Oil month Automotive Rebound Introducing Prime Wardrobe nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Unlimited Music. Offline listening. Learn more. PCB for select Bang & Olufsen Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Mother's Day gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy Fifty Shades Freed available to buy  Echo Dot Fire tablets: Designed for entertainment Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now SWMTVT18_gno



on May 2, 2013
This is a great umbrella! Nice grip, solid construction, huge, and looks great. Only downfall I can see is if someone wanted a compact umbrella as this one does not telescope. We're happy with it!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 29, 2015
I bought this umbrella a over a year ago and used it just a few times (it was stored in the back of my car.) During the few prior uses, I did notice that the supports of the umbrella seemed weak and to not hold well against mild winds . it did flip inside out a few times under those conditions. Last night during a fairly windy rainstorm not only did it flip, but the umbrella, closed by itself while I was under it and then later completely buckled . The supports that run into the top hub slipped out through the top fabric piece of the umbrella. I thought that I could just slip those pieces back into the hub and repair this flimsy umbrella, but it is not repairable. Upon closer inspection, the supports are held together at the hub by thin gauge wire, that had snapped and very cheap and very weak thread that breaks and pulls apart easily. Don't waste your money on this piece of junk. I bought a better and comparably sized umbrella for a little over 7.00 at AC Moore with a coupon. I just feel guilty for sending it to a landfill after such little use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 19, 2014
I bought this umbrella after it got great reviews, and I was pumped to use it when I got it. The FIRST time I used it it flipped open under mild wind. That sucked but okay fine I'll deal with it. After several months and multiple occurrences, the umbrella finally simply just snapped. It does come with a lifetime warranty which is cool and all but I think the umbrella is so unreliable that I wouldn't want a replacement...I just want a different umbrella.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 2, 2017
I bought this umbrella to replace one of the same brand that I lost. It is a very well built and sturdy. The vented top works well enough that you can barely feel the wind pull on the umbrella (the last umbrella I had before buying this one felt like a constant fight against the wind and had to be tilted into the wind to hold it comfortably). The cover for the vented top also provides enough coverage to prevent water from getting into the vents. If wind does get into it from the underside the vent is enough to protect the umbrella from turning inside out (I've had an umbrella from another brand turn inside out the first time I opened it) and the pull of the wind isn't very strong so it is less likely to be pulled out of your hand. Overall, ShedRain makes a high quality umbrella.

The package arrived in good condition and on time. I will definitely recommend this supplier to anyone else that needs a good quality umbrella.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 19, 2014
Pros:

- Huge canopy, only your shoes will get wet.
- Super durable - I've been saved from a dozen windy storms as the rain was coming at me sideways!
- The fiberglass frame makes total sense. How can thin metal be expected to handle strong winds constantly pushing and pulling on it??
- The open-vented design works flawlessly.
- Anatomical handle really helped me hold on tightly so as not to have my umbrella blown-away.

Cons:

- none
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 5, 2014
This is a well made, classic black umbrella with reflective material on the outer portion of the umbrella for safety. This is a "HUGE" umbrella, I like that you have to open it manually, so you don't push a button by mistake and have it open/unfold unexpectedly.

The umbrella is made of a heavy scotch guarded material, smooth mechanism, ergonomic grip, vents at the top of the umbrella to prevent implosion in a heavy, windy down pour. This would also be a good umbrella on a hot sunny day to protect you from the sun.

I've seen a lot of golf umbrellas for much more .... this is well made, fair price .... I can't wait for it to rain.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 4, 2013
Received this today and I got to play with it a bit. We are supposed to get some rain/sleet tomorrow so I will update after I put it to the test. Here are my intial observations so far.
- Packaging was damaged but it did not affect my umbrella
- Umbrella came in a sealed bag with a sleeve for the umbrella
- Handle of the umbrella fit perfectly in my hand. I am an average size male (6'9/189lbs)
- Umbrella does not have a button to open it so you have to reach under it and push the little clip down to open umbrella
- Umbrella is not too long
- When opened it is big enough for me and someone else if I decide to be a good guy and share
- I flapped it really hard to see what would happen if a huge gust of wind hit it and it folded inside out without damage to it. The umbrella has a spring on top in order to keep it from getting all bent out of shape if a gust hits it.
All in all the umbrella feel sturdy and well put together. I will update once I put it out to use.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on May 16, 2015
I've now had this through two cycles of all the seasons and definitely put it through its paces. Simply put, it's a terrific umbrella. I live in New York and have gone through about a dozen of the cheap, small, 9 dollar CVS/Duane Reade umbrellas that you buy because it's raining and you forgot to grab an umbrella on your way out the door. Those last maybe three storms before flipping inside out or snapping. This umbrella, however, has withstood everything and kept me dry and shielded from rain, snow, sleet, and wind.

The windproof vent works well. I've never had an issue with inverting, even in 40+ mph wind gusts. The tines are strong. The grip is comfortable. The opening mechanism is smooth and easy, though it is not automatic (you have to push it - there's no button in the handle). The one caution is if you aren't very tall and you plan to use it in crowded areas. I'm 6'3", so I can get away with using this on crowded New York streets because i can raise it up higher above the sea of umbrellas. If you're shorter, however, the 60 inch spread can bump you into a whole lot of people and cause some trouble.

All in all, a fantastic umbrella.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 29, 2014
Best umbrella I have ever owned. Usually I buy the cheap ones for $5. This was well worth the investment. As for the negative reviews....they were at least good for a laugh. Some complained the umbrella flips inside out in strong winds. It is SUPPOSED to do that! If it didn't give it would break. Don't be alarmed by any negative review. Just as like anything else, some people expect to pay nearly nothing and then have the absolute best product available. Bottom line: this umbrella didnt cost alot and is the best I have ever used. Bought one for my wife and mother after using this a few times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 25, 2015
For the most part this is a decent umbrella. Good materials, good construction, not much to complain about the actual umbrella. But, I also bought it because of the vents on the top of the umbrella. I thought it would be good to have an umbrella that wouldn't flip inside-out in a very windy rain storm. I can't speak for how well that feature actually works because I haven't been in a serious rainstorm yet. I think it should work reasonably well compared to an umbrella that doesn't have the vents, but there is a serious issue with the design. If you are ever in a situation where you need to collapse the umbrella (for example: while eating a restaurant) and don't allow the rain water to completely dry out. The next time you open the umbrella you will get some water dripping on your hand and on your head and on your shoulders. I, like most people, place the umbrella upside down with the handle up when it is not in use, this makes all the water go down and collect down on the inside of the umbrella. So, the next time you open the umbrella you'll get a nice surprise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse