Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 452 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 469 reviews
on May 11, 2011
surprisingly works straight out of the box. the dvd-like case comes with a 3.5mm to 6.35mm adapter, a 3.5mm stereo minijack cable, a stereo phono to 3.5mm minijack, and a software disc. So 3 of the 4 included items you could probably buy on your own. the instruction booklet is minimal, but it's easy enough to understand what to do. the software disc loads in a matter of minutes.

the only thing you would need to provide is a tape/record player that has a headphone socket or audio out/inputs to use with the included cords, and a pc with a microphone socket. oh, and the cassettes and records you want to record of course. you hook these items up and you're ready to go. it even has a usb cable option, but i haven't tried that. i dont have a record player so i cant say how well that works either.

i bought this mainly to convert certain songs on my old tapes that i haven't been able to find on mp3 yet and for the most part it works. mp3 quality depends on devices used, quality of tape sound, and volume level you set it at(too high or low and it will tell you on-screen). actual recordings are silent, but the on-screen instructions say there is a way to hear the sound while you're recording but i haven't figured that out yet. otherwise it's just trial and error regarding the volume you set with the visual equalizer on hand(make sure it's moving but not too much or crazy-like). the software gives you numerous options like noise reduction, separating tracks, naming them, pausing at certain times during recordings, setting recording lengths, etc.

honestly though, i haven't used some of those options let alone perfected them for great recordings...yet. im pleased it works out of the box, but you will have to put some time & effort to make your mp3s sound great. at least the options are there and experimenting can be fun. btw, it allows you to make your mp3s and add them to windows media player, itunes, or a cd. i chose to go with windows, too much trial and error experimenting straight to cds. so far i have made a couple of cd compilations with these mp3s so i'm glad i bought it. definitely recommended.
____________________________________________

update(6/14/11), i'm not going to change anything in my original review, just wanted to add a few things since:

* i see it's at $30 now, i think most of us bought it at $25.
* i've made WELL OVER 25 mp3s and quite a few cds with this so its paid for itself already(assuming i could even find the non-available songs i recorded on amazon as a $1 or less mp3 to begin with).
* once the cd is installed you should use it without the disk in the drive. i tried to open the program once by putting the disk in the drive after it was already installed, and i tried to use it once with the cd in the drive and got an error warning each time. both times i had to reboot my pc and uninstall/re-install it(i didn't say i was bright).
* i was kinda wrong...when you're recording, make sure the visual equalizer MOVES ALOT(but not all-over-the-place-crazy). if you get a warning thats it's too loud, ignore it and let it continue recording. most of the time it will turn out ok and you should get a decent to good recording. but if it repeatedly warns you that it's too loud and mentions "clipping", start over.
* while recording, don't touch the cord/cable. it might affect it.
* during the editing phase(noise reduction/seperate track/etc) of the mp3, mess with it all you want. there is a "restart audio" option(basically the do-over or undo-edits button) if you dont like your changes.
* buy/invest/borrow a tape player with digital volume control, it takes the guess work out of remembering what volume to have it at while recording.
* i do have to re-emphasize the trial & error, for the most part it works, quality depends on devices used, and time and effort aspects of my original review plus throw in the obvious "your mileage/results may vary". ex: recording many store-bought tapes and various blank tapes(high CrO2, normal bias) with recorded music on them, results ranged from "it could pass for a store-bought cd or mp3 off amazon" to "crap".
* speaking of results, you might be surprised how good they turn out on cd. ex: i recorded a blank tape with recorded music, it warned it was too loud during recording, i converted it to mp3 anyway, from windows media player it sounded decent, used on my cell phone's speakers it was too low but with headphones it was decent, burned to a blank cd and it sounded really good with good bass. very surprised. so don't give up on a recording.
* finally, if you have it set to automatically stop after a pre-set recording length, it always seems to record about 15-30 seconds more than what you intended(i've had it happen manually too). ex: i knew a song i was recording was 4 mins and set it for 4 but it shows the length of the track as 4min & 30 seconds. so be prepared to use the separate-tracks function, or to enjoy the first 30 seconds or so of the next song.

sorry for the overly-long update, but i still like this cass-2-mp3 product and it works for me. i will say this though...if you can find your song as an mp3 online, save yourself the frustration and just buy that. and if you're looking for an easy way to get great-sounding mp3s consistently, i wouldn't blame you for looking elsewhere.
22 comments| 267 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2014
I had a bunch of old audio cassette tapes from my childhood - not music - just goofy stuff of my sister and I interviewing each other, irreplaceable memories of my grandfather singing... my childhood friends and I making up soap operas in my bedroom as kids... precious memories that I wanted to share with my family and friends. I knew it was only a matter of time before they would be lost (i.e. literally fall apart) or the technology would surpass so far beyond and audio cassettes would be so obsolete that I would have to pay hundreds of dollars to find a player to play them (as it is I had to borrow an old one from my father to play the ones I had, else pay upwards of $200 to get one!!).

I tried other devices to transfer cassette to mp3 (the ones that look like a small walkman) - the device was very cheaply made and the sound quality was terrible. The Digiotape system is DEFINITELY the way to go!! I was able to use my dad's cassette player and the cables that came in the Digiotape package - super easy. The software that accompanies is is very user friendly - everything goes right into iTunes. It allows you to edit your recordings into tracks and edit the length of each track (which was particularly helpful for my project - since I wasn't working with typical music tracks). I had to play with the volume input a little bit to get the best quality but that's the nature of the beast, considering the kind of audio I was trying to capture - mono voices (i.e. kids being goofy - whispering one minute, screaming the next). I couldn't be more pleased - it exceeded my expectations and I would highly recommend this product to someone trying to do a similar project.

One tidbit I learned... I did have one cassette that I think was just worn... perhaps old and just stretched out... every time I played it, about 2-3 seconds in, the volume dropped and the quality was just lost. As a last ditch effort, I took it to my dad's (he has a dual cassette player at his house). I found that playing it regular speed, I had the same issue so I tried dubbing it at high speed onto a blank cassette... and it worked!! I was able to capture the 5 minutes I needed onto a blank cassette... no volume drop and the quality was great! I took it home and used the Digiotape system to get it into the computer - I was so happy!

I made CD's for all of my family and friend for Christmas of our family memories - I can't wait to share them!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 13, 2017
I am a beginner in this area. Audacity seemed WAY too complicated. This product was much easier to get started to record tapes into the pc. This software has several functions to improve the quality of the MP3 recording however I was unsuccessful in doing so.

I recorded over 100 tapes and will have to live with the hissing in the background. There is virtually no How To manual. I certainly couldn't find one. What is included provides little if any "information" and no "instruction." I would have loved to be able to manipulate the sound quality to end up with cleaner recordings.

In reviewing the Audacity website, it was just too overwhelming. The opposite of Digitope. If you have a couple hours to review Audacity, have at it. If you want to start taping, go with Digitope (this product) just learn to clean up the recording through trial and error.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 7, 2017
This Cassette to CD product worked great. I downloaded the included CD into my computer. I just had to make sure the sound was down low. I plugged the connector to the port on the computer for my microphone and plugged the other end to the headphone port in the tape player. Adjusted a a few sound things for the sound and downloaded a tape of stories that my mom made for me. She is gone now but I can still let my grand kids hear her voice. I was to afraid to send the only copy I had to a store in China and maybe never get it back. Best thing I ever ordered from Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2015
Having once owned a record store, I simply have TONS of cassettes and needed to convert them to put on my iPod! This little darling was easy as pie to set up -- it also helped again, that I still have a few cassette players laying around! I am in LOVE with this converter and Digitope for turning the process into FUN! Makes me want to dig further into finding old cassettes I didn't think to play anymore. Kudos as always to Amazon for making my life easier!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
Software is easy to install and use. I turned cassette recordings as old as 20 years, and from normal and high-bias tapes, into mp3s and the audio fidelity of the files was very good. Nice cooperative feature sends new mp3s directly into your iTunes library. Suggestions for improvement are in the interface and how the track and album naming functions work; it autofills artist names making it harder to log multiple artist names than single ones. They will soon need to adapt the hardware, which is based on using mic inputs on the computer, for machines like mine with no mic input and just a built-in; however, here's the workaround for that: connect a 1/4" male jack to usb male plug so you can run the headphone out signal of the tape deck to any usb in on the computer. I used a Rocksmith 1/4 to usb cable. Works fine. Software does run on 64-bit OS, the key reason I got it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
I had some old Berlitz Italian cassette tapes that I have never used and probably never would unless I had it on my iPod. After doing my research, I selected the Digitope product. I liked that it worked with iTunes and did more than just cassettes. Yes, I still have records too. When first using the product, I had some issues, not being a tech person, but was greatly helped out by the support people at Digitope who went out of their way to make sure that I was completely satisfied with the product. Once they cleared up my mistakes, I was able to copy the cassettes and put them on my IPod and also burn CDs for backup. I liked that you can check your work and make necessary edits. The reproduction was very accurate. I plan on doing my music cassetts and records next. Now if I can only learn to roll my Rs.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2011
At first I was frustrated with this item because it kept saying that it was recording silence (on my laptop) as it was supposed to be recording a tape, but I finally figured out how to make it work on my desktop. I had to go to my control panel and click on the Sounds icon and click on the Recording tab, which brings up the microphone icon (FrontMic), which I then set as default and then PLUGGED THE MIC PLUG INTO THE FRONT SIDE OF MY PC. Then it worked like a breeze! So I think if I reset also on my laptop pc that it would work on it as well as my desktop has. I recorded a favorite cassette Church teaching that I have had for many years on a cassette, but I can't find it anymore, anywhere, because they don't offer it anymore and it's nowhere to be found online, so this is so wonderful that today with this great Digitope Cassette to MP3 & CD, I recorded the inspirational teaching to a CD and also to Itunes to my Ipod so I can keep on enjoying listening to this awesome teaching for many more years to come!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
This is a great product! It takes virtually any audio input and digitizes it. I've been doing some old cassette tapes, but it will do records and other audio as well. The sound editor is easy to use and has many features. You can label tracks so that your digital devices can read them. You have the option of burning CDs or saving as MP3s or both. And a surprise feature that is very helpful is an autosave feature that automatically saves the raw recording so that you don't have to go back and re-record something if you have some sort of problem. Highly recommended for saving those irreplaceable old tapes and records in digital format.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2014
I see that a lot of people complained about the sound quality. Yes, it's true. You don't get the best sound, but what do you expect for $29.95. People kill me. If you want good sound quality, go out and spend hundreds of dollars on expensive sound equipment. If you're not that worried about the sound quality, then this will probably work for you. I've been recording 20 year-old cassettes that are starting to go bad. The sound quality isn't the best on some of my cassettes. People have to remember that they are transferring music from analog to digital. Of course, you're going to lose some sound. The quality has a lot to do with these old cassettes, not necessarily with the Digitone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse