats it's too loud, ignore it and let it continue recording. most of the time it will turn out ok and you should get a decent to good recording. but if it repeatedly warns you that it's too loud and mentions "clipping", start over.
* while recording, don't touch the cord/cable. it might affect it.
* during the editing phase(noise reduction/seperate track/etc) of the mp3, mess with it all you want. there is a "restart audio" option(basically the do-over or undo-edits button) if you dont like your changes.
* buy/invest/borrow a tape player with digital volume control, it takes the guess work out of remembering what volume to have it at while recording.
* i do have to re-emphasize the trial & error, for the most part it works, quality depends on devices used, and time and effort aspects of my original review plus throw in the obvious "your mileage/results may vary". ex: recording many store-bought tapes and various blank tapes(high CrO2, normal bias) with recorded music on them, results ranged from "it could pass for a store-bought cd or mp3 off amazon" to "crap".
* speaking of results, you might be surprised how good they turn out on cd. ex: i recorded a blank tape with recorded music, it warned it was too loud during recording, i converted it to mp3 anyway, from windows media player it sounded decent, used on my cell phone's speakers it was too low but with headphones it was decent, burned to a blank cd and it sounded really good with good bass. very surprised. so don't give up on a recording.
* finally, if you have it set to automatically stop after a pre-set recording length, it always seems to record about 15-30 seconds more than what you intended(i've had it happen manually too). ex: i knew a song i was recording was 4 mins and set it for 4 but it shows the length of the track as 4min & 30 seconds. so be prepared to use the separate-tracks function, or to enjoy the first 30 seconds or so of the next song.

sorry for the overly-long update, but i still like this cass-2-mp3 product and it works for me. i will say this though...if you can find your song as an mp3 online, save yourself the frustration and just buy that. and if you're looking for an easy way to get great-sounding mp3s consistently, i wouldn't blame you for looking elsewhere.
268 helpful votes
269 helpful votes
|
22 comments|Report abuse
on August 13, 2017
Great product but could not improve sound quality. Tried for hours but only made sound worse. If you have hours and hours to learn Audacity, more power to you. With this product, I was up and running - making MP3 files for my iPhone quickly - within 30 minutes. Just with hissing. Where's the "manual" ? None. I can only imagine the manufacturer is lazy. No reason. I had trial & error but failed to improve sound. I've made over 100 cassettes to MP3, with another 75 to go. Good luck.
1 helpful vote
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on June 22, 2013
I'm very pleased with the program. I had seen another item in a catalog twice the price. I have a cassette player, all I needed was software. It comes with the adapters. The download was a little tricky, because I lost the instructions, but I got it done even though I am not a techie. Practice first to see how the program works. After a while, it becomes old hat. Don't get discouraged if it doesn't work right off, just press "enter".
The only problem I have is that I keep getting a message that my volume is too high, if I lower the volume even a little it says it's too low. I have found that the "too loud" setting doesn't decrease the quality of my recording. Overall, I can live with the little glitches. I can't wait to attach it to my old hi-fi.
4 helpful votes
5 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 18, 2016
When I received this I waited until my friends visited and I asked if they could install. He changed my cassettes to CDs. He said the instructions were good - he had to work to make the sound just right and it took a few hours to get everything recorded, but I now can play the CDs in my car and the sound is great. Also saved on my computer in case anyone wants a copy of old songs of members who sang in church years ago. They loved the copies. Good product - just takes a while to set up but once set up it is easier with the rest of the cassettes.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on September 27, 2013
I have a very large repository of one-of-a-kind audio tapes from past musical performances, which I'm slowly digitizing using Digitope Audio Digitalizer. This is not an enjoyable process using Digitope. I have not used other programs than this one for this process, so this is not a comparison review, just a stand-alone review. Here are some of my biggest frustrations with this software:

1) Buggy. Often crashes, sometimes is able to save the file, sometimes not. I often have to completely redo the tape transfer to get a successful audio file (set.)

2) No simultaneous play-through audio. It should be simple for them to have it play on the computer speakers during the recording process. Why the *&%$ didn't they build that in?

3) Cannot cope with different artists for different mp3 tracks. If one changes one track artist, it changes them all. Very frustrating... Have to manually rewrite the mp3 tags after completing the save. Argh.

4) Has difficulty with play-back from software during editing. Sometimes crashes. Very frustrating, since I'm only doing the playback because of problem #2.

5) CD creation doesn't work well. I've given up trying to create CDs using this software, and have decided to just do mp3's out of respect for my own time.

For a $30 program, these problems should be resolved. It is possible to record using free programs like audacity. I should have taken other's advice and saved my $30.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on May 9, 2014
I originally checked into having some cassettes turned into CDs or MP3s locally. Too expensive! One night while poking around for a tablet on amazon.com I came upon this piece of equipment and found it intriguing. I thought, how can something so inexpensive be effective. But I read review after review that were positive and decided to spent the $25 and give it a try. I am totally satisfied! It's easy to use and I'm SO happy that I'll be able to listen to my music on my Bose speaker AND be able to share it with nieces, nephews, and fellow classroom teachers.
One simply connects the device (with the provided cord) to one's computer and puts the CD into the computer. The simple manual gives instructions as to what to do next. It took me a couple of times of experimenting to read the wavelengths and assure myself that the songs were complete, but now I'm good to go. It's awesome to be able to label the tracks and have them show up in my itunes library just like any CD purchased. Kudos to Digitope!
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
11 comment|Report abuse
on January 28, 2015
If you have a decent cassette player with a headphone jack. Your all set to go with this software. .I bought, and returned the next day, one of those all in one pieces of junk that amazon sells for about $25. AZP something I think Its all about the software with analog to digital anyway.. They also provide the jack cable, with an adapter if you need one.. If the instructions were a little clearer I would have given it a 5.. If all you want to do is transfer your old cassettes to MP3 or CD. This is the way to go for the money...
2 helpful votes
3 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on February 25, 2015
Very easy to use. As most of the tapes I am transferring are spoken word vs. music, I also use a program that edits recordings to remove any extraneous sounds at the beginning and the end of the recording after the transfer has been completed. This probably wouldn't be necessary if I used some of the other options available with the software program, or if I were transferring music.
3 helpful votes
4 helpful votes
|
11 comment|Report abuse
on April 15, 2017
Item received and all was done in a professional manner.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse
on April 13, 2014
I read the reviews on this device and I agree with most of the other users when they say it does what it should.. for the price..
The device is a basic recorder that does what I need .. copy cassette to MP3 format. I tested a few tracks before I set out copying my cassette library. I found that the volume control on the recorder amplified the sound to the computer during recording of the tracks.

The software is straight forward to install and use. Software includes meter to know if the volume is too high or clipping at the high/low ends. The recorder does not have a speaker, so you will need to connect to desktop speakers / headphone via. typical jack.

This is not a high-end piece of equipment, but it does a good job copying cassettes to digital format. The price is less than re-purchasing my music/audio books (again) in digital format.
1 helpful vote
2 helpful votes
|
0Comment|Report abuse